We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Start To A Wonderful Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Plymouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Start To A Wonderful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We experienced a fantastic welcome from the staff from the very moment we stepped in the hotel after a very long flight from the UK. Fortunately for us, as we were honeymooning we were upgraded to a suite but the whole ambience of the hotel was wonderful. The hotel is ideally located, and main attractions are easily reached by either walking, tram or a short cab ride. I can only report positive things about this hotel, and was very sad to leave on the next leg of our journey.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    635
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
689
1,244
130
527
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I am often surprised by how the nicer hotels make children feel unwelcome. I know some kids are noisy and unruly, but for the most part well disciplined children shouldn't be made to feel like they don't belong.
The Omni was the exact opposite. Upon our arrival, we were greeted at the door by a friendly lady who presented little goodie bags to my two boys. Nothing fancy, but one of the toys in there kept my 6 year old son busy for much of our trip. It was a very nice touch. Also the cookies and milk left in our room the first night was very sweet.
The hotel is beautiful, nice clean rooms and has a great staff.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Half of the time I don’t trust a ranking on Trip Advisor. Everyone has a different opinion on what is important: free breakfast, spa services, pool, and parking. But we got a good rate at this hotel for a long weekend and I must say it deserves it’s high ranking. The rooms were very clean. The staff is excellent(I swear they were so polite and sorry when their cleaning carts were in the hall) front desk, bellmen, and front door people helping with the cars. The beds were comfortable, sheets and towels first rate. Big quiet room, except for the trolley car that runs outside—but once the noise was identified did not keep us awake. The other things that were high lights--- NO fluorescent bulbs, an actually 3-way regular light bulb so you could see to read. NO annoying cards asking you to save the planet and the hotel money by not washing your sheets and towels. A small spray starch bottle that came with a charge but it was appreciated. Not having to sign for coffee service. My husband is a member of the Omni club, and it is easy to join and you get some freebies—like newspapers and coffee. The only thing I can complain about is that the room didn’t have wifi—so only one laptop could be used with the modem in the desk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Just want I expect from the Omni! Great service, super location, first class room. A real value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

From the warm greeting when we walked in to the helpfulness of the staff when we left, I felt that this truly is a 4 star hotel. The location is in the business district, 4 blocks from the BART line which we took in from the airport. It is close to cable cars, street cars and buses. We were there to visit the art academy so it was very convenient for that and not far from the Ferry building, China town and some great restaurants. It is very quiet on weekends also, due to office buildings being closed and felt very safe. Our room was spacious, modern and clean, well appointed and nicely decorated. The room temp can be controlled with your own thermostat and the bathroom was modern and spacious. They offered free coffee and newspapers in the bar every morning and fresh fruit and fruit water every afternoon in the lobby. (Also free jelly candies next to the bar). We went to the bar to have drinks and left, thought the drinks were a little pricey ($15 martinis) and went up the street to the Vesuvio, next to the City Lights bookstore. We checked out at 10 and they offered to store our bags since our flight was later in the evening. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is a great location at the corner of Montgomery and California, directly across from the Wells Fargo headquarters. Hotel bar made me a killer Mojito, but it was a bit pricey at $14. Room rate was $200/night.
My colleague was able to get his shirt dry cleaned at 10:00pm after spilling some red wine...he picked it up in the lobby the next morning at 9:00am. I can't think of ever having been able to expect that kind of service before.
Take a taxi to the Embarcadero at night for about $10 each way, there are some great restaurants on the water.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

A great hotel in a great location: it’s only a five minute walk to Chinatown, a five minute walk to the shopping district and about 15 minutes to the ferry building (next to Pier 1). If you’re going further afield there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel and the regular bus service stops can be found within a block. The lobby and reception area of the Omni were modern and tastefully appointed, a theme which was followed through to the bar and restaurant areas. The hotel room itself was spacious, clean and fairly well appointed with nice decor, a modern flat screen LCD TV and cordless phone. The only negative point was that the housekeeping service seemed a little off the pace with drinking glasses not being replaced with clean items and in-room tea & coffee making facilities that were never fully replenished - I lost count how many calls I made downstairs in order to resolve these little niggles. Apart from that, the service given by the rest of the Omni’s staff was first class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.