We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good location, although parking is expensive $30 a night even when you are a member . Great breakfast included & happy hour! Rooms are average size , bathroom kinda small, just a shower. But for $99 you definitely can't complain for a city hotel !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    149
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
96
170
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Marines’ Memorial Club is in a great Union Square location – right on the corner of Sutter & Mason. This place is a living museum with military souvenirs, displays, memorials, and other items on every floor. There is much to interest anyone.

Our room was inexpensive and nicely appointed with a TV, safe, desk, coffee maker, and small refrigerator. The bathroom was big and had plenty of fine supplies. The shower’s water pressure was okay, although not great. There is both an ice and filtered water dispenser on every floor. This club has been around since 1946, but it looks and feels up-to-date (with the exception of not having enough conveniently placed outlets in the room for recharging our numerous electronic devices).

Their breakfast buffet is served in the top (12th) floor restaurant that has a view (when it’s not fog-bound!) of downtown San Francisco. Breakfast is very good, and consists of hot trays of fresh scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat, potatoes, and other items that vary each day (such as eggs with spinach, eggs with salsa, blintzes). Other hot items are oatmeal, and what is labeled “SOS”: biscuits & gravy. There are plenty of other items: breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt, and cottage cheese. The staff is friendly and will serve you juice (coffee is already on the table).

I whole-heartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Marine's Memorial Club has it all. We booked through Booking.com and received a very favorable rate. We'd stayed many years ago several times when my parents were members. It is even better than I remembered. They pay tribute to the Marines through their pictures and stories they tell in the lobby and one of the guest floors. The location of this property couldn't be better, as an easy walk to Union Square and the Trolley down to Fisherman's Wharf. The price includes a wonderful happy hour and a buffet breakfast. These are on the top floor of the hotel with great views. Service by both the front desk staff and in the bar/restaurant was very good. Parking garage is only 4 store fronts up, so easy to drop your bags to check in, then drive up to leave your car. Parking is not included, and is around $30 for the day. To our surprise, they also had a guest laundry on our floor. Our corner room was a good size, no view, but good lighting which I find important. This is the best dollar value you'll ever get with the location and amenities they provide.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great service and centrally located. The decor and theater remind visitors of those who served their country. Clean (as you would expect), and service to meet the most demanding standard. Happy hour on the 12th floor overlooking part of the Bay and the City skyline. Great place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast has something for everyone. Easy walking distance (although walking San Francisco hills is no easy chore) to Union Square. Definitely return

Room Tip: Can't speak for all of the rooms but any room is well appointed. Just know that at 4 AM, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We will definitely plan on staying here again. It was such good value for our money, at a very good downtown location. The only problem, is it is a little hard to find. We were armed with the address and drove right by, as it was evening. However, if we had looked a little harder, we would have seen a sign on the sidewalk advising us to park in the garage, half block away. The bellman/concierge greeted us so warmly upon our arrival and gave us recommendations for dinner. The property décor is a tribute to our Marines. It is wonderful. The breakfast is included in the price on the room. It is a huge buffet, with friendly waiters and staff. This is on the 12th floor overlooking downtown. Rooms are quiet and nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We are members so the club and find it well worth the small fee. The heritage of the hotel is worth supporting. Pet friendly but it's about a three block walk to exercise your pets. They have limited handicapped rooms so make reservations well in advance. There is a happy hour in the bar that has a great view of downtown San Francisco. The restaurant is excellent but again, you'll want to make reservations. A fitness center is included.

Room Tip: If you don't need a roll-in showere ask for the corner handicapped room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel was beautiful, comfortable and the prices were great. Try not to bring a large vehicle because the parking garage charges double per night so instead of $34 we had to pay $68 for our Tundra. The breakfast was free and a delicious buffet. The staff was very friendly. I HIGHLY recommend staying here. Book early because the weekends fill up.

Room Tip: The rooms we were in were very comfortable and the second room had a great view. The dining area ha...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.