We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marines Memorial Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding.
Unsure of what to expect with "The Marine Club" - we were a little hesitant about staying here.

I'm happy to report, we were pleasantly surprised! Perfectly situated in San Francisco's busy tourist area of Union Square, this hotel was only a short walk (downhill!) to many tourist attractions: shopping, cable cars and more important, the public transport systems (BART and MUNI) at Powell St. There was a fun bar (The White Horse) two doors down, a liquor store right next door and a Walgreens, a short walk away; all necessities when booking a hotel in my opinion.

The boutique hotel has a small lobby, but is quite large once inside. The hotel is a memorial to past Marine service and a service to current Marines; so the hotel is a Marine museum and we saw many Marines (past and present) on the premises.

Our standard room was small; but very clean with all the standard hotel amenities. Our friends were staying in the Deluxe rooms and Suites; which were both VERY spacious; so if being able to spread out is important to you; I would opt for a Deluxe room. The (Bridal) Suite was enormous with a full sized living room, separate bedroom and separate bath area/toilette area. Definitely worth it for a special occasion.

Included in our standard room rate, we received complimentary full buffet breakfast and "happy hour" cocktails. Both were fabulous. The breakfast buffet was traditional breakfast buffet with eggs, sausages, French toast etc. with all kinds of breads, pastries and fruit, coffee tea and juice. The happy hour from 4-6 included complimentary beer, wine and cocktails and was such a generous amenity. Worth the price of the room, right there!

As the hotel is geared at the service community; as expected, there are many older couples and families staying here; so don't expect partying in the halls (or if it was going on, we didn't see it/hear it). My friend also hosted her wedding here; and I can say that the cocktail area and dining room were spacious and very classically beautiful.

The service we experienced at the front desk, dining’s rooms and event staff were absolutely lovely.

However, because this is a boutique hotel; expect to call for reservations (and make note of your own confirmation numbers; no email confirmation here); and expect the front desk to get a little busy, we called several times to no answer; but the staff themselves are absolutely fabulous.

Also, I advise booking early, as this place sells out very quickly!

Room Tip: I would ask for a view of the street, if possible. Our view was a brick wall :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    126
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
81
146
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twisp, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel had it all! The beds were comfortable and the rooms were immaculate. Very well kept. The morning buffet breakfast was awesome. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

So many of the big chain hotels are in the same area.. all are pricey but the MMC is a totally Not-for-Profit operation and very reasonably priced. For any one who has a USMC connection, they will completely enjoy the hotel's memorabilia and museum. For those w/o connection to USMC, they'll enjoy the full breakfast buffet, professional servers and the best FREE happy hour for guests each nite. Free happy hour too! Leave a nice tip since the servers are really good and that's their living! There is a gym for guests too although I didn't get to it. Its a big ragged on the edges but quite acceptable and again.. (small bathrooms) but you cannot beat the location on Sutter and Powell. Nob Hill is one direction, Chinatown and Union Hill in another direction, cable cars are everywhere and the dining everywhere is terrific. Best news.. all the profit goes to maintaining the memorial and hotel and various USMC charities. Very accommodating for physically disabled

Room Tip: Its a busy street so if you are noise sensitive, perhaps stay higher??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was gorgeous from the foyer to the rooms. Every night we had complimentary cocktails on the top floor with great views of the city and a piano player. In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast also on the top floor. It was the best ever!!!

Room Tip: You need to be a friend of a member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for a week during a conference. At first, I wasn't impressed but as the week went on, I became a fan of this place. Favorite thing was the FREE hot breakfast buffet every morning. Wait staff was very attentive. You just need to leave a tip. Additionally there is a FREE happy hour in the evening, again, only tip required. The room was spacious and the hotel itself, is convenient to lots of shopping, restaurants, and many modes of transportation. Only 2 negatives - 1. Requested a wake-up call and never received it. 2. Don't expect the bell man to help you get a taxi. He basically told me I had to get one myself. So i walked about 3 blocks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Off course, it is a bit special to stay in a marine memorial hotel.
However, it was a very good experience :
- staff and concierge are helpfull
- rooms are clean
- breakfast is excellent, great choice and very good view on the city
- fitness center is unique : a lot of appliance, plus a real swimming pool : 25 yards !
- good business center.

The hotel decoration is old fashioned, then does not expect a design hotel, this is the only weak point in my opinion.

Location is very convenient, close to Union Square a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Clean rooms, very nice staff, and great location. We will definitely be back! Make sure to grab a map from the concierge, he gave great tips on what bus lines to take, sights, etc. Great free happy hour and breakfast (it saved us a good $30 a day per person). Library was great too, I forgot her name but the librarian had us in stitches laughing, her personality was hilarious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is just off Union Square and the cable car next to art galleries and museums. Built in the 1920's the 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, on demand movies, cable TV and breakfast for two included in the rates and 2 hour cocktail party nightly in the 12th floor steakhouse restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marines Memorial Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.