We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a great hotel right in downtown San Francisco, it is away from the touristy mess of union square but still close enough that you can go shopping if that is what you are after. I love the financial district, it is close to the water, so easily walkable to the ferry terminal. The cable car runs right in front of the hotel and a lot of cafes around to grab a quick coffee in the morning.

The staff at this hotel is great, there were very accommodating with everything asked. The rooms were large and the bathroom was good as well. The only complaint I have is the bedding and mattress could use an update but it wasnt awful, it would have made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    603
    95
    33
    15
See reviews for
648
1174
122
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm afraid, it's true that you get what you pay for and whilst this hotel is very expensive, it really is very special. From the moment that you arrive, all of the staff are incredibly helpful and very friendly.

We stayed on the 16th floor, in a very nicely appointed room of a good size.

The bed has to go down as one of the most comfortable that we've slept in at a hotel. The bathroom is lovely, with a very good shower.

Eating in the hotel is very expensive, especially when you are so close to a lot of very nice places to eat. However, our first morning we had breakfast and it was lovely.

We would recommend going to Specialaties, where you can get a great brekfast, really nice salads and sandwiches for lunch.

Dinner was only okay. Again, service was really good but my steak wasn't as tasty as you expect in the US, where they always seem to be great.

The hotel is located in the financial district but not far to walk to Union Square or Market Place by the bay. Certainly get a Muni ticket so you can jump on buses or trams to get around.

In summary, great hotel in a good location with superb staff.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Full service high quality hotel in the financial district. Nice sized rooms, away from the Union Square tourist mess. Nice sized rooms, friendly, efficient, well trained staff. Very comfortable, large room.

Room Tip: Join the loyalty program for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, Courteous, Convenient, Caring, Comfortable, Close to Chinatown. 5 star rating. Every staff member is helpful, courteous, and serves with a smile. Under great management. Hotel is located in the heart of the financial district close to shopping, good eating places, and San Francisco's major attractions...all within walking distance!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights at the Omni on our short San Francisco Vacation. If we have to sum up our overall experience...It would read AWESOME. Right from check-in to check-out, we think the customer service was fantastic. There were a few instances, where we felt the staff were empowered to take decisions, keeping the "Customer First" principle, which is a rarity these days. Hence a lovely, effortless hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked our trip many months ago as it was part of a delayed honeymoon trip. I'd contacted the Omni to ensure that we would get a decent room because my hubby was skeptical. Well he reckons this is one of the best hotels he has ever stayed in, and he is a hotel snob.

We checked in late, but in our hotel room was a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne and strawberries with chocolate and caramel dipping sauces and nuts and white chocolate (yum!). They also have turn down service so we also had chocolates on our pillows.

Customer service is fantastic. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. We have two more days in the hotel. It is a great location - within walking distance of everything and everywhere we wanted to be.

I like the fact that this hotel has old school charm and decor, which is not to say it is dated. Some people might think it is dated if they are used to staying at the W, but I like that it has wood paneling throughout the lobby. Amenities and everything is modern, and I have no complaints at all.

Room service was also fantastic. We got a burger and fries our first night. It was one of the guest burgers we've ever had. A proper burger on brioche bun and the meat was so juicy, flavorful, and tender - not greasy at all. We can't wait to eat at the restaurant tomorrow night.

Room Tip: We booked our trip via Priceline, and got a room on the 6th floor. Totally fine with us, and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We celebrated our 40th anniversary spending seven wonderful nights here! Being in the Wine & Liquor business we also combined our visit with a really nice business trip going to the Napa and Healdsburg areas which are close by for winery tours and tasting events we had already scheduled before leaving our Gulf Coast home base. The hotel is grand from the moment you step through the doors into the beautifully hand crafted lobby that has fresh real fruit flavored water provided each afternoon for the guests! Every member of the hotel staff from the valet attendants to the doormen, the front desk personnel (kudos to Maggie), to Rosa, in Housekeeping, and her cheerful greeting each morning and especially Mark, the Concierge, who just happens to be a member of the "Les Clefs d'Or Concierge (la clay door) is extremely friendly and truly makes you feel special. Mark is one of the elite concierge professionals with only about 600 in the world. The OMNI, and unwitting guests are very lucky to have at their service someone who can get reservations when none are available or seats to an event that has been sold out months in advance. Basically, if it is legal they can get just about anything anytime anywhere! I tried making dinner reservations, in advance of our trip, at Kokkari's to celebrate our anniversary but nothing was available for any seating during our stay. I called the OMNI and asked for the Concierge four days before we even arrived to inquire about making reservations on my behalf. Mark was on the phone with me and I informed him of our upcoming anniversary stay and my need for the reservation at the restaurant and that I had tried to get any seating but was unable to do so. He verified our stay and questioned me on the specifics of any anniversary arrangements and asked me to give him a few minutes and he would call me back. Less than ten minutes passed and he called informing me that I had 8:00 pm reservations set for Kokkari's. Upon arrival at the OMNI, I asked for Mark but he was already gone as we arrived early evening. Within a few minutes of unpacking and just settling in a knock on the door resulted in champagne and assorted chocolates and nuts being delivered with a card from Mark and the OMNI wishing us a Happy Anniversary! What a wonderful surprise! "Turn down service" followed thereafter. I met Mark the next day to thank him and saw the pair of crossed gold keys on each lapel; the symbol of the exclusive Concierge Society. I congratulated him on his station within the hotel industry and thanked him for taking care of us. So, next time you are at the OMNI San Francisco ask Mark to assist you in making your stay special! Bob's Steak & Chop House at the hotel is a great place to feast whether you want a terrific big breakfast or a sumptuous steak for dinner with outstanding service. Want to sit and relax with great mixed drinks and stout pours then Bob's Bar is the place to go for a perfect end to your day or the start to a great nite! The Omni has a great location with several terrific restaurants such as Barbacco and Tadich Grill within three blocks of the hotel and seven more such as Sauce Belden for late night comfort food and cold beer just one block away at Belden Alley. Want something light in the morning like stuffed croissants and a delicious cappuccino then it's Fida's Cafe less than two blocks away! If it's Chinatown food and shopping for silk pajamas you want then you are just three blocks or so away from wonderful Dim Sum at City View Restaurant or the famous Grant Ave. entrance to Chinatown. Have fun & enjoy!!!

Room Tip: If you are an OMNI Select Guest Member then In-room wifi is free. Free wifi in the lobby and free 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.