We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I really liked this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place was extremely quaint, lovely and clean. The service was excellent. I was not impressed by the breakfast or the lift which was a bit old school and spooky. The location was great, close to bus stops etc. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    164
    42
    24
    9
See reviews for
83
298
46
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and was really pleased with our choice. It's quite overwhelming with the choice in San Francisco and we wanted something with character which this place certainly had. The staff were exceptional, always helpful and cheerful no matter what time of day. They have recently opened a restaurant which we didn't get to try but had a drink in the bar, they had a great selection of all types of drinks and again the staff were really friendly. As for location it's not in the centre of the hussle and bussle but we didn't want this anyway, there is a bus stop right near the hotel which the hop on hop off bus tours stop at but if your not shy of walking which we weren't it was only a 20 minute / half hour walk to the centre. There are also several restaurants and bars just round the corner from the hotel too. The rooms were very clean with really comfy beds, kitchen facilities and TV. We couldn't have asked for any more and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have a booking to see and opera - even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel with cheerful, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent new Scandinavian restaurant on site Le Plaj and lively bar. Excellent location, walking distance to Westfield Center upscale mall on Market Street, City Hall, Symphony and Opera, longer walk to Embarcadero but doable. Great boutiques and cafes on Hayes Street.

Room Tip: Ballet rooms small but have microwave, frig, sink, plates, glasses, utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton SK Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our week stay at Inn at the Opera was great. Although a bit small, we did have a kitchenette with cutlery and plates ( used it for leftovers). Rooms were clean and replenished daily; staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were fine too. Within walking distance of city bus & BART routes. Close to opera house and city hall. Would recommend this hotel. - Beth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

An extremely comfortable and lovely old hotel if you want to stay away from the Wharf. Great breakfast and really friendly staff. Check out walking routes at night, you might want to take a taxi as there are some streets best avoided in Tenderloin unless you are familiar with the area. Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again if/when we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A friend & I were in SF in Sept. for a girls getaway. After much research, we chose Inn At The Opera and it did not disappoint! We stayed 3 nights in an Opera suite, which was perfect. You enter into a small common room with kitchenette. My friend took the large bedroom & full bath off one side of the common room, and I took the french-door "den" with pull out couch, it's own tv & second full bath. We had a lovely "euro" style breakfast (included) each morning and ate a fantastic dinner one night downstairs at Plaj. It was packed due to a recent rave review by a local critic. The other nights, we walked 5 minutes around the corner to Hayes St., where there were cute boutiques & restaurants. The hotel's location is a little off the beaten path, which we liked. It was quiet, clean and we didn't feel at any risk. We walked one day thru Japantown to Pacific Heights, Cow Hollow, & the Marina. I wouldn't recommend walking to Union Square. The hotel staff was very professional & helpful & the doorman hailed us a cab right away. We would have paid much more for separate rooms in another hotel. This spot allowed us to be together with our own space & baths. Great value in the city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for three nights 10/23/12-10/25/12. My family of five reserved two rooms, a Ballet Room and a Symphony Room (suite with queen bed room and full size pull-out sofa in a living area) on the fifth floor. This little boutique hotel is beautiful! The building itself is older-some nice history. It is decorated and maintained very nicely. Very clean and that is a priority for me! All the staff members, from the parking valet, front desk to the restaurant staff were super helpful and nice. Continental breakfast was included which is always a plus. Location was good too. We had a rental car so we chose to pay valet parking which was around $28/night (oh well, it is SF). If you like traditional charm and coziness I recommend you stay here! We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Inn At The Opera Hotel
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel
Inn Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.