We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the pool??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Where's the pool??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Its a nice hotel but contrary to the reviews, its not fantastic. Someone rated their pool as above average. Foolishly, I didn't look into it as i actually wanted to use the pool. I was surprised on arrival to find out that they don't actually have one!!!
The staff are very friendly but that is usually a standard american thing in a high star hotel. The rooms are all nice and reasonably spacious for the price although a little stuffy for some reason (maybe the weather) but again, not all that fantastic as the reviews seem to suggest. The location is great in the center of town, the breakfast and the food average, the bed was okay, not fantastic. I've definitely stayed in better

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too average
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    635
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
689
1,244
130
527
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We arrived very late after a long drive from Vegas as part of our honeymoon tour of CA, and were greeted by exceptionally friendly helpful staff, unbelievably clean rooms, excellent facilities...need I go on. An absolute must for an extra special city visit.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I was in San Francisco on business and stayed at the Omni for four nights this June. EVERYTHING is great about this hotel! The staff are extremely friendly, and will go out of their way to help you with ANYTHING you could possibly need. I've stayed at other hotels in San Francisco and there are hotels that more modern / chique, but none of them beat the Omni - It's a classic.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Intermittent room internet service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on a recent visit to san franciso and would highly recommend it, from start to finish the service was impeccable and i could not find one thing to fault. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly porter and directed to the front desk where again the welcome was great (but not overwhelming) and check in was quick and efficent. Room was excellent - very comfortable with a huge bed and excellent bathroom (good shower). For me it was the little touches that made the stay so enjoyable - the chocolates, the ice bucket that was refilled every night, the weather forecast by the phone; as well as the attentive and friendly staff. As we spent most of our time sightseeing we only ate room service one night and never ate in the restauarant - both restauarant and bar looked very nice though. Location is great - walking distance from all the sights though can be a bit quiet on a sunday. If im in san francisco again this is where ill be staying!

  • Liked — Impeccable and friendly service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Omni hotel after reading all the reviews on Trip advisor. I have to say that they were true! The Omni hotel is a great place with a very friendly staff. We arrived early (10:30a) and a room was waiting for us. After signing up on their website, we ended up with coffee and juice delivered to our room every morning. We also had breakfast included. The restaurant was great. The staff there welcomed us each morninng and we had the choice as far as menu. I had steak and eggs one morning. Just fabulous! The meat was very tender.
We will definetely stay there again. Perfect location as well.

  • Liked — The staff was amazing!
  • Disliked — N/A...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We had a wonderful experience. I am 40ish and my daughter, 20. We went to SF for girl's trip. Omni staff was absolutely excellent. Genuine smiles, friendliest & kindest staff..even our housekeeper left hand-written notes daily. Clean & beautiful lobby, halls, & room. Special touches everywhere. Every single person we came in contact with was genuine and helpful. Great location two blocks from Chinatown. Paid $209 one night and $199 the other. Room size was also good for price paid.

  • Liked — the staff & personal touches
  • Disliked — interruption of internet service
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

As always, I checked TripAdvisor first when planning my first trip to San Francisco and based on the No. 1 rating of the Omni from previous travelers, I decided to give it a shot. Was I ever impressed. It is a lovely hotel in the Financial District of the city and very near Union Square. Not only are the common areas and the room truly beautiful, each member of the staff that I encountered was extremely courteous and sincerely willing to ensure that I was having a great time. I plan to return to see more of the city and will definitely be staying at the Omni.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and very luxurious.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.