We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #11 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I staed for 3 nights for business and 2 additional with my husband in November for our birthdays. The check in and check out process were both easy and friendly. In fact all of the staff was very politw and helpful. The doorman even gave us an umbrella as we left one day which was great because we had not packed one. All the little extra touches were thought of by staff throughout the visit. The hotel is very centrally located to Union Square, Financial District and Soma. It was also easy access for public transit including the cable cars. It was also very nice to have a large public gym located in the building. Not just your avaerage hotel gym. We would absolutely stay again if we could get for the same price. My only 2 cons are the elevators are lighting. You have to get off the elevators on the fourth floor where check in and the restaurant is and walk around to another set to get up to the rooms. The lighting in the rooms is adequate but could be improved with seperate lighting switches at the entry. Perhaps installing a dimmer on the bedside lighting as well. Nothing major just would help with convenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future." Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    180
    49
    20
    7
See reviews for
128
257
58
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Four Seasons in San Francisco is exactly what you expect from a Four Season hotel. The rooms are large, well-furnished and spotless. The bathrooms are gleaming marble with a separate shower, soaking tub, toilet room and double sinks. Service is always attentive and very pleasant. The exercise facilities are well equipped, modern and clean. The location is very good if you are attending an event at the convention center and out the front door on Market Street are several coffee shops and convenience stores.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.”
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least twenty times and have never had a bad experience. The rooms are comfortable spacious and quiet. The temperature control is excellent. It is an all around wonderful place to stay. I also love the bar in the lobby.

Room Tip: I am not sure their are any bad rooms in this hotel. The executive suites are a good value for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps after the restaurant and bar relaunch in 2013!" Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Yes, the four seasons provides excellent service, from bell hop to room service... No doubt about that. But if "ambiance" is what you're looking for, this hotel is not going to meet the mark. The entrance and lobby are on different floors, both are unwelcoming, dark and gloomy, devoid of any distinguishing features or plant life.
My room was big and very comfortable, relatively well sound-proofed, great bed. The bathroom was also large, well appointed with a marvellous shower. One slight negative aspect was the drain smell from the wash basin. The other bigger downside was the wifi. I needed to connect to a number of conference calls at odd times. It was impossible to stay connected for more than 5 minutes before the signal dropped, even with their high speed option. Very annoying.
For business, I would probably go back, although the lousy wifi was a huge handicap. But frankly, for the price, I would rather find somewhere with more character.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
“We are sorry to hear that your experience didn't match your expectations of our hotel. Please feel free to contact us if you like to discuss the details of your stay further.” Imke Gahrmann, Assistant Director of Rooms, 415-633-3495
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at many hotels in SF and the Four Seasons is the overwhelming best. Service is terrific, where they think of all the details. At arrival the Doorman lets the Front Desk know that I arrived and they are expecting me. That rooms are spacious, luxurious, and quite. It's amazing that I couldn't hear any street noise even if the hotel is on Market St. Love that they polish your shoes overnight. Easy to get to any part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. I will let the Doorman and Front Desk know they are doing a great job!”
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons San Francisco during the last week of September. It was a great location that was close to Union Square. The property was beautiful from the lobby to the Sports Club LA Boston, to the restaurant.
We had made the reservation through hotels.com and I had to add on an extra day/reservation with hotels.com, and I was worried that we might have to change rooms on our last night but the reservation at the front desk was made seamless thanks the excellent staff at the front desk. I was very relieved that although I hadn’t booked the room through the hotel directly, they still gave me the same Four Seasons welcome and we were given a nice hotel room.

As a tip to those who haven't stayed in San Francisco, traffic is a nightmare so don't rent a rental car. We rented a car and left it in the garage the entire time until we left for Napa and the valet parking at the hotel is pricey.

And it is tricky to find the correct entrance for the hotel. The Market street entrance is only for pedestrians or when you take a taxi. When you first arrive you have enter from Stevenson, off of 3rd Ave.

The room was very dry and since we’re from the summer in the East Coast, I think I’m used to more humidity in the air. After having a rough night’s sleep I called housekeeping and asked for a humidifier at about 4 or 5am. Housekeeping came within minutes to bring in and setup the humidifier. I was really impressed.

My husband and I really liked taking advantage of the Sports Club LA that was in hotel. I loved the ballet class taught my Michael. It was one my highlights of the stay.

The Spa and Salon at the Sports Club LA were excellent too.
We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and both were excellent in food and service.

The staff is truly what makes the Four Seasons what it is: from the valets and doormen, to front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping they all make you feel like you’re someone special since you’re a guest with them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. I especially like that you were able to utilize many of the amenities available to our guests!" Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed September 15th for 3 nights in a Deluxe category room. The hotel has a great location just two blocks off Union Square, two blocks from the Westfield shopping center, and is central to many shops and restaurants and the BART. The staff at the hotel; Concierge, housekeeping, restaurant and front desk, were all outstanding and friendly, and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel has modern decor and definitely has a luxurious feel to it. The rooms are spacious and very quiet AND the windows do open! Wonderful if you don't like to be trapped in an air-conditioned bubble. Yes, the room rates are high, BUT this is a 5 star deluxe hotel, and in my opinion you do get your money's worth. The gym attached to the hotel is huge, and over 2 floors, with full size swimming pool, indoor basketball court, and plenty of PT on hand to help. There is also a Spa but we didn't have time to use this. Entry to the gym is complimentary for hotel guests. They had a chocolate birthday cake waiting in the room for our arrival which was a very nice surprise too. We experienced no problems during our stay, and found this Four Seasons hotel to be wonderful. I am a very critical traveller and thoroughly enjoyed my stay! On previous visits to SFO I have stayed at The Palace, Grand Hyatt, Inn at the Opera, Clift, and at the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.”
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.