We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great place to stay in SF, with only minor hiccups.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Opera to your Saves list
Inn at the Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423 (Hayes Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #45 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
frozensky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Overall a great place to stay in SF, with only minor hiccups.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Opera Suite, which is pretty much 2 bedrooms as you can convert the living room sofa into a bed and then close off the door to the kitchenette area. The room is very nice, clean and comfortable. The hallways are also well lit and felt comfortable to walk into. The only thing needing some update is the 4-person elevator. I wished the bed was a king size bed though. I think it's a double bed. The room comes with 2 bathrooms and are very spacious and clean. The breakfast choice is quite limited (bagels, eggs, fruits, muffins, milk, coffee, orange juice), but it's free and the price of the room is very reasonable considering this is downtown SF. I would definitely stay again when I come to SF. Valet is $25.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    189
    51
    24
    11
See reviews for
96
330
54
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Inn is staffed by some the nicest people you will find in San Francisco. The property itself is fine and located near some interesting attractions. Once the dining room is open I am sure the stay will be a bit more pleasant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found the room suite meeting our needs perfectly. The staff was terrific, particularly the desk folks [with concierge services and maps] as well as the breakfast folks. We will stay there again, particularly when we go to the San Francisco Opera. Linda Stones

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, near superb eateries, clubs & attractions... But as a regular traveller, I highly recommend that they clean the room and hallway carpets. Woke up weezing, and I do not suffer from allergy issues...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

To echo earlier reviews, hotel was very clean, nicely decorated, superb staff, and the location can't be beat if you're watching a performance at one of the Civic Center venues. We had tickets to a show at Davies Symphony Hall, had a nice dinner before the show and a nightcap at a bar afterwards, all within a two block radius.

As was also mentioned by others, room was on the small side but the bathroom was so nicely done I didn't mind at all. It's a great value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Was initially worried about the size of the opera room after reading some of the reviews here. so was willing to pay for an upgrade on arrival but the hotel was full.

We stayed for 3 nights in an opera room. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

There were 2 adults in our party. Our room on the 5th floor was tastefully decorated and didn't feel claustrophobic( Queen bed, tiny wardrobe, 2 nightstands, Desk and 2 chairs. there was also a tiny kitchenette area, very clever use of space)
.
Bathroom was tiny and could have done with a bit more shelf space. Bed was comfortable. During the night the room was a tad on the warm side so aircon would have been nice (kept forgetting to ask for a fan so don't know if this would have solved the issue).

Breafast was in the lobby area due to resturant refurb. bagels,tomatoes,Cream cheese, fruit, coffee, orange juice. there were muffins on one day. nothing exciteing but free so can't complain.

Choose the Go Green rate which saved us $10 a night but Daily housekeeping was meant to be limited to trash removal and fresh towels only during stay SO pleasently surprised to find the bed made every day when we came back too.

Pleased with the location of the hotel. the staff told us which streets to avoid and we made good use of the SF transport system to get around. If I were to come to SF again I wouldn't hesitate in booking here again as it's a nice hotel in a quite area with good transport links to all the touristy bits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for being our guest recenlty and for our feedback concerning your stay. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do want to clear up one thing in which I think you were a little unsure of. It appears that you had one of our Ballet stduios, and not an Opera Suite, by the description you gave. Our Opera Suite is our largest room, has two distinct living areas with a larger kitchenette area when you first ebnter the room. It also has two bathrooms.

Again, thank you for being our guest recently and please come back and visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Inn at the Opera is ideal for any sort of traveler. Great hospitality, value and location. Close to bus, easy walk to charming Hayes neighborhood chock full of shops, restuarants and coffee houses, and less than 3 minutes to stunning civic center and world class ballet, opera and symphony. Room for families to spread out if you get a suite.

Room Tip: The Opera Suite was sweet! A bedroom w/flat panel TV and bath, separate sitting room with sleeper s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the heart of San Francisco features a prime location and a luxurious, French-style ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Relax in elegantly appointed suites that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings, high speed Internet access, lovely plush robes in all rooms and daily continental breakfast. Located just steps away from the city's Civic Center, the San Francisco War Memorial Opera House, the California Supreme Court, and Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.