We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in russian hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annie's Cottage
Save
You added Annie's Cottage to your Saves list
1255 Vallejo, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peace in russian hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A warm, comfortable tidy cottage tucked away in a big city! The perfect place to base yourself when exploring San Francisco. Close to transport, shops and dining. Polk street is easy walking distance to experience excellent food! The bed was amazingly comfortable and provided the best night sleep ever. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The cottage is hidden away behind a building on a steep residential street in Russian Hill. I really liked the location as the sleep quality was great. The garden at the cottage entrance was stunning upon first view and then refreshing each time we arrived.

I felt safe the entire stay. The neighborhood was upscale.

The character in the cottage is cozy and decorated with taste. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom clean and well stocked with cozy towels.

I'd go back for sure.

I left my phone in the room and they mailed it to me the day I texted to request it be sent. They didn't have to do that but they did anyway.

Honesty goes a long way with me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is Annie's Cottage in San Francisco. We've been coming 1-2 times a year for about 15 years. It is our "home" away from home. You won't find anything like it.
Nestled in the Russian Hill district, it is quiet and accommodating. You can easily walk to neighborhood shops, restaurants and catch a bus or a cable car.
Annie's home is set back away from the street. She has a beautiful, serene garden and koi pond. The lower level is the room she rents. The room is spacious and comfortable plus a nice balcony. It is beautifully furnished with antiques. The room is like having a small studio apartment (without a full kitchen.) However, there is a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and electric teapot for hot water. Cabinets are stocked with oatmeal, cereal, tea, coffee. We buy fresh fruit and snack food at the market.
Annie's Cottage - Unique - Centrally located to all of the sites in the city - Comforts of home

Room Tip: Reserve early because she fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at Annie's Cottage for 6 nights and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The location was brilliant, the cable car runs a 2 minute walk either to Union Square Area or going the other way to Fisherman's Wharf - what could be better. Great neighbourhood - coffee shops, a small supermarket and good restaurants - everything you need.

The cottage lived up to all its reviews - lovely and comfortable, clean, spacious, quiet and the balcony is an added bonus.

All is all a fantastic find. We will recommend to anyone travelling from the UK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first trip to CA and the first two nights we stayed at Annie's Cottage. Husband & I were greeted by Gilly since Annie was out of town, she meet us outside on the street right before you walk in to the secret garden then to our getaway. Gilly was very very pleasant with a great smile, gave us great tips on the neighborhood, places to go in the area. We loved the location of the cottage, we walked every where, Fisherman Wharf, Lombard Street, down the street for all kinds of restaurants for dinner, coffee shops down the street for our morning cup of java. The cottage was clean comfortable, comfy bed with private deck to use if we wanted to, it was cold in early June so we didn't sit outside. We are planning to go back in 2014 and will definitely be calling Annie first for availability, thank you Annie and Gilly for making our vacation one to remember!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My father and I stayed in Annies cottage two nights last week. Annie was out of town, yet still got back to us in a very timely manner. Her cottage is adorable and priced well compared to other accommodations in San Francisco. The location was fantastic. We would most definitely stay here again. Thank you Annie and Gilly!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When we got to Annie's Cottage it was late, so we didn't have the opportunity to really see it lit up in all it's glory. In the morning we woke up to see an amazing view on the back porch. Annie's garden was just as it looked in pictures and our room was nicely decorated and cozy.

We totally got sense of privacy, even though the room we were in was attached to the main house. The way the entrances were configured, the inn keeper entered the garden and went to the left and up, while we went to the right and down.

Annie and her boyfriend were very accommodating and recommended a ton of places to visit. They also told us how to get away torn efficiently and cheap.

Probably the best part about this place was its location. We were either walking distance from everything we wanted or we could just hope on the Hyde / Powell street trolley. The stop for the trolley was only about 300 ft from the inn.

I would recommend this place to anyone thinking about staying in the San Francisco area for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Cottage

Address: 1255 Vallejo, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annie's Cottage is a charming San Francisco Russian Hill bed and breakfast within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, China Town, North Beach and other San Francisco favorites. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.