We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a solid hotel choice. Bit of a splurge for us, but there is no doubting the service and attention to detail in choosing an Omni hotel. We think it's worth it for a short stay. Quiet, quality rooms and friendly staff. We stayed with our little kids on short notice last week and enjoyed coming 'home' at the end of each day... to cookies and milk, no less. Nespresso machines in the room. Iced tea and fresh fruit in the lobby each afternoon. I wanted to thank 'Meg' and everyone else who helped in getting our forgotten passports to the airport in time for our flight. (I guess that would also include the staff at the airport information centre at international departures.) Great San-Fran experience :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,385
    677
    120
    38
    16
See reviews for
748
1,312
143
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice hotel with good staff for the most part. Parking is very expensive, of course, and internet isn't complimentary. Had two $12 Maker's at bar, which weren't done very well. Again, nice place in a convenient location, with very nice and helpful staff. Just missing a couple things I think are fair to expect in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We usually prefer smaller hotels, inns or apartments. But because of location we booked a room at the Omni and could not have been more impressed! We were traveling with two of our children and the milk and cookies every night just bowled them over. The service was the best I have ever had at a large hotel. The concierge was full of personality, nice to my kids, and very helpful. The doormen were exceptional and made us feel so welcome every time we returned. I would recommend the Omni to anyone going to San Francisco. Whatever they are doing in their customer service training is working!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My second stay in 30 proved exceptional thanks to the GM reaching out to me after I shared some issues I had in August. While I was welcomed to return let me be clear I was not offered a free room but an upgrade and a promise this stay would be exceptional. It was. The folks here knew I need some special items for my Son's birthday and the GM took care of everything on advance of my arrival. I highly recommend a premium room to anyone coming here . It's close to everything and the staff was great and as a Starwood's Gold Member I appreciated the free wifi. The lobby and public areas are comfortable and it was a great stay thanks to Simone and her terrific staff. I will come back next
month. It's a fine hotel for business or pleasure and again it's close to everything .



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Omni for an overnight stay on the way home from another event. The America's cup was on at the time, so the place seemed quite busy.Hotel was, as always, friendly and convenient, and quick. Not a cheap stay, but pretty good value all in all. Front door staff are very helpful and friendly -- some of them have been there for many years, as have the bellman. Bobs Steakhouse serves breakfast, but is pretty pricey for what you get, which is to be expected in a city hotel. It is a classy breakfast and no surprise. Not worth walking around to save a couple if bucks, really. Just enjoy it!. A nice hotel, convenient to many attractions, and one I return to many times. Note to management: While the room was tidy and "clean", finding a champagne cork in the arm chair doesn't go along with expectations. A little care needed here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was booked at this hotel for a meeting that took place there. I had the most basic room. It was spacious with a comfortable king size bed, lounge chair, and desk. The bathroom had everything you would expect - toilet, single sink, bath/shower, vanity mirror. There were robes in the closet, hair dryer in the bathroom, alarm clock on the nightstand, minibar, safe, and tv. The minibar was ridiculously expensive so I just went down to the bar, got a drink, and brought it upstairs to my room. The TV was small and old fashioned. The room did not have an ipod docking station. The noise level was high, probably because I was on a low floor. The hotel itself looks a bit dated, but everything was in working order. The food at the conference and at Bob's was excellent. The staff was superb. For the price, I think this place is a great deal. It is not what I would call a luxury hotel but it is acceptable for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel because it is located within walking distance of a San Francisco client. The hotel is lovely - the lobby has an old-world, grand and elegant feel. My room was the size of a standard hotel room, but well appointed with the nicest bath towels I think I have ever had in a hotel! The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient.

My only issue had to do with the internet service. On the second night I was there, it was extraordinarily slow. When I called the front desk to ask if there was a problem, they were not able to respond or to help, nor did they try - they immediately connected me to the internet provider's "help desk" - which was clearly not at the hotel. The "help desk" wanted to run through a normal troubleshooting list that included looking at how my PC was configured. I knew that wasn't the issue - my PC had been working fine until just before this happened. I suspect they just needed to reset the router. I would suggest that the hotel have some ability to troubleshoot internally - rather than just referring guests to the third party provider. It was frustrating and, ultimately, didn't help.

I would certainly recommend this hotel - and can understand why it is rated as the #3 hotel in San Francisco!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Amex, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.