We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a feeling that given the high prices of hotels in San Francisco this hotel would be good but not worth the money we had paid. I was wrong. This was our first stop on our three week honeymoon and we had an excellent experience at this hotel. The room was very comfortable and had a nice bathroom. The staff were friendly and welcoming and very aware of the amount of time they kept us for after 20 hours of travelling. Its rare to find staff putting your need to sleep over their need to sell you all of their services. They simply invited us to come back the following morning if we needed any further assistance/information.

The only negative thing we encountered was a lot of loud noise from the alleyway below at around 5am in the mornings. I guess this is the compromise you make in big cities and probably not avoidable anywhere given that work in the cities tend to start early.

They had a happy hour with free drinks in the restaurant in the afternoons which was a lovely idea and we really enjoyed sipping our drinks whilst looking at the great views out over the city.

Breakfast was good, great service from the waiters. Location was excellent and perfect for Union Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    148
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
96
170
24
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On my recent one week experience at the MMClub for the National Blue Star Mothers of America Convention I must say I was extremely pleased with this hotel.
I had stayed there many times, and attended a play and an event in the past as an Army Officer's wife, and it was very nice.
Now, back again years later as a Marine, Blue Star Mom, I see the upgrades made to the hotel, and a very professional staff. My room was taken care of so fast and very clean. The staff is friendly and eager to be helpful. The breakfast and dinners were delicious. I highly recommend the hotel and the great location in the middle of "downtown" San Francisco is fantastic. Thank YOU!
Semper Fi,
Happy Customer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We discovered this hotel through a friend. We loved staying there. It is an old hotel but located in a great part of town. Close to China Town, Powell St, Cable cars and other public transportation. The hotel is nicely decorated with items from several wars. The museum there is very interesting.
The rooms are small but very clean, as you would expect in a military facility. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Jeff the bell hop made you feel personally welcome.
We enjoyed the free cocktail hour daily and a wonderful full breakfast each morning. The view from the dining room is breathtaking. Highly recommend you have dinner there at least once.
The is by far the best deal in San Francisco!

Room Tip: As high up a you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderful little hotel with so much character and soul. All the staff were very friendly indeed without exception. The breakfasts were excellent with a lot of choice and the free drinks at happy hour a generous touch. The location was absolutely perfect for Union Square and other restaurants which were within easy walking distance. Our only disappointment was that the room was too small for a family of 4, especially as we had booked-in for a week. Also, although we were on the 8th floor, the noise from the outside traffic was still quite loud. Would definitely stay there again but would request a bigger room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Good and comfortable room but small and limited external noise
Good location
Good fitness center
Nice 25 yards swimming pool
Good breakfast and welcoming free daily happy hour
Clean
A bit expensive
Free wifi sometimes slow

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was a little dated in the rooms. Just like the military, no frills, but everything worked. Air conditioner was nice and cool, and there was even a ceiling fan. A lot of great history in the hotel, but for me, the great location was the main benefit. Within minutes from Chinatown and Little Italy. You can walk down to Fisherman's Warf, but the walk back is killer. Steep uphill grade for about 30 blocks. You can, of course, take the recommended street cars. Breakfast buffet was awesome, including the SOS.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights with fellow Marines on a weekend trip we took up from SoCal. Wow. I love history and unique buildings and this was it. Beautiful rooms; very clean, LARGE bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. Mini fridge was a nice addition to put left-overs in. Excellent staff and incredible breakfast on the top floor, with a gorgeous view of the city. I loved every minute of it, will stay again if I find myself in this city again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.