We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Omni during our stay in San Francisco. Beautiful hotel and rooms, great location. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Starbucks coffee available in the lobby every morning. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    635
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
690
1,246
130
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our first trip from the East Coast to San Francisco and we loved this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Yosemite National Park. The staff was excellent and so helpful - you never felt like you were bothering them. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Location was good - trolley car right outside our door, cabs were readily available, walking distance to Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf (as long as you enjoy a nice long walk). Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again if we return to the area. Cons - breakfast was quite expensive - but seemed in line with other restaurants in the area. Tried to get dinner later one evening - 9:30pm - had a hard time getting someone to help us and it took a really long time. Overall, great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a beyond wonderful experience at the Omni. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Lex is amazing!! Gave us excellent advice on what to do around the city and offered lots of interesting historical info about the city and each neighborhood. The rooms were clean and cozy. When I come back to SF, this will undoubtably be the place I stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a great hotel. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we stayed here for 4 nights (Tue - Sat). The hotel is very nice, very central, very clean, and we really liked the area.

Pros:
- very nice and clean rooms
- nice area just a few blocks to Union Square, Post Street etc. Note however that this is the financial district and the place practically dies on weekends. It absolutely worked for us but if you want some buzz when you step out, you might reconsider staying during the weekend
- very friendly staff and customer service. The lady at the front desk - Yulia - even gave me a vase and a few bottles of water, so that my wedding bouquet would survive our honeymoon down the coast.

Cons:
- internet is not included and must be purchased for USD 20 each day. I never understood this policy as other hotels we had looked into (like the Drisco) offered complementary WIFI and these days it should be pretty much standard
- no breakfast, but there are tons of breakfast places nearby (you need to walk a few blocks further though on Saturdays and Sundays)
- I made a couple of calls within California to secure bookings for the following days. Previously, I had not been charged at other hotels during our 3 weeks West Coast Trip for calls within the same state let alone within the same city, but I got charged an outrageous amount for a call to Big Sur that took literally a minute at the very most (USD 10 if I remember correctly), and calls within San Francisco are 0.95 USD each. It does not say so anywhere visibly and I was shocked by my USD 160 bill upon check out. The hotel was, however, very accommodating and reduced the bill by half. Nonetheless, this is something to bear in mind and to display more prominently next to the phone.

All in all we look forward to visiting again :)

Room Tip: The hotel's not really known for views. We were perfectly happy with the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in all respects. You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk through the door. The staff here is truly exceptional. They answered every question we had and helped us get around. One morning we couldn't find breakfast anywhere because it was a holiday and everything was closed and they called around looking for an open cafe (rather than simply telling is we had to eat in their majorly overpriced restaurant).

Our room was decent sized and clew with a very comfortable bed. We weren't crazy about the view though. We just faced the back courtyard of an office building. It was reasonably quiet although we did hear the clang of the cable car.

Location is fairly convenient. The Ferry Building is about 10 minutes away on foot and you can walk to Pier 39 and the Alcatraz Ferry in about 20 minutes. 30 minutes will get you to Fisherman's Wharf. Chinatown is just a couple blocks away.

If I ever return to San Francisco I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel! I tagged along with my husband on a week long business trip. Location is amazing. Easy walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, and The Ferry Building. Took muni-transit everywhere else. The 3-day or 7-day pass is a bargain. 7-Day is $28 and included the cable cars. Cable cars are $6 per trip otherwise and the buses are $2 per trip.

Whom ever is in charge of the hiring/and or training of the Omni employees deserves major kudos! Every single person we came in contact with, expressed their desire through their actions to make our life easier and our stay more pleasant. A few examples: We got tickets for the Giants last minute via stubhub and needed to print out our tickets. The front desk printed our tickets for us. Also, there is ice tea in the lobby....one day we were offered champagne instead!! My birthday was during our stay, and I was surprised to find 2 pieces of chocolate cake and a bottle of wine with Happy Birthday wishes in our room. Everyone from the bell staff, housekeeping, front desk, doormen, and concierge were 100% completely friendly, attentive, and wonderful.

Room Tip: Although we were on a high floor, I was a tad disappointed in our lack of view. Upon looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel was great, very clean and excellent service. What I liked most was the location since it was near BART stations and honestly it wasn't too much of a walking distance from a lot of attractions. We stayed here for SF part of our honeymoon trip and when they found out they sent us complimentary chocolate covered strawberries which was a nice added touch! The only downside was that it was like a ghost town during the weekend. I think it could have been a rare situation since it was labor day weekend so considering its in the financial district none of the office buildings had any activity but even all of the coffee shops were closed! I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.