We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Austin, TX - Go Horns!
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Liked the hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited SF with 7 and 11 year olds. Stayed in room on 12th floor looking over California Street. The room was spacious and clean. Double beds were comfortable, but wish they were queens instead. (My how the kids have grown!) Only issue with the room was that street noises were very loud. You can hear every cable car that passes by, car horns, sirens, etc.

Service was very good -- from bell boys, valet attendants, front desk, house keeping, wait staff in restaurant -- all were excellent. We never had to open front door.

Location was convenient ... it was within walking distance to Italian restaurants, Yank Sing for dimsum, and many restaurants in ferry building and embarcadero center. Easy to catch cable car to Market St and then walk to the Exploratorium, then hop on F electric car to go up and down the Embarcadero street. Only bad thing is it is peak tourist season so the cable cars and buses are very crowded.

Anyway, back to the hotel ... Bob's Chop House has standard selection for kids. The chicken tenders were good and you can get a fruit bowl instead of fries. The kids portions are large.

Valet is $32 on weekends and $52 on weekdays with unlimited in/out.

We enjoyed our stay here and would consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,023
    581
    89
    32
    15
See reviews for
627
1135
122
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here on a trip round California and it was the first hotel I stayed in, and so far the best! The staff are all very friendly and always there it give advise on things to see and do!
Every night we got milk and cookies delivered to our room which was very nice and the cookies were a lovely treat! As well in the hotel lobby there was ice tea or fruit juice to drink along with fruit to eat whenever!
The rooms were very clean and the position of the hotel was perfect, right opposite a cable car stop and only a couple of blocks away from China town which is defiantly worth visiting! Also when we asked if there was anywhere nice for breakfast there advise was to go to a lovely cafe opposite the hotel which was just what we wanted and not to expensive either! Also this hotel is very good for children, there are some quite strange areas in San Francisco and this definitely isn't one, however it is quite a business mans hotel as it is in the middle of the finical district, but a short cable car ride to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square!
All round I had a lovely stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel and would easily stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Consistently great hotel. Staff is attentive, friendly and very helpful. Room are quiet and nice sized. Bathroom amenities are first class. Location is ideal, close enough to attractions but far enough away so quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Omni San Francisco for 6 days got my 65th birthday celebration. All Zi can say is you hot to try if to believe it. It is REALLY NICE. The atmosphere is friendly, room service is great and house keeping threats you like they are hour best friend. Please meet Lex the concierge he is so helpful with guiding you to the best places and restaurants, he was kind and patient in helping you discover San Francisco and he has do much local history . My housekeeper Yi was not harassing just warm and friendly to your every need. The Omni is really warm and friendly and I have thoroughly recommended it. It is the hotel to say when you need privacy but not forgotten. They even give you a city your in your room package do check it out, it's downtown yet In walking distance to a lot of places. The Omni exceeded my expectations. Lex the Concierge will be your best friend on your amazing vacation. I am Omni sold, ms bucker stayed 7/19-25/2013

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at Omni with small kids. A good experience but from a family perspective, not great, just nothing special

Pros:
- good location between Chinatown and the Financial District, but a bit more distant from Union Square and the true inner city. On weekends, area is a bit empty
- comfortable rooms with everything one needs, although the design is a bit outdated and dark
- good restaurant with standard kids menu
- kind and responsive service

Cons:
- the bed is too soft, making my back hurt
- no pool or any area available for kids
- smallish bathtub

All-in-all, can be great for business due to location, but for families, alternatives should be considered

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

You can not beat the location, facilities and friendly staff at the Omni. It is a great spot for family stays and staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay there next time in SF. Location is excellent and easy walk to key areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We love the room. It's not very spacious, but standard. The beds comfy and the sheets clean. The furniture and chairs also clean. I love the fine details that make us feel at home. The door, the wallpaper, the fittings. Very classy.
The bathroom is beautifully designed. Quite spacious, too. Once again, we love the details.
Most of all, the hallways does not smell like a hotel. It smells like lavender and stuff. Just like a home that is well taken care of.
Five stars.
Just please don't get overpriced, because we'd love to come back again!
Oh, locationwise is of course very central. Easy to get food.
But then in SF it is very easy to order in or walk out and find meals. No problem. We love the quietness of CBD area because we stayed there during the weekend.
Thank you, OMNI SF!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.