We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #40 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We picked this hotel because of TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is very comfortable and the room was well maintained. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We have no complaints. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. We will stay there the next time we go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    175
    46
    24
    10
See reviews for
90
312
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in a Victorian building close to lots of cultural experiences and away from the busy shopping areas. Close by are local shopping streets with some lovely one off shops and restaurants. There is easy access to public transport but we found that it wasn't too far to walk to most places.
Our room on the 4th floor was possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever been in, certainly in America but it was clean and had good quality bedding and fittings; we slept well in the comfortable bed.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area, behind the Opera, yet close to a lot of attractions. It is basically equidistant from the Golden Gate Park and the Embarcadero. Those who favor walking to their destination will love the situation, and there's public transportation nearby for those who'd rather not walk.

The room was clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette. The staff was professional and polite.
Definitely a hotel I'd book again next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent location--close to the airport, in the downtown, walking distance to the opera (obviously), and good transit options. The concierge was very helpful and altho the building is older, a recent overhaul is apparent. The "continental" breakfast far exceeded my expectations and even the studio unit we were in was larger than what I was expecting. We were only overnight to accommodate an early morning flight, but we couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: Be prepared for valet parking as that's really your only option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a Victorian building-expect small rooms! The charm and location are worth it. You are in a historic area in San Francisco with good transportation choices. If you choose to drive, park your car with valet, the daily fee entitles you to in and out privileges which is an excellent deal. You will feel safer returning late at night rather than walking around the Civic Center area. Safer to walk around Hayes area where there are a lot of restaurants and shops. Junior Suites have more room than regular hotel room which is very tiny. But heck, who spend all of their time in a hotel room while in San Francisco? Sit in the front lobby and enjoy reading the paper with a cup of coffe or tea and watch the world go by. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Smile.

Room Tip: Rooms in middle and back have less noise. Head for Hayes Street for dining and shopping. Take free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place was extremely quaint, lovely and clean. The service was excellent. I was not impressed by the breakfast or the lift which was a bit old school and spooky. The location was great, close to bus stops etc. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and was really pleased with our choice. It's quite overwhelming with the choice in San Francisco and we wanted something with character which this place certainly had. The staff were exceptional, always helpful and cheerful no matter what time of day. They have recently opened a restaurant which we didn't get to try but had a drink in the bar, they had a great selection of all types of drinks and again the staff were really friendly. As for location it's not in the centre of the hussle and bussle but we didn't want this anyway, there is a bus stop right near the hotel which the hop on hop off bus tours stop at but if your not shy of walking which we weren't it was only a 20 minute / half hour walk to the centre. There are also several restaurants and bars just round the corner from the hotel too. The rooms were very clean with really comfy beds, kitchen facilities and TV. We couldn't have asked for any more and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have a booking to see and opera - even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.