We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL in every respect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Fresno, California
1 review
“FANTASTIC HOTEL in every respect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

first class hotel. great location and extremely friendly staff. clean and neat in every respect. fantastic complementary coffee and tea in morning. hotel car service is a nice touch. will return and recommend to many friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we get to have you again soon!

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    173
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
117
247
57
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I had a nice weekend stay at the Four Season San Francisco.

I agree with the previous review that the staff was friendly and attentive and the hotel lobby (on the 5th floor) was pretty. The room itself was a little dated. It was very comfortable, (awesome pillows) but it didn't feel like that luxurious Four Seasons feel. I think it just felt dated. The doormen were fabulous with getting cabs and telling the driver the exact address of the restaurants we were going to.

We had a nice stay, however. We chose the Four Season because of a promotion where the third night was free. That's what clinched the deal for us. And the view was nice, though it's nicer at the Fairmont or the Mark Hopkins on Nob Hill, or the Grand Hyatt in Union Square, or the ...

The F trolleys run right in front of the hotel, although trying to get on one at the Embarcadero on a weekend can be very challenging. They are only $2.00 with free transfers though, and are neat to ride. Once the doorman gives you directions to the parking garage on Stevenson it gets easier to find the car entrance.

Good shopping is just a very short walk away, with a very unique mall with Nordstroms and Bloomies, and Macy's and all the Union Square shops just a few blocks away, Ghirardelli chocolates, Apple Store, and a million others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent downtown location on Market Street very close to Union Square shopping, etc... Friendly, helpful & accommodating staff. Good dining in a city of very good dining, we really enjoyed breakfast here at MKT. Very nicely appointed rooms with all of the amenities. If you are health-conscious and like to work out during your stay you can't do any better than this; the 3 floors do Sports Club LA are in the building and are included in your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! So happy to hear you had the opportunity to try our new restaurant, MKT. Please come back again soon.

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

All I can say is pillows! They have the best! One of the most comfortable beds ever. The hotel is super clean, the staff is very accommodating. You couldn't beat our city view. Quiet yet right in the heart of the market district. We couldn't be happier with our stay!

Room Tip: Spa here too but didn't make it there. Packages may be available?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rooms were smaller than 4 star hotels. Service was excellent. Room service and restaurant was poor and very over priced. Concierge didn't understand my request. Parking was excellent but again over priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall a good stay as the room was comfortable and we enjoyed the view even though it's nothing to talk about.

One thing I found very non FS standard and that is the front desk. I stay mostly at FS hotels in Asia. Maybe that's why. Bad experience on check-in at night after long haul flight, felt not very welcome there. On check out the bill was screwed up. Charged me higher room rate than agreed.

Not impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at a Four Season San Francisco. The staff was friendly and attentive and the hotel lobby (on the 5th floor) certainly had a luxurious feel to it, especially the bathrooms by the reception area! The only thing that prevented me from giving this a 5 star review is the fact that the room itself was a little underwhelming. It was clean with a comfortable bed, but it just didn't feel that luxurious. I mean, this is that Four Seasons after all! I think it just felt a little dated. We also had breakfast at the hotel on the last day. The restaurant was undergoing some renovations but the atmosphere was still great with the service you'd expect at a high end dining establishment. The food itself was good as you could tell it was made with the highest quality ingredients. I had the eggs benedict with dungeness crab. The eggs were poached to perfection and the crab was certainly fresh, but I wasn't blown away by the flavor. Overall we had a great stay, and we actually booked the Four Season because of a promotion where the third night was free. If it weren't for the deal, I'd probably he a bit more critical in the review. But it worked out great for us as the location was very convenient for things that we wanted to do. There's a BART and MUNI station within a block and plenty of buses in the area too. Although we did have a little bit a problem getting a cab on Friday night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.