We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place: you can't ask more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Hayes Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayes Valley Inn
417 Gough St., San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
napoli
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect place: you can't ask more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Breakfast is very tasty and big. Muffins, milk, yogurt, cornflakes,orange juice, cold water, fruit, several types of bread and peanut butter and always two kinds of jam. The breakfast room and the parlor aside are so cosy! Tideness is a must. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless. Every day long. The cleaning staff works without rest, My best compliment. Never seen shared bathroom so clean!A comfortable basin in the room. The staff is very helpful except one of them: the older one. He is sometimes lazy. He didn't tell me they had a bike room when he sent me to a place to hire it. I was stolen my bike cause I parked it on the siidewalk just outside the hotel.It's simply unforgivable. That caused me a 200 dollars deposit loss. He delayed to call me a taxi causing me to almost miss the greyhound bus to Salinas. I made notice that to him and he was so rude.location is very central, so close to Opera and some museums, It's in the middle between Civic Center, Market Street by one side and Soma, Castro and Mission by the other. Moreover: Heights with Alamo Square, Buena Vista Park and Golden Gate Park below.All places far for touristic traps. I couldn't believe to my eyes! Wonderful experience that I'll repeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    97
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
90
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here the past three during our yearly football trip. We love everything from the staff to the breakfast. I personally am a fan of the cheese and meat tray. The rooms are clean and the shared bathroom and shower are always clean and fresh. If you are a light sleeper or can be easily awaken via traffic noise you will need to make sure to ask for a room on the backside of the building or in the annex.
All and all I am glad we found this place and I will continue to return.

Room Tip: The Torret room gives you a little extra space at the end of the hall. 307 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in the external building (Ivy Street). That building is in front of a construction site - didn't bother us since we're heavy sleepers. the room was excellent, so were the shared bathroom and all else in the building itself.
The breakfast was good, the staff was really friendly.
The location is OK, but there are good and bad streets around. very close to Van Ness station (7 min walk).
A Good price for a good BnB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went for our yearly visit to SF and stayed for our third time at Hayes Valley Inn. We love this bed & breakfast. They've got a lovely continental breakfast with ham and cheese, fruit bowl, assorted breads and jams, cereal, yogurt, orange juice and milk.
We normally leave the windows open during the day and by the time we get back to our room, it is late and our room is nice and chilly. We close the window so it is quieter at night. The hotel does have ear plugs for you to use b/c of the street noise.

Room Tip: Try and get a room opposite the street so it is a little quieter. But if you can't score a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I had reservations at this place for 4 nights. We told clerk we are senior citizens and were looking for a safe place. He told us about the shared bathroom and bunk beds to which we had no objection. Upon our arrival , at 8 PM, we were given a set of keys and told to go around the corner to the annex. This annex is located in a dark, narrow alley in front of a construction site with no connection to the main building. We went back and forth , up and down, 3 times, carrying our luggage, between the main section and the annex as the keys would not open the entry door. Finally, the clerk requested assistance from a maintenance man, who also could not open the door. We were left again in the alley, lugging our luggage to the main entrance. We demanded another room and to speak to the manager. The clerk told us that they were totally booked and no other room was available. We demanded to be booked at another hotel. After waiting for 45 minutes, the clerk showed us to a room in the same floor as the reception area which she offered to us for our stay. The manager never showed up or apologized for this situation. What angered us the most was the lie regarding room availability and the lack of response from management.
Besides the above complaint, the place is clean, staff friendly and breakfast is plentiful and varied. If you drive, be advised that parking is a huge problem. But you can park at the covered parking in the corner. Do not park in the uncovered parking, it is a rip off,

Room Tip: Make sure you ask whether or not your room is in the annex or the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights and I have almost nothing but nice things to say about the place. Location wise, you're a 5-10 minute walk to the 47 bus which will take you to all of the major tourist spots. Excellent breakfast AND an afternoon tea time from 4 to 10 with cookies and tea. What a great idea! The woman who owns the place is very kind and helpful as are the staff members.
Rooms are very clean and attractive. Only drawbacks: one shower for each floor. If you stay here, don't wait until 8 in the morning to take a shower. It WILL be occupied. Also, if you're here on a romantic getaway, the walls are very thin and (not to be too risque) but the beds squeak like crazy! Haha. I think you know what I'm talking about. I heard at least two other couples having a a pretty good time as I walked to the bathroom. Other than that, I would recommend this place to anyone. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Visited San Fransico and stayed here for two nights. The price was $115 per night and it provided your basic needs. My friend and I were given a room in the second part of the inn just around the corner from the main entrance. It was in a safe area. Clean environment. Shared bathrooms. Small tv. The room was nice though. Two beds and good fit in the room.
The breakfast was excellent I thought! It's in a little kitchen like area and people staying at the inn gather to eat in the area. Wide variety of food and all are really good.
Great for the price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Address: 417 Gough St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hayes Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.