We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located unique place to stay in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A well located unique place to stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I found the hotel through Tripadvisor and had very good reviews and a reasonable price. Our experience was great. Located in Union Square, it has a curious atmosphere as it is really a Marines Club built after the world war. The service kind and careful about details, rooms clean and nice, breakfast included and a restaurant with a gorgeous view of SF downtown skyline from the 12th floor. Parking four doors away at a reduced price for guests. in summary a perfect place for our stay in SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    124
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
80
146
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm a former Marine who is perpetual member of this hotel. I and my wife always try to stay here when we're in S.F. First of all if you check prices in S.F. it's hard to find a decent hotel under $200.00. Secondly very few give you a great buffet breakfast and two hour happy hour with a pianist who plays requests. This hotel also has a wonderful steak restaurant on the 12th floor, along with a pool, access to a gym and a truly educational library. On Father's day several years ago we were at happy hour and met a former WW II vet and a former Ambassador, what an interesting and informative time that was. Parking is close and at $27.00 very reasonable for S.F. We love this hotel and have never had any problems. My only complaint is that it's booked up for our next trip which tells you something. Read some of the average comments and found them to be very nit picky. For those of you who think this hotel is just average, please stay somewhere else as it's leaves room for the rest of us. While in S.F. attend the Beach Blanket Babylon floor show, it's hilarious. Look on line for cheap places to eat and there are a lot of them. Park your car and walk, it's good exercise and use the trolley for the fun and experience.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are fine but if you want more room get a king size room which has more windows. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I arrived into this hotel at first. It received rave reviews but didn't look like a top notch hotel. I checked at 11:30 at night with a reservation and the room I was in was clean but faced a brick wall ten feet away and the carpet and bathroom could use some updates. But beyond that, everything was great. The staff was kind and helpful, the location was great, near Union Square. The breakfast was fantastic with an amazing view of the city. The bed was comfortable. What the hotel might come up short with in perks, it makes up for with its drops of love.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent central location, beautiful and well maintained historic building, staff were fantastic and very helpful. Breakfast was brillaint. The Marine's veteran's association adds an interesting extra side to the hotel. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Parking garage three door up. Nice older establishment with a decent restaurant. We enjoyed both a dinner and a breakfast here. Good staff wanting to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing fancy but a good room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Definitely a little bit different than your typical business hotel. This place has photos of marines all over the walls and some uniforms and other Marine memorabilia.
The bedroom was nice and big with a good work desk, flat screen tv, and fridge.
The bed was very comfortable. I was disappointed in the flickery fluorescent light for the vanity area and the shower/toilet room was small and cramped. You have to go in and close the door to access the shower.
The free breakfast was good and the view was great from the restaurant. Staff is very nice. Overall I recommend it.

Room Tip: room 312's window looks at a brick wall and a fire escape. Not so nice if you want a view from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel was located only 3 blocks from Union Square and convenient to public transportation. The breakfast each day was awesome. We had a King size room that was spacious and very clean.
We had an amazing view from our room on the 5th floor. Each night they have a complimentary Happy Hour from 4 - 6 PM and they make awesome Martinis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.