We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for all, specially the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience for all, specially the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is where you want to stay while visiting San Francisco! The moment we entered, the doorman here immediated befriended my son and set him up with a backpack, with a water cantina, coloring book, crayons and lots of small toys for walking the city. Afternoons, they delivered milk and cookies, my son felt so special! Rooms are great and comfortable, but knowing that the my child wants to live here, tells me that it was a great choice!

Room Tip: A couple of blocks from Chinatown. Ask for their Mercedes Benz to get to the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,385
    677
    120
    38
    16
See reviews for
748
1,312
143
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Omni location is great, a short walk to China town and Union Square, California trolley line is right outside the front door too. Friendly staff. Bobs Steak & Chop House restaurant was fantastic for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

In town for a long weekend (Friday to Monday) to explore and check out possible colleges for high schooler; Omni's staff could not be friendlier, from gracious greeting at check in, to arranging dinner reservations.
The Omni location is great, a short walk to China town and Union Square, California trolley line is right outside the front door too!
Rooms are elegantly comfortable, and the in house Bobs Steak & Chop House restaurant was fantastic for breakfast -- prime steak and eggs delicious!
Only downside we found is parking is problematic; on weekend took advantage of free on street parking, yet not possible during the week and Valet is $50+ a day

Room Tip: High Floors have better views and less street noise To those who want to enjoy FREE WIFI (saving $1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel with good location. We've stayed in SF many many times. Usually on Nob Hill. After staying at the Omni, we'll return on our next visit. The hotel is centrally located to all the sights, Chinatown, Ferry Building, Union Square and Convention Center. It's in the heart of the Financial district. The staff could not have been friendlier from the doormen to the maids. Our room had everything you would expect in a 4 star hotel.

We booked using Priceline "Name your own price" so I cannot compare value to their regular rates. But it was definitely a hotel we will return to on our next visit. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was actually the closest to the elevators on our floor, yet we never heard any noise from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After my bad experience at the OMNI in Providence Rhode Island, I decided that Starwood was the way to go. However, my wife was having an event in San Francisco and talked about staying at the OMNI. We had a choice of Starwood properties, but she wanted to stay at the OMNI. Well, we weren’t disappointed! What a Gem!! The property opened in 2002 and it looks fantastic. The decor is from the 1920 and what a beautiful entrance. The rooms are stunning and the service is impeccable. What a major difference from the OMNI in Providence. We actually was greeted by the FDA with a smile and what a pleasure it was in seeing the agent not chewing gum! The bell carts are all polished, lobby is clean, restrooms extremely clean and staff wanting to provide you 5-Star service. OMNI SF you have made me a believer once again in your Brand!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Business trip stay. Good location in the heart of SF, nice classic property, good quality of facilities, friendly staff, very good food (breakfast and dining).
Only two issues found: WIFI USD 14.95 per day?! Real cost to hotel can vary between few cents or 1-2 dollars per day. Almost all Asian hotels offer WIFI for free. Why this hotel exploits the need of the business traveler to be connected by over charging (= ripoff) 15 dollars per day for WIFI? (rating "poor value" as a signal...)
Staff not following same rules: two colleagues need to prolong their stay and update their room keys (at the same time, next to each other at the reception). One is asked "security questions" (address, credit card details) and to show photo-ID. The other one gets key simply updated, no questions asked....Mistery.
Still, overall good hotel to go back. But do something about that WIFI please!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
If you sign up for our Select Guest program (free to join), your Wi-Fi will be complimentary during your stay. We’ll also deliver a beverage and newspaper to your door each morning. We will review our security question policy for updating room keys with our staff to make sure we keep this process standard for all guests. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

On a recent trip to visit my daughter I returned to the Omni Hotel in downtown San Francisco. I say returned because my first experience there was so possitive. The hotel is well situated and easy to access. It's in the middle of the business district but allows effortless access to the best parts of San Francisco.
My room was excellent and well cared for during my stay.
But, the single standout thing for this property is it's staff. From the front desk and bellman to the housekeeping team and restaurant people, the Omni Hotel clearly bleeds hospitality. People make the difference and the Omnis staff will be sure to get my business when I am in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Amex, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.