We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forth Visit - Best Yet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Forth Visit - Best Yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had three other couples join us at the MMC for a few days before a cruise a week ago. It's been a few years since we were there last and it's done nothing but improve.

We had a corner king room with great views. Very comfortable and inviting.

The free two hour evening reception was a great way to start the evening and the free full buffet for breakfast was a real treat.

Add to that a great location and the best staff anywhere - and it's impossible not to decide to stay at the MMC anytime we're fortunate enough to visit San Francisco!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are $20 a night extra but worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    139
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
91
157
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great centrally located hotel with pretty good competitve prices for the area. I had a room on the 8th floor on the backside of the building. The only downside was that my windows faced the brick wall of the building next door so it was a little dark. Saying that - if you are in SF you shouldn't be spending that much time in your room during the day.
The hotel was quiet at night and except for the lovely early morning garbage trucks where you get anywhere in downtown SF I wasn't awoken by a sound.
They must have been in the middle of changing out all of the linens in the hotel because I came back to my room one day and there were fresh new much nicer linens that what my trip started with.
Perks - free wifi, free receiption from 4-6pm each day up in the restaurant area on the 12th floor which has some great views and free breakfast each day which is average in hotel terms.
I would stay here again if I came back to the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My second visit to this great hotel. Centrally located, great staff and well priced. A good option for a visit or business trip. The included hot breakfast in the 12th floor restaurant is also very good. As an added interest the Marine's museum around the building is nice to browse through.

Room Tip: Corner King's are a lot larger and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had two rooms in 8th floor. One was fine, peacefull, with a beautiful view. First they wanted to give us a room with a sight onto a brick wall, but they changed it as we asked. The other room was a noisy one. A terrible noise coming from ice-maschine next to the room and noise was also coming from a generator or something like that from the roof beside the hotel. Without ear-plugs it was impossible to sleep. Although we asked for a peacefull room, we got a really noisy one! The room itself was nice and comfortable, what a pity! Complimentary drinks between 4-6pm in the top-floor restaurant was great, but breakfast, which was also served in the restaurant with a spectacular view, could have been much better. Hotel also has a swimmingpool, but we didn't have time to check it out. The hotel has a good location in downtown just a few blocks from the Union Square.

Room Tip: Ask a room far from ice-mascines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights earlier this month.we chose the hotel because of the previous good reviews and had an excellent stay. The hotel is steeped in history relating to the American marines but it was all very interesting to us. There was little to fault in the hotel - Troy was a star and the reception staff very helpful. The room was on the small side but was fine.food was very good, the free happy hour was a bonus! We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We noticed that a couple of views made an issue about the hotel's age and yes it has that old feel around it. However, the facilities are top-notch and we spent 3 very enjoyable nights here. The location was excellent and near to the hub of the city. Our room was spacious and clean. It was dark but as the hotel is surrounded by other larger buildings there's not much that can be done about that.

The staff are a huge asset to the hotel as they were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Although we initially thought that check in was slow it wasn't really the case as the reception staff were merely ensuring that all customer queries were dealt with in full - we particularly appreciated the advice on finding our way around as first time visitors to San Francisco which was invaluable. The theme of high staff standards extended to the bar and restaurant staff and the cleaning staff who were all pleasant, courteous and helpful.

Don't let the 'old' tag put you off, we'll be using the hotel when we're next in San Francisco

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our third stay with MMC and we keep coming back. Love the free cooked breakfast and hosted happy hour with piano music. Very lovely all the way around! The drinks are good and free (unbelievable really). Saw the new puppy Bubba, what a cutie! The room is nice and always very clean but somewhat dated. Unfortunately they gave us a corner room, which normally would be a good thing but the road and outside noise even with the windows closed was too loud to allow any sleep for myself. The second problem is the terribly outdated Internet server. We were unable to connect in our room and certainly not in the lounge/restaurant area. It is very well located - close to china town, the trolley line and lots of shopping! We would stay again but not in a corner room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the Main Street and avoid corner room - too much noise or bring your IP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.