We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at the Omni” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Had a great stay at the Omni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Arrived on a Friday night for a weekend trip to find an apartment in San Francisco. About a 20 minute ride from the airport. Doormen were eager to help with bags as needed. Check-in staff were friendly, helped us right away, and offered locations for a late dinner in addition to their on-site restaurant.

The room was clean. Decor was neutral and comfortable. We faced out onto California and could hear traffic once in a while but it was not a big issue. Can be a long walk to the elevator depending on where the room is. If it's an issue just ask for a closer room.

Did not eat in the hotel but they did offer us champagne on Saturday evening as we were waiting for friends in the lobby. Nice touch.

The hotel was close to where we needed to go and an easy walk to Union Square, Market Street, the Ferry Building, and the entire financial district.

We had a good last minute deal but I understand this can be a very expensive hotel. I still think it's worth based on the location, security, and amenities.

Room Tip: Stay away from California Ave side if you must have perfect quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    635
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
689
1,244
130
527
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is extremely nice, well located for access to transportation. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided some of the best customer service we've encountered in our travels. We appreciated being contacted prior to arrival with suggestions such as pre-booking Alcatraz tour. Location is good to walk as it is flat if you are walking towards the water/piers/trams. The trams that run along the waterfront are only $2 and much more convenient than the cable cars at $6. Just watch out for rush hour when all the trams are full. Be prepared as the hotel does charge for every little thing including local phone calls, internet, water in the room ($7.50 a bottle) and the fridge is locked. At the price of the rooms, I would have expected those things to be included so we were a bit disappointed. The in-house restaurant & bar were convenient but we chose to seek out less expensive options for most of our meals. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast twice. $52 for yogurt and fruit and coffee for 2 is pretty pricey. We know noticed lots of people going out to get coffee and breakfast items. A simpler, less expensive breakfast option would be nice or having the fridge empty and open so people could use it for free would be preferred, like many other hotels do. Restaurants nearby were very good but really busy after work hours because of happy hour that was popular and most were closed on Sunday. As long as you were willing to walk a little ways, some smaller more casual restaurants were around. During weekends the area is very quiet compared to the Union Square district and there is no shopping or anything nearby. The closest markets were in China Town or down at the Ferry Building. In order to get a good car rental rate we were forced to pick up the car early and park it at the hotel. We did get a reduced rate for Sat night but had to pay $52 for an additional Sun night. I know parking is expensive in San Francisco but it would be nice to give guests a bit of a break over the whole weekend, at least. We did see quite a few families staying here over the Easter weekend but with the high restaurant costs and having to pay extra for internet, parking etc. I think the hotel is better suited for business travellers with expense accounts and couples/singles with bigger budgets who can get out and around easily to find free internet or restaurants. If you can get a good weekend rate and don't have a car, it can be a great spot for a short visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice hotel as others have said; service a little uneven for solo woman (but I'm frumpy so not surprised). Location is a bit away from mass transit (except for California line cable car which is the only option for California St) so if not using rental car, plan on walking 1-2+ blocks in any direction for buses and 4-5 blocks for BART. Also most local businesses (incl Starbux) do close soon after the offices close, and may be closed Sat/Sun, which is inconvenient if you need a drug store item after 6 pm on Sat. Being on the 16th floor made it very quiet for overnite sleep quality. Room service supplied by Bob's Chophouse which has excellent quality food!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the financial district and walkable to just about anywhere. The staff (from the maid service to the front desk to the doormen) are extremely helpful, nice and attentive. The rooms are clean and spacious. It's nice to come back from an exhausting day of meetings and have so many staff welcome you back to the hotel and ask if you need anything. It's the little things that can make a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from California Street if you are a light sleeper. The cable cars can sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I chose this hotel solely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. This is a very nice hotel in a great location of San Francisco. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and friendly. In addition, they offer fresh fruit, refreshments, and champagne on the weekends, as well as complimentary coffee in the bar area every morning, which was wonderful and what I expect from a high-end hotel of this caliber. I enjoyed the location because it is on the California cable car line, a quick walk to Chinatown and the Embacadero (ferry terminal or Alcatraz pier, etc). Basically, a high quality hotel, with helpful staff, and everything I would expect from this type of property. The first morning we were there, we had breakfast at Bob's, located in the hotel and it was AMAZING - the best breakfast ever. You definitely pay for it, but the food and service are the best. Enjoy San Francisco!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not much to add to previous reviews. Would stay again.

Pro's:
- Location. Very central but quiet
- Lovely room (were upgraded to a signature room)
- Service - very friendly and reliable
- Loyalty program (free wifi and morning beverage)
- Fitness room - good selection of equipment, supply of towels and water

Con's
- Expensive (particularly for food and drinks)
- Hair dryer (pretty useless!)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is a gem. Its location is superb in the financial district but we walked absolutely everywhere! 3 mins to Chinatown, 7 mins to Little Italy and 10 mins to Union Square. Staff were amazing and room size was terrific. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Fran - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.