We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #40 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
riverside
1 review
“Amazing Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The ladies were so nice, they offered so much for us for our 4 night stay. It is really cramped but it had all that we asked for. They are very welcoming and offer any kind of service they felt we needed. We had one bed with three people, but they brought in an extra roll up bed and extra restroom supplies. There was complimentary breakfast but it was simply beagles, boiled eggs, and fruit that you served yourself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    182
    48
    24
    10
See reviews for
93
320
51
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Inn at the Opera is a quaint little place to stay with very friendly staff. We slept in a Juliet Room. The room smelled really good and it was neat and tidy. It felt really cozy and serene but it was much smaller than what we're used to. The bed was pretty awful. We never got comfortable and managed to smack each other a few times during the tossing and turning. That size bed would be suitable for one adult or two very small people but it was nowhere near big enough for two grown people. I woke up with a very sore back and neck. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. If you plan to arrive late, dont expect to get room service. According to the binder in our room, room service stops at 9:30. I was starving when we arrived but exhaustion won out.

I would stay here again provided I got a larger room with a king sized bed. If the smaller rooms were the only ones available, I'd have to skip it unless I was by myself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenosha, wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for four nights from March 23rd - March 27th, 2009. We reserved the ballet room for 87.00 a night. I was really impressed with how much the hotel offers considering how cheap the hotel room was. The building itself is charming. A little old; but it just adds to the french charm! I loved the decor, too. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The blankets, pillows and bed were all very comfotable and easy to sleep on. The bathroom is also very nice, but there wasn't much space to store my cosmetics, so I ended up putting some of my stuff on the floor. For the most part it was quiet at night, except for early in the moring around 6:00, we could hear someone start a shower. The breakfast is great. Where I come from there is no way you can find such a great price on a good hotel; especially one that offers such a nice complimentary breakfast. The resturant downstairs called Ovation is soooo good. I highly reccomend trying the creme brulee. It's out-of-this-world! The service from the maids is great. However, I was dissapointed when we were told our room would be ready by 3:00pm but it was not ready until after 4:30. That had me quite upset because we were wasting precious time in SF. Also, the hotel is not located within walking distane to any attractions, so that made traveling kind of difficult. We rented cabs for the most part, and the hotel was very good about calling cabs for us. Overall, The Inn at the Opera is a great place to stay with good food and service at a great value. There were a few bumps, but the pleasure of staying here out-weighed any snags along the way. I would love to come back to SF, and I will reserve a room at The Inn at the Opera again. Next time though, I think I will get a bigger room. =)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a week's stay at the Inn at the Opera. A nice and charming hotel in a very well kept older building. Very clean. Agree with others that it is located a bit away from many of the attractions but the municipal transit system is pretty easy to figure out with bus and trolley stops within a few blocks. At first the room seemed small but we quickly got used to it and enjoyed it. We used the coffee maker a couple of times and kept bottled water and wine in the fridge. The continental breakfast was nice - bagels, English muffins, danish, cereal, fruit (bananas, watermelon, cantaloupe, honey dew melon), yogurt, coffee, tea, juice. It is served buffet style but the staff will fill your coffee cup. The hotel also puts out a bowl of fresh apples in the lobby every morning. They were really good. In general, the hotel staff was very accommodating, professional, and customer oriented. The only lapse we experienced occurred one evening around 10:00PM when some newly arrived guests opened our door. The front desk had mistakenly assigned them our room. A good reason to always use the chain lock when you are in the room. Judging from how well everything else was done during our stay this was obviously just one of those flukey things that happens now and then. We would definitely return to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I needed a hotel for one night in a decent part of town, within a walking distance to the Civic center. Room was small but neat and offerred all you need...and more. It even had small microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, utencils, glasses and dishes for two. Cool! Free internet and if you don't have a laptop with you they have a PC in the lobby that you can use as long as want...again free.

The service was impecable, the complimentary breakfast too. The concierge is there all day long with all the good info one can use. The best of all, the price was $97, including taxes. Location is also very good - small quiet street within a walking distance to many places. Try the restaurants and galleries on Hayes St (few blocks away). Awesome!!! I would highly recommend this gem to any single traveler or a couple for a short stay in SF.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We have stayed at The Inn at the Opera many times for many years and have found that it consistently has an attentive and thoughtful staff and fine accommodations. It is very well placed for those interested in the several cultural opportunities that are nearby, such as the Opera House, Davies Symphony Hall, Herbst Theatre, Civic Auditorium, the Asian Art Museum, the remarkable San Francisco Library, and the palatial City Hall. San Francisco is blest with copious mass transit which is effective for getting about without suffering the trials of a car in a major city. Also close at hand are trolleys to other museums, to “downtown” (which is not far), and BART trains going downtown and across the Bay to Berkeley, Oakland, etc.

The facility is modest in size but is particularly exemplary for the wonderful staff that is most friendly and concerned, helpful and attentive to all their patrons needs. While the hotel is not large it has a charming intimate quality. The medium priced rooms are fully suited to our needs and we enjoy the parking provisions, the free fresh baked, warm cookies each afternoon, the omnipresent bowl of apples, as well as the free SF newspaper every morning etc. All of this gives an ambience of a concerned and caring place for our many trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel was perfect for our opera experience. Loved the room and extra touches throughout. The setting is perfect and walking distance to all the venues. We will be back! Thank you again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.