We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for a week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #39 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week and everything was great. The staff were all really nice and helpful. They were very friendly as well, and had a sense of humour. The room was excellent, clean and full service daily. Breakfast was included, and it was all fresh seasonal fruits and baked products. We used a bus pass and found the transport system close by and frequent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    184
    48
    24
    10
See reviews for
93
322
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inwood, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Inn at the Opera in San Francisco recently. The folks who work there are very nice and accommodating. Even though we had an interior bedroom, it was cozy, clean and safe. Actually, staying at the Inn felt like staying at a close relatives home! Breakfast is served at 7AM and there is valet service for your car. We were given a room on the second floor, so we didn't have to use the small, old fashi We would love to come back but might never get lucky again as we got the Inn through a time share switch. Enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you, Inn at the Opera.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family (2 adults, 2 small children) stayed here in March and we really enjoyed our stay. The personnel were all very professional and friendly. They gave us great ideas for activities and sightseeing in the area, including bus lines and trolley cars to take. The location was great, next to the Opera House and a short walk to the bus lines, shopping and the main trolley car station. The hotel itself had a warm, homey, and comfortable feel to it, not the typical mega-resort that we've stayed at in the past. If you are looking for a hotel with the mega-resort facilities like fitness facilities, spa amenities, childcare, swimming pool, etc you won't find it here but we didn't stay here to hang out at the hotel - we wanted to see San Francisco! We stayed in one of the suites that had a kitchenette and separate living room with a queen sized pull out sofa bed for our children. The kitchenette was great to be able to make lunch and warm up bottles for the little one. And the continental breakfast was very good! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a five night break at the Inn at the Opera before joining a cruise . The hotel was in a good district with a good choice of excellent restaurants nearby . Staff were extremely helpful in giving advice on how to get around , free continental breakfast was a bonus . Enjoyed our stay there very much would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located to explore San Francisco. The room I stayed in was on the 6th floor (a ballet room), and very small but had everything I needed. It was very quiet. People comment on the old fashioned, small elevator, but I never had a long wait for it. Although it is close to public transportation, you do have to walk thru some sketchy areas to get to some transit.

I highly recommend the free (donation appreciated) city guides walking tours (SFcityguides.org). They have numerous walking tours of various areas and the guides are very knowledgeable and you can tell they really enjoy showing people their city. The street cars and busses are very easy to use, you really don't need, or want to have, a car if you are staying in the city, and many areas are walkable from the hotel (20-30 minutes to Union Square, Alamo Park (painted ladies), just a few minutes to the ballet/symphony/jazz venues and the Hayes valley with many shops and cafes or restaurants.

The hotel does have a small lobby and a restaurant but other than that no common areas or outdoor spaces to relax.

If your goal is to see San Francisco, this is a good home base.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We used Expedia to book a trip to San Francisco for spring break and chose Inn at the Opera based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was a good decision. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We got there early in the day at about 9:30 and they said they would have a room for us about 11am and would call us when it was ready. We left our bags and toured the Hayes Valley neighborhood and returned around 11:30 to find our room ready for us.

We had a back rooon the 7th floor. It was very small, but nicely appointed and had two windows which made it seem larger.

The bed had a nice firm mattress and we enjoyed sleeping on it. In the morning we had a great continental breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor. The wait staff was again very friendly. We were surprised to find a slip on our table on which to charge a tip to our room. This was the first time we had ever seen this. We used cash, however, although we didn't observe others tipping.

The bed was made up each night and pieces of chocolate were there for our pleasure. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave as well as a coffee maker.

All in all it was a great stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or pool. I would choose a larger room in the future, but still would wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What you can normally expect from a Hotwire booking is the crappiest room with the crappiest view and lackluster attention from the hotel staff... because they think you're cheap and probably won't tip very well. When my wife and I checked in, I was expecting a reception in accordance with these expectations. What we got instead was an incredibly cheerful and helpful staff. The bellman/valet saw us when we drove up, and, before I could even begin the check-in process, he approached and said, "if you're trying to park on the street instead of paying for our parking, I'll be able to hold a spot for you until after you've checked in." I was stunned by his consideration. I graciously accepted his generosity, as overnight parking was something like $28. The check-in clerk couldn't have been more polite. When I asked if we could get a room with a view, instead of reminding us that we'd booked on Hotwire and had to accept what they were willing to give us (as most hotels do surprisingly enough), she accommodated our request. After checking in, I then stepped back outside, and the bellman was standing off the curb about 20 yards down the street waving other drivers away from the spot he was guarding for us. Wow! When I pulled the car into the spot he was holding for me, the bellman then made sure that I removed all valuables from my car. He told me the one downside to parking on the street is that cars do get broken in to from time to time, but he also said he's never had a car get broken in to that didn't have anything of value inside. Everything about this particular hotel stay was wonderful. The room was beautifully appointed, very comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning was way beyond the "continental" we thought we were getting. I guess, technically, it was a continental breakfast, but the selection of items and the quality of teas was beyond any continental breakfast we'd ever had. All in all, this was a great kick-off to the three days we were planning on spending in wine country. This hotel is a great value and is run extraordinarily well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words about your stay and the staff here at the Inn at the Opera. I am very pleased that you were well taken care of. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.