We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Nice Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Hayes Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #45 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service, Nice Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at Inn the Opera last night. We attended the 2009 SF Ballet Gala dinner and performance and did not want to drive back home to the East Bay and Peninsula. This is the second year we chose to stay at Inn at the Opera for this evening. In addition to the room being very clean and attractive, the service we received from the concierge, front desk and bell staff was all exceptional. It was an easy walk to the Opera House and City Hall. This morning we walked to the Asian Art Museum to catch the Afghanistan exhibit and after, we walked to Pacific Heights for lunch - about 16 city blocks down Van Ness and over on California to Fillmore to Delfina. I recommend Inn at the Opera highly.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location and great service
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    189
    51
    24
    11
See reviews for
96
330
54
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at Inn at the Opera for 1 week. Location: very convenient; 1 bus ride to the wharf; 45 minutes to Napa Valley. Reception Staff: courteous, efficient & friendly. Room: clean, comfortable, temperature is just right. Our key card did not work on the third day after we came back from Napa- the reception was quick to fix the problem. Free continental breakfast is filling although the waiter failed to fill our cup with coffee after asking us if we wanted some. We will stay there again in the future.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noise on the roof in the morning
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

We consider Inn at the Opera our home in San Francisco. On our most recent stay the entire staff--front desk, concierge, bell, housekeeping and restaurant staffs were all exceptional in making us feel completely comfortable and taken care of despite a travel change resulting in our arriving a day too early without a reservation for that night. Nevertheless, the desk staff provided an available room for our first night and with the bell staff facilitated painless transfer to our reserved suite for our second and third nights. In a survey following an earlier visit, my wife had suggested that considering the number of older guests that bran flakes be added to the complimentary brunch. This time there were bran flakes—a detail reflecting the level of this hotel’s customer service. We are very grateful to the entire staff for making our stay such a pleaure.

In addition the Inn at the Opera is near the Civic Center including the City Hall with its rich history and elegant rotunda, the San Francisco Opera, Ballet, and Symphony, and the San Francisco Culinary Institute that serves to the public a Friday lunch buffet that is both reasonably priced and elegant. Located in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley district, to the south and west are an abundance of neighborhood restaurants with a European flair, coffee shops, bars, boutiques, bookstores, and a sense of families and community. Block after block of level streets offer respite from Union Square and Nob Hill for the knee challenged amongst us.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Excellent hotel to stay at. I stayed here for one night to visit the SF Ballet for the Nutcacker. I had heard some indifferent reviews, and had some concerns, but after getting there I loved this hotel. The area is not bad, as some people make it out to be, and the hotel is really nice. The rooms are really clean, and the beds are very comfy. The breakfast in the morning is so-so, but it is free, cannot complain about free food.

The hotel really throws you back to the old days, makes you feel like your staying in an old victorian! I enjoyed it, you will too, Tim.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

took 2 days to adjust to the "european style" type of room (studio with refrig. & micro),but thereafter was very cozy & most adequate.adjusting to the small size of the room was challenging due to last years stay @ another svc property in s.f.(The Donetello) which for a studio was huge! my wife & i highly recommend The Inn @ the Opera...the staff is professional & friendly & go out of their way to please & serve...the daily complimentary continental b'fast is awesome...the onsite restaurant (Ovations) is pricey yet admirable in quality & service.

  • Liked — affordable & near market/powell
  • Disliked — small room size
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Usually we don't get great services from hotels in general. On this trip we drove from the vino bello in napa and stayed at the in at the opera. We never got such a good treatment from the staff. We remember Joseph and Rowena from the front desk and even Patricio the valet guy, they were amazing treating us as true costumer should always be treated. The hotel is great for what we were looking for( european style). Totally recommended .

  • Liked — style
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Although this isn't a true "5-star" establishment (but easily 4-star), we definitely had a "5-star" experience. This hotel has a very European, old-style feel to it, though it has been updated to ensure that guests are comfortable and everything was very clean. The staff was gracious and friendly, and although the valet parking was full, they directed us to parking right behind the hotel which actually saved us a couple of dollars. The location was perfect - practically next door to the Opera House and Civic Center, which made for a lovely evening stroll (though very short). We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very comfortable and many amenities were provided which are not always found in hotels ("green" shopping bags, dishes, etc.). The free continental breakfast was quite good and the restaurant was intimate and beautiful. We hope to arrive early enough next time to have dinner there before a show. We hope to return to this gem of a hotel many times in the future.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly staff, Overall atmosphere/ambience
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.