We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropolis to your Saves list
Hotel Metropolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on the EDGE of the Tenderloin. My husband and I traveled to and from the hotel at all hours with no problems. I never felt threatened or scared. You will come across homeless people in all areas if the city. That being said, there is a larger than normal population of homeless on this block. When exiting the hotel, turn left and you are immediately in a good area. Very close to Union Square but without the prices of Union Square hotels. The people at the desk were also friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, the rooms were tiny and old. The tub was peeling and the shower head wouldn't stay in place. We were in a corner room and heard the street traffic ALL night. We read the reviews beforehand and were prepared for what we got, knowing most of our time would be spent touring the city. If you're looking for a cheap hotel to simply sleep in (and you're a heavy sleeper), stay here. If you want to spend time in the room and don't mind spending the extra money, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear gstogs,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the warm and friendly service of our staff during your stay with us. Although you did experience a couple minor issues with your bathroom, we appreciate that you shared this information with us and will be sure to inform my Engineering Team and Hotel Manager. If you can kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales at 415-775-4600 with your room number and/or dates stayed, it will certainly help us correct the issue.

We also appreciate your candid review of our specific location, as I am sure it will certainly help our future guests navigate their way around town.

Thank you again and we hope that we may have an opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    165
    134
    86
    69
See reviews for
72
130
41
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As others have said this hotel is on the edge of the tenderloin district which means there are homeless people about but they never bothered us. It was easy to walk down to the cable car and centre of town which was really useful. Also, as we had under 21s with us we couldn't go out to the bars in the evening so the hotel were happy for us to bring some drinks back and play cards in the mezzanine floor library - a great way to spend some family time. For this hotel, location is everything, just remember to turn left when you leave the front door. The rooms were a little on the small side but we had no intention of spending that much time in them. The people on the front desk were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Razza46,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Our Library Mezzanine is certainly a great spot to gather for some quiet time in a cozy atmosphere. I am happy that your family were able to enjoy this as it's a hidden gem about our hotel, as many guests are unaware of this lovely spot of our hotel.

Also, we certainly appreciate your candid review about our location in San Francisco. As you mentioned, "left" is the right way to go! Location is certainly key and being just one block from the Cable Cars on Powell Street, Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and a few blocks up to Union Square, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed the true essence of San Francisco!

We look forward to welcoming you all back as our guests again in the future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While I strive to be open-minded when evaluating a dining or hotel venue, sometimes it is impossible to find more positive factors than negative ones. Our two-night stay in late August 2012 offered the following positives: very clean, nice decor, good shower, helpful staff, located close to Union Square and cable car. I also liked the library mezzanine as a quiet refuge for reading, checking emails on the hotel computer, etc. That being said, I must agree with others' comments regarding small rooms/bathrooms, a very uncomfortable bed (we had two queen beds - my husband moved to the other bed the second night and found it to be much more comfortable), excessive noise between hotel rooms (i.e., could hear normal conversation in an adjacent room clearly) and the undeniably uncomfortable location of the hotel on the edge of the Tenderloin district. Both of us lived and worked in a large city for several years and did not find the abundant presence of homeless people in the blocks surrounding the hotel as much a shock as the fact that it presented a question of safety and security that we would have preferred not to have to worry about when walking to/from the hotel during vacation time. Even though we booked through Priceline, the total cost was still rather expensive when all factors are considered.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear TexasSunshine,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback about our hotel and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the service of our staff. As you mentioned, our Library located in the second floor is kind of like a hidden escape to read a book or for catching up on e-mails using our business center.

Regarding the location of our hotel, being located right in the heart of San Francisco certainly provides an experience to that of any major metropolitan city. With that said, taking into consideration the nearby activity, being located just one block from the Powell Street Cable Cars, Westfield San Francisco Centre and just a short walk from Union Square certainly provides an amount of convenience in exploring our wonderful city.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean rooms and bathrooms. Thin walls though... The neighbourhood could be better (lots of homeless people) but that keeps the price down. Good service, free coffee and tea in the morning, very well located: near Union square, Powell (Bart) station, Cable car stop, Macy's, Bloomingdales, apple store

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Juin M,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience with our accommodations, service provided by our staff and our location within the city.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel prices being what they are in San Francisco, you are hard pressed to find anything in the heart of the city for less than $200 per night. I used Priceline to find a place for a one night stay and ended up here. With taxes we ended up paying $212 for the night...and an additional $35 for parking!

Our room was on the second floor (#207) and faced Mason Street...avoid it like the plague. While the characters outside provided interesting entertainment, I prefer to sleep at 6:30 in the morning...not be awakened by two women screaming at each other in the middle of the street.

The hotel was in an old building and the room was, naturally, small with a queen sized bed, one nightstand, and a small desk. The lighting was inadequate and if you were on the side of the bed next to the window you had no lighting whatsoever. There was barely space to set anything down and a tiny little glass shelf in the bathroom to house your toiletries.

The bed was absolutely god-awful. We spent the night gripping the sides of the bed to keep from rolling into the middle. We got up in the middle of the night and stuffed a spare blanket under the mattress in the middle to help the situation but it did little to alleviate the problem. We both woke up with backaches the next morning.

So glad it was only one night...we will NOT be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of Mason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. In regards to the noise that you experienced from outside the hotel we try to minimize this as best we can by having our security guard rover our property. We are currently working on some design changes to reduce noise pollution to our hotel while still maintaining an urban San Francisco theme that so many of our loyal guests enjoy. I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time to discuss the specifics of your experience. I can be reached at 415 775 4600 or JGonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

They made a mistake on our booking, we confirmed a king size bed then was told upon arrival that there were no king sized available. After showing documentation and pressing a bit they found a king size bed. The fridge didn't work, we had to use ice. We had to request 3 electric alarm clocks before we got one that worked. The shower curtain didn't hang all the way to the floor so we soaked the bathroom floor on out first shower. The shower head was limp and we had to hold it to direct the spray. We heard sirens every night. The photos are misleading, the hotel is in a down and out area and there are a lot of people asking for money and using drugs. The man at the front desk couldn't tell us what the country code was for Canada for making a phone call. He told us to call the operator. That being said the room was clean and close to union square.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was recommended to stay here from Flight Centre! Don't bother! The hotel is central to Market Street, and public transport which is good. However, within 1 hour of being there I witnessed a drug bust, and a drugged guy stripping in the street outside my window. My room used to be a fire exit, which had a exit sign right above my door. The room is old, and toilet was broken which we had to fix ourselves. The parking was way over priced. It is $30 + $4.50 tax each night. It is not safe to walk around San Francisco! The only good thing about SF was Alcatraz! Glad to leave the city!

Room Tip: Don't get a room with an exit sign over the door! Don't bring a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear KellieJ71,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable opinion of our hotel and our location. Parking is a challenge in San Francisco however, we are delighted to offer a reasonable rate compared to that of hotels in Union Square, Financial District and Fisherman's Wharf that offer parking at a rate in upwards of $62.00 per night.

I am personally sorry that you did enjoy your visit to our wonderful city during your time with us. San Francisco has several different neighborhoods, as with every major metropolitan city, you have your urban areas and areas that are obscenely luxurious. The City, is the melting pot of culture, it is rich in diversity and because of that, it creates that uniqueness that makes San Francisco what it is today. We hope that in the future, you'll reconsider returning to San Francisco to truly absorb the sights, sounds, smells and flavors of an experience, that can only happen in, San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.