We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Me and my husband stayed 3 nights in a king size room on the 5th floor where the memorial plates were hung on the corridor walls. As we went in the hotel's main door I saw that hotel really deserves the name. Lots of badges, pictures, stuff etc were placed over the walls like a exhibition or a museum about marines. The receptionist was hospitable and after 5 minutes time we were done and going up with elevator to our room. We didn't see any welcome basket of fruits or cookies contrary to eileenm28's review. It wasn't a defect anyway. Room, bathroom, towels were clean. Only problem we had was on the last morning of our stay. We woke up with the noise coming from the next room. Really it was disturbing because we could hear the neigbours' laughing and conversation. They must be talking loudly; what we did is just simple. We knocked on the wall 3 times. Then it was silent.
The breakfast was on the 12th floor, it had a nice scene if you can sit on a table near the window your breakfast will be great. We were seated after a few minutes. Breakfast itself was reasonable. The staff frequently asked if we would like to have more orange juice or something else.
First night of our stay we needed a AAA battery and it was midnight. Thanks for security because he handled a pack of batteries which he bought from market next door at that time. Next morning when he saw me he asked if I'm okey with the batteries :)
I must say that it's location is really good because it's close to union square, BART Powell St. and cable car station. All these points are a 10 minutes walk away I guess. So if I go back to SF, I'll certainly check Marines for stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a silent room not because of the traffic but the people nextdoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    158
    29
    2
    5
See reviews for
103
182
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here with my two brothers, one of which is in the Coast Guard. So he was able to pull in the military rate. This hotel was really fantastically placed, it was a short walk to many many bars and restaurants.

The hotel is definitely "historic" or some may say dated, but I really think it depends on your age and perception of what this hotel represents. I know that many may have a different term for it, but it is definitely brimming with history so you have to take it for what it is. There are fantastic and large ball rooms on the upper floors with wonderful views of the city, my brother and I snuck up there to check it out and see the sights. It was a wonderful place to have a great conversation as we watched the sun come up :) so great. There is a library and military accoutrements all over, it is really a museum and a feast for the eyes.

The room was great, there was a sink area outside the actual showering and bathing area, which was perfect for us gals that can be putting our face on while someone else showers. The king suite was huge, there was even a conference/board room table in there along with a king size bed, and pull out sofa. We could have invited 17 more people to come stay with us and conducted a meeting in the midst of that haha. It was lovely and so was the service.

If you stay here, please, please, please remember to be respectful because this is a place that pays homage to the armed forces who sacrifice to protect and serve our country. If you are looking for a hotel to come back to after your drink fest and trash the place, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a King size corner room. Nicely refurbished since last stay 10 years ago. Happy hour is great, breakfast reasonable and location is FIVE STAR. Proud to be a member now.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights here during a recent trip to San Francisco.( 2 parents plus 2 teens)
This is my second stay here.
The room is spacious and there was a welcome basket of fruit and cookies when we arrived, devoured by our hungry teenagers. The room was spotless and along with the excellent accommodation came a complementary full breakfast buffet served in a room with a beautiful view of the city and a pass for a free nightly happy hour which we got to once. To make it an even better deal there is a beautiful library with current magazines and some history end other books, complementary newspaper and even free laundry facilities with complimentary detergent.
For those with a car, the hotel can arrange discounted parking at a nearby garage. We bought a 3 day Muni pass, good for unlimited cable car, bus and streetcar transportation but also took a nice walk through Chinatown to Northbeach and all the way to Aquatic Park one day, and another day rented bikes and rode across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito.
The staff of the MArines Memorial Club were also kind and helpful. This place really knows how to extend hospitality to it's guests!

Room Tip: There is a theater here with performances many evenings. If you plan for an early night in ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Military rate is great...esp., in SF/Union Station. Restaurant on 10th floor has great view of SF and the food's quite good. Try the Clam Chowder. My 2nd invite to speak at weekly breakfast meeting, Golden Gate Breakfast Club., www.ggbcsf.org. Memberships are available. If I return to SF, wil stay there again. A lot of USMC memorabelia in the lobby and throughout hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have limited view of SF. Rooms above 5th floor offer best view of SF abd Bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed here several times and the latest visit didn't disappoint. It's a great place to stay, very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic! Service is great too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are in the military you can get in for only $79 per night...the best value in SF...especially right near Union Square. Free breakfast is fantastic. Can't beat it even if you pay regular rate!

Room Tip: there are a few rooms that is facing another building...not ideal but considering the rate and in SF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.