We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet on Market Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
State College, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“peace and quiet on Market Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the best things about the Four Seasons chain is that virtually all their properties manage to provide a sense of solitude and privacy for travelers, even when the hotel is at full occupancy. The Four Seasons San Francisco is no exception. This hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the center of a very busy part of a very busy city. You are only two blocks from Union Square, and an easy 20 minute walk to the Embarcadero. It's true the entrance is a bit strange, and I missed some of the bonuses of other hotels- like the free tea service near the workout facilities, and bowls of apples left out in the evenings, but the service (particularly room service) was first rate and my room absolutely lovely. Although I was on the top floor of the hotel my view wasn't all that amazing, but very nice. The real reason to stay here is for peace and quiet. Its a very tranquil space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    183
    50
    21
    10
See reviews for
133
264
59
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Four Seasons is obviously a great brand, and it works very well in most places. At the end of the day, this San Francisco version just felt a little too generic and corporate even for a Four Seasons.....and it made me a little nuts that we were paying over $600/day for a standard room and they charged and $20/day (inc tax) for wifi! I mean, come on! Wifi should be an automatic amenity in first class hotels now, and especially ones as business-oriented and corporate as this one. Sticking it on as an extra just felt churlish and unnecessary.

The good part: a truly fantastic bed, with a featherlight duvet instead of sheets; a padded wall behind the headboard (a noise insulator?) and the best blackout shades I've ever seen, all ensuring the sleep of the gods. (That alone might have been worth the $600/day for these two exhausted travelers.) A spacious, well-lit bathroom with decent tub as well as shower. A wonderful concierge who were very helpful and creative in suggesting driving itineraries, routes for street cars, etc etc. And the location for business -- we had a meeting at Moscone -- couldn't have been better even though Downtown SF is not the most scenic part of the city (and had we been there strictly for pleasure we would have stayed up on Nob Hill, no question.)

The not so good: despite the great bed and the quiet sleep, the room overall felt a tad worn. Everything was various shades of beige, but one couldn't tell that the carpet was quite clean....were those stains or just shadows? When we first arrived very late after an after work flight from the east coast, we weren't sure but something didn't quite smell right. Smoke? Mustiness? Just not.... 'fresh." Had it not been two am "our time" we would have complained and asked for a switch, but we were so exhausted we went to bed and didn't notice it the next morning. Finally, while the bathroom was spacious enough the towels were terrible -- rough, thin, faded. Not at all the quality one expects at a five-star hotel.

We had some light room service -- a bowl of soup, some oatmeal, nothing much -- which was all prompt and fine, if extremely expensive. Never saw the bar -- it was under construction -- and poked our head in the restaurant, which looked airy and elegant. But honestly with all the amazing restaurants in San Francisco it wouldn't have occurred to us to take a major meal at the Four Seasons, especially with those prices, so we can't comment on the food.

All in all a competent, comfortable stay, well-located for our business needs, and the staff was mostly wonderful. But for the big rack rate (and our company paid for only half the room, capping at $300, so we were out of pocket 50%) it should have been better than it was. If we had another meeting at Moscone and could get a lower rack-rate we would return, but otherwise there are better places to spend less money in San Francisco.

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Four Seasons in San Francisco is a good as it gets. As always, wonderful staff but also a fantastic room that was beautifully appointed. The bathroom and emenities just wonderful. The restaurant was particularly good - wonderful selection, terrific ambience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in the Four Seasons SF this past weekend with my mom. The hotel itself is lovely and in a perfect location. Even though the hotel is on a main street, you would never know it-- our room was quiet and lovely.

The staff is friendly and attentive. I found the front desk employees, the bellmen and concierges incredibly helpful. I really liked the fact that I was able to use the Sports Club LA to work out. All around, 5 star stay at the Four Seasons... I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed the weekend of 4/12/13 to 4/14/13. We paid $325 per night (plus tax and parking) for a standard room. Room was very clean. Bed was about as comfortable a bed as I have ever slept in. LOVED the blackout curtains - kept the room perfectly dark and quiet. Bathroom had a separate shower and soaking tub. This made for a nice soak in the morning while reading the paper.

But the star of the show is service. I made several different requests of staff during our stay all were handle deftly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the Giants home opening weekend. It had been ten years since our last stay, but it seems to have improved a lot since then. Service was superb! The front desk and bell staff were very attentive and seemed to anticipate most of our needs before we conveyed them. We really enjoyed coming back to a clean room as it was always serviced promptly each day. Four Seasons SF was more impressive this time... We plan to stay here again during our next visit to the Bay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bedroom suite if you can... It is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent serivice, terrific hotel for proximity and beauty! The staff was always readily available, willing and able to provide the level of experience to be expected! The close proximity to many of the local area attractions makes this hotel a first choice for a beautiful San Francisco experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.