We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful place to stay and a Living Memorial"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“"Wonderful place to stay and a Living Memorial"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Marines Memorial Club/Hotel is the only place we stay at when visiting San Francisco Bay area. The rooms are always comfortable, Breakfast is great with express breakfast on the 4th floor in the Business center (5:30-10a) for the early risers. The Hosted Happy hour is a time to meet people from all over this great country of ours and to enjoy the view. The Library on the 11th floor houses military books and many artifacts. We stayed on the 5th floor this time and which is called "Memorial Hall". The hallway contains plaques that Members have purchased to honor loved ones a must read. The Hotel is a living Memorial to those who have served our Great Country. Parking is close by and is worth the cost. The Marines Memorial Club continues to be our go to place to place to stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We so appreciate your kind words about the club and the living memorial. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    146
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
96
168
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Using a reciprocal membership from Australia we were lucky enough on this occasion in SF to enjoy the facilities and warm hospitality of this fine club. The quality of our room was excellent (a corner king room). The ambience of the hotel and its facilities are first rate and well maintained. The lovely quality breakfast and the drinks happy hour each evening added to the enjoyment of our stay.The business centre was well equipped, a self service laundry is available and free for guests to use. The library is just wonderful to browse the shelves of all the titles available. A tour of the club reveals some beautiful and poignant displays of military history and the lives of some wonderful Americans who have given their service to a great country. If you are lucky enough to be able to stay at the MMC enjoy every minute. I felt it was a privilege to be able to stay there, thank you to all the staff for their friendly quality service.

Room Tip: Corner king was spacious though some of the suites look huge. We stayed on level 5 and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is a memorial to the U.S. Marine Corps. There is memorabilia on just about every floor. Ours had a tribute to Joe Rosenthal, the photographer who took the picture of the Marines hoisting the flag on Mt. Surabachi on Iwo Jima. The hotel has a great location close to Union Square. The service was very good and most responsive. My wife had a very early shuttle to the airport and the concierge was most attentive to make sure everything went well. The is a nice happy hour open bar and inclusive breakfast. The food and view from the restaurant is top notch. The rooms are a little small but were very clean and nicely appointed. There is access to an adjoining health club, too. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you're active duty or a veteran, I can't think of anywhere else to stay. It's clean, the rooms are big, it's quiet, FREE HAPPY HOUR and BREAKFAST! Great location just a few minutes walk from Union Square or Chinatown. We also walked to the Wharf (which is not for the faint-hearted). They also make parking easy about 40 yards from hotel and MMCH patrons get a break on the cost ($35.00 a day). Again, if you're a military member or veteran, this is definitely the place to stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a trip around the US. Breakfast was really good. All the staff were very friendly. We had free use of laundry utilities and they even provided detergent free of charge.

Really good value and great location. Only downside was that the room wasn't that big, but it was big enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors get less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband, a Proud Marine and Vietnam Vet and I were looking forward to visiting this Hotel for "Happy Hour". He's active in several Veteran Groups and was anticipating the warm welcome and "Brotherhood" so often found among Marines. We spoke to several couples and were somewhat dismissed or snubbed, not a single "Semper Fi". We had a quick cocktail, looked around a bit and left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

真係好好!

My husband and I have stated in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is fine and can be easily accessed by tram. You are advised to buy a day pass if you do not drive. There are free breakfast and happy hours with free drinks and snacks. The hair conditioner provided are of good smell and quality. I used quite a lot during my stay. The services in the computer room are all free of charges, I saw quite a number of people printing in the computer room (the hotel name it as a business centre). There is a library with books related to US wars in the upper floor.

The most amusing part is that there are two self-laundry and drying machines located in 4/F and 6/F with free washing power available in the front desk. Usually, a Asian flat is small and cannot hold such a big machine. I just brought all my dirty clothes and my new clothes bought in US and wash there. It works very well and is able to clean some dirt that cannot be removed by hand. Besides, it no longer requires me to have 6~8 loads with my own small washing machine when return home. It is really very convenience for an Asian! This hotel is highly recommended with reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.