We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #3 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
work
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“San Francisco Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far one of the top hotels we have visited on vacation.
Omni was top notch in all aspects. Located in the upscale business district, a bit away from the tourist rif-raff. Still within walking distance of the Wharf and Alcatraz. Staff was top notch. Couldn't have done anything more to make us feel welcome. Lex the Conceriege was the best. Recommended great restaurants to eat and set us up with amazing tours. Marlon was also tops with his service provided. Rooms were spacious and very very clean. Turn down service was very nice each nite. Would highly recommend the visit and will be returning the next time we travel to SF. Ate at the house restaurant which had some great steak choices. Glad we listened to Lex our first nite in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room with views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,936
    558
    86
    31
    17
See reviews for
577
1098
119
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time at this hotel but would definitely return. My original concern was that being in the financial district it wouldn't be convenient. Not so. One of the cable cars ran directly in front of the hotel and there was lots to see and do within walking distance. That was on top of the hotel experience itself. Beautiful property with excellent service. Beautiful lobby with wonderful restaurant and bar. The room was nicely appointed and very quiet. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for their guests and definitely made you feel comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: Althought we had no problem with noise a higher floor might have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly. I felt welcome and valued at their hotel. The lobby was beautiful and the doormen were awesome as well as the staff behind the desk. The hotel was located close to everything. Walking distance to anything you could want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Yes it is a business hotel but I felt more than welcome. Try the steak in the restaurant hotel - best in the city. The room was beautiful. Staff were very helpful. The Belgian waffles were unforgettable. It was an all-round positive experience. It would be my first choice in San Francisco. The position of the hotel is perfect - a few blocks away from the tourist hoardes at Union Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

my husband and I and another couple stayed at the Omni 2 weeks ago. we both were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversaries and were treated liKe VIPs. everyone was very attentive especially Marlon the doorman who my husband saw every morning in the early hours when he was up. really all of the staff everyone behind the front desk was very knowledgeable and always greeted you with a smile and helpEd you in any way they could.We even had an iced bottle of champagne and strawberries with chocolate waiting for us after a long day of sightseeing. we would definitely revisit the Omni again. Carlson/Berlett Group

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Not the cheapest, but not the most expensive either. A clean place and the help was top notch.

Desk staff was great. Daryl, a door man here was SUPER helpful and very friendly. Have gave us some advise on spots to eat, ways around traffic (vice president was in town), what to avoid and where to go. He honestly made the entire trip.

The restaurant in the hotel, Bobs steaks and chops, was a phenomenal meal--but service was substandard. Not what I expect when I am paying $60 for a steak. Food was great, but like I said, service there stunk.

There were 3 Starbucks within 2 or 3 blocks, but they are closed Saturday and Sunday (middle of tech financial district). Good shopping 3 blocks up, not far from Union Square...a great place to stay and if you see Daryl...tell him Jersey Mike said hello!

Keep a good eye on your bill if you eat at Bob's or have drinks at the bar and charge them back to your room. They tried charging the room service fees (in this case over $200 during the trip) on the "eat in" purchases there. If I didn't pick up on it--they would have got it.

Over all, a total A+ of a hotel. The omni delivers in San Fran as well. Great spot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Director of Sales at Omni San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi XmasBaby125,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the hotel! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the Omni San Francisco but am saddened to hear that your experience at Bob's Steak & Chop House wasn't as good as it should have been. I am very interested in some additional feedback, if you have a moment, as we take our guests' comments extremely seriously. I can assure you that we will take your feedback and improve from it. If you have a moment, I can be reached directly at wjcoale@omnihotels.com.
Thank you for staying with us! I hope that we have a chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon!
Sincerely,
Wendy Coale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our stay at the Omni was perfect from reservation to checkout. The person taking the reservation was professional and gracious giving us helpful advice, the on-line check-in was quick and efficient, our dog welcomed, and room clean and nicely appointed. We walked to a Giants game at AT&T Park, walked to dinner in Chinatown, and the next day walked to Golden Gate Park (took cab back to hotel as it was a fairly long walk). While at the game our dog stayed at K9 Playtime doggie day care which was close to the baseball park. It was the perfect place to stay with two college age children and our dog. There was plenty to keep us all busy with the central location. This is our first Omni visit but would certainly stay again if in San Francisco and will now check out their other locations. It was a surprising value considering the location and room amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.