We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shoppers' Package
Ranked #13 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Smart hotel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Four Seasons, San Francisco on many occasions. My most recent stay was last week. It never fails to deliver. Service is superb, staff attentive and polite and they take care of any little requests you make without fuss. Rooms are very comfortable and the free use of the LA Fitness health club with all its gym and pool facilities on the FS premises is an added bonus. If you are awake in the wrong timezones and in desperate need of caffeine early in the morning, a nice touch is the fresh mini-muffins with great coffee. Great attraction is its proximity to the shopping area and access to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location of our property. We are also glad that you had time to enjoy the Sports Club LA facilities and found them to be a nice amenity.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    195
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
144
284
61
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our favorite hotel in SF was unavailable so we stayed at the Four Seasons, The hotel is sleek and corporate -- the staff is well-trained and friendly. But there is nothing "special" about the hotel.
We were upgraded to a deluxe king but it did not feel large and had no special amenities. Nothing to soften the corporate edge. The public spaces are very nice-- far nicer than the rooms.

Room service was amazingly expensive and sparse. The continental breakfast is truly the bare minimum - had to remember to ask for ice water.

Room Tip: Stay high- it is noisy on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and approriate. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you do at a different location in the city and we are definately open for further feedback if you like. You can reach us under 415 633 3000 and please ask for the manager on duty.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stay with some friends at the Four Seasons in SF and love it. The quality and attention to details was amazing and the service was on par with a FS hotel. The hotel is extremely sleek and minimal which has a real air of sophistication. The location is probably the best in SF with the tram directly at the front door and the famous cable car, within minutes walking

Overall loved the stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also like to thank you for specially highlighting the level of service you received during your stay.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

It was a short business trip to SF, From arriving and checking in to all my further needs the staff at the Four Seasons did everything without fuss.
Comfortable room, great pool, a good selection of food. The service I expect from a proper Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and it is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels. It is beautiful and the staff is excellent. The food in the restaurant and room service is the best I have ever had at a hotel and I stay in hotels 50 nights a year. I highly recommend this hotel and would plan a trip to San Fransisco just to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the service our staff provided. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We've just returned from a very relaxing week at the FS San Francisco. The hotel is the usual FS quality but we were particularly impressed with the location and the truly excellent concierge service. If you want to be close to the shops of Union Square, the cable cars, train to the airport and a short walk to the ferry building then this is your hotel. The concierge was also extremely knowledgable and it was no trouble for her to find out additional information for our more unusual requests. In-room dining and housekeeping also provided excellent service. If you're in San Francisco for more than a day or two I'd recommend the muni multi-day pass which come in 3 or 7 day passes which give you unlimited rides on the cable cars (otherwise v pricey) as well as the v cool but slow f line and the underground. Our favourite days were spent cycling over the GG Bridge (do it) and taking the muni underground to ocean beach, walking in the sea and getting lost in golden gate park across the road. I also enjoyed the spa at Nordstrom in the Westfield shopping centre 2 mins from the hotel and their bistro with a fab view and pasta dishes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had booked the most basic room but still had a fab view (floor 7) on the market street side. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property as well as the city. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I travel regularly around the world for business staying in 5 star hotels and in my view the Four Seasons San Francisco is among the best city hotels in the world both for business people and travelers. It hard to find fault with anything- the location is perfect central and within easy walking distance of the downtown shopping area, great restaurants and other key SF attractions. The facilities include a world class gym and swimming pool, restaurant quality dining and bar (what an amazing take on the humble chicken club!) and sumptuously furnished rooms with every amenity and convenience possible. The legendary Four Seasons service is always there with the SF hotel unique in my view in instilling the same exceptional service culture in every member of staff - you are without exception treated as a special guest by everyone at the hotel. (Thanks to a bike minded member of the concierge team I arranged to do a truly wonderful bike circuit tour of the Bay area/ Presidio/ Golden Gate Park area). The hotel was great value on my corporate rate but even at regular rates is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Market St give a great feel for the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about your most recent experience with us. We are extremely glad to hear that you had such a great time with us. It is nice to see that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities our hotel offers and that you found them to great value to you. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Address: 757 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.