We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room but Service Lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shoppers' Package
Ranked #11 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room but Service Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable but for a Four Seasons, the service was definently lacking. The front desk was rude both at check-in and check-out -- the person chatted on the phone while I was waiting to check in (Five Star Service - I think not!)

This is a really big hotel and is used for a number of conferences - so it is very busy and not very personable. The gym is on the 3rd and 4th floor and is actually part of the LA Sports Club which is a nice perk. There is a lap pool but no leisure pool.

Also - internet was NOT free which is surprising considering the rooms are over $500++ a night ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    196
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
146
286
61
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel has the best gym ever, with a sneaky little entrance through a private elevator lobby, and at no charge. Beautiful large room with window seat, and a fabulous bathroom, also very quiet. There was nothing to dislike.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed one night for a conference. Best part was the bed-- very comfortable with great linen and pillows. Also, the bathroom was nice, roomy, and clean. I wish the hair dryer had a longer cord-- it was very short making it very difficult to use. Nice toiletry items in bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This Four Seasons property is located on the lower floors of a high rise building. The lobby of the hotel is on the fourth (maybe fifth) floor, and there's not much charm or character. Granted, there are nice works of wall art everywhere, but there is not the feel of a grand hotel when you enter; rather, it has the feel of an office building and is a little sparse and lacks personality and warmth of a high end property. Defintely appeals to the business traveler; maybe less so for those looking for a romantic getaway.

The check-in went quickly and smoothly with friendly front desk people. Once you get into the elevator and exit on your floor, it does feel like you're in a hotel and not an office building. This is the first inner-city Four Season that I've stayed at, as my other experiences are at Four Season Resort properties. The room is adequately spacious with nice lighting with a number of dimmer switches to mood light the room. The desk area was adequate with enough lighting to do some business work. The bed was very comfortable, and the alarm clock was easy to use with an iPod dock. The TV was a flat screen but the channel changing format using the remote was not as straight forward as I like, and the channel changes with a slight delay - a little annoying. The AC worked very well and was reasonably quiet but not the quietest of hotels that I've stayed at.

The bathroom was a little subpar for a luxury hotel. The source of lighting in the bathroom came solely from overhead. At most luxury hotels, there are additional sconce lighting at about face level from both sides of the mirror so as to prevent shadow effect. There was a lighted vanity mirror to address the slightly low lighting for the bathroom. A nice shower stall with a nice shower head, adequate water pressure, with its own overhead light plus a deep soaking tub were standard. I noticed that the hot water began to diminish while showering in the morning, presumably at the time when many hotel guests are also using hot water. What was rather annoying was that the spacious toilet area seemed to lack adequate ventilation - no need for me to tell you how I could tell.... Also, the bathroom had a two door mirrored entry that was just a little out of the ordinary and maybe a little disasterous if only one door was open and the other closed, making for a tight entry and bumping experience. The towels were thick and satisfactory. The amenity products were Le Occitane, which was the same at the Lana'i Four Seasons but a different variety - I thought the soap at the San Francisco property smelled a little like citronella mosquito repellent. It was totally objectionable but just unique and different. Luckily for me, I brought my own bar of soap that was more neutral just in case. (Note: I've found that some luxury hotels have soaps that smell of strong flowerly perfume or just downright obnoxious.)

The closet was spacious, had very nice hangars with ridges that hold pants on the horizontal bar, and the closet having its own overhead lighting system; it also held an ironing board and iron. An in-room safe, usually found in the closet, was located in the dresser. The blackout curtains were excellent and heavy, helping to insulate the room and keep out stray noise from Market Street. I liked the alcove sitting area next to the window with several throw pillows.

Overall, I really enjoyed the comfort of the room. Wish the bathroom had a little more face-level lighting, and in-room coffee and tea facilities. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

This is a very nice hotel, the rooms are spacious and very well equipped as you would expect from the four seasons - nice big bathrooms, comfortable beds, nice window seating area overlooking Market St. Very convenient for the Union Square area directly across the street.

Very clean and well maintained - big health club free to guests, open to other members but I will take a well equipped healthclub that is open to a limited one that isn't any day.

My small nit-pick is that the lobby and common areas are somewhat soul-less and there is an almost anonymous feel to it.

Overall though you can't go wrong here -

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Four Seasons SF lives up to the hotel's reputation: perfect service, immaculate rooms, and great location.

Great room, spacious, awesome washroom, and super view.

I will stay again 100%.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

If you stay here, you have access to the Sports Club LA gym right next door to the hotel. And, if you like to workout, this is the place to stay. Sports Club LA is the nicest gym I've ever seen. There are more cardio and weight machines that I could count. And, the heated saline pool is wonderful. My beau and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is nice, but not as fab as I expected/hoped. The bathroom was the best part of our room with a nice soaking tub and seperate shower. But the room looked like it could have been in a Marriott, Hilton or even Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.