We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a slow-burner kind of love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a slow-burner kind of love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels that wow me when I walk in, but that swept-away feeling generally fades as I get to know the ups and downs of that particular hotel.

When I walked into the OMNI San Francisco, I did not realize that I was about to experience that exceptional 'slow burner' kind of love. It was only as the days went by (we stayed for 6) that I began to fully appreciate how great this hotel really is.

Unlike many hotels that concentrate their energy on a glitzy entrance or promoting some certain aspect of their service, this hotel puts your genuine comfort front and center every step of the way. When you walk in the main doors, they are opened for you with a casual joke or fun banter, and they remember you. When you approach the front desk, there is never a line up and they happily and quickly resolve whatever you want or need.

The bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in (double pillow-top mattress!!), the room is spacious and well set-up, the internet works perfectly, the morning coffee delivery is delicious and the newspaper a nice touch, the cleaning staff are friendly and effective (for example, when they noticed we had a bottle of wine on our desk, we saw that they filled our ice bucket).

I know these just sound like little things, but really they added up to a remarkably comfortable and lovely experience at this hotel. At every single step of the way, staff were extremely effective and friendly to deal with. All the hotel furnishings and products were high quality and pleasant to use.

The financial district is not the most vibrant part of San Francisco to stay in, but we were at a conference so it was great for us.

GREAT JOB Omni staff team, you're incredible. We really enjoyed our stay and we'll be back.

Lise Palmer and Dave Waddington

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,213
    634
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
689
1,243
130
526
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel are the staff are excellent, totally professional and helpful from the check in to the housekeeping who always greeted us with a smile and a good wish.

The public areas are nice too, in an old fashioned opulent kind of way.

I found the rooms didn't quote live up to the rest of the hotel, although clean and nicely furnished they where a little on the small side and the decor seemed a bit dated for the price paid.

The location was good, close to cable cars and other transport but as its a business area it gets a little quiet on weekends, lots of places shut, especially on Sunday, but Union Square is a short walk away.

I'd definitely stay again if the rate was right but would also look at similar properties.

Room Tip: Join the rewards program for free wifi and morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This stay was pleasant from the warm and friendly welcome the to oh to soon reluctant goodbye. The location of the hotel is great with many amenties in the immedate surroundings and within walking distance. Easy access via many means of public transportation including the Market Street cable car and only 4 blocks from the BART station which runs directly to and from the airport. The general condition of the hotel is excellent from the impressive lobby to the spacious, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for leisure. I really liked the location of this Omni as well as the decor. They have beautiful chandeliers and fresh flower arrangements. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. I walked around quite a bit and took a cab other times. The staff is very accommodating - from desk to valet. The attached Bob's Steak & Chop House is conveniently located in the hotel & is very delicious. I had steak PLUS the most ginormous lobster tail ever! It was $70 - yowza!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Flew into San Francisco and stayed one night before heading to Napa Valley. Very courteous staff met us at the curb and we went straight to our room on the 16th floor. Superior room and an extremely comfortable bed. We were out at 6 am with smiles and thank yous from the staff. Exactly the experience we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my 3 year old daughter. We were so well looked after. The staff were great, special mention to Darryl for always having a moment for my daughter and making sure she had a kids backpack and to Meg on reception for her help. The room we were allocated was on 16th floor and it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Centrally located for everywhere I wanted to get to, I would happily recommend the Omni for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in September 2011 before heading out to Sonoma and Napa.
Customer service was great, we liked the building as well, the rooms were very spacious.
The location was great, walking distance to many sights we were planning to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.