We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in Downtown San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend in Downtown San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Every year we stay at the Omni on the weekend after Thanksgiving. It's a wonderful quiet location near the Financial district, and a short walk to Union Square, Chinatown, North Beach, or the Ferry building. The hotel interior is beautiful, clean, with nice touches in the lobby, like apples and tea. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Sign up for the omni loyalty program for free wireless and free morning tea or coffee delivered to you room. Check out Belden Lane (one block south) for cool restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    614
    101
    33
    15
See reviews for
665
1,208
126
500
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I read some reviews and decided to try out the Omni. One review said there was a lot of street noise. We didn't find that to be true. We were there on July 4th so we were ready for noise. There was some but I think there was noise everywhere. Our stay was wonderful. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly and very willing to give us ideas on the best ways to get around and places to see. The entire time we were there we only opened the entrance door once. We were always greeted by friendly doormen coming and going. The rooms were clean and roomy. The Omni was in a great location with a trolley stop just down the street. If I get to return to San Francisco, I will be staying at the Omni!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Omni and we enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and friendly and they were especially nice to our kids. They even gave them a small gift on arrival. It's located in the financial district close to nice restaurants and walking distance to the Embarcadero, China town and Union square. It's not a 4 star hotel but it's very nice and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights here on a first visit in San Francisco, booked online and it's been a dream experience and worth every cent.

Location:
Location is great and in a very safe, clean, convenient and well kept area. There are awesome neighbourhoods to explore right around. The business district is always safe and well lit day and night. An easy 5-15 minute walk to the Ferry building, union square, Chinatown and Little Italy. I didn't take the cable car or Bart but it's a very short work to the trollys and BART at market street which were easy to get around in. I didn't drive and took the supershuttle to and from the hotel, with traffic it was about 40 mins (maybe more for stops), and without it was 20 mins.

I'm glad I wasn't staying in the wharf or union square because the surroundings didn't seem like a tourist trap. I had almost all my meals at Chinatown/North Beach (little Italy) nearby and food was abundantly cheap ($5-15 per meal), many choices of restaurants and menus and very authentic.

Staff and services:
Staff were helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. Check in was and they were helpful in orienting myself around the city and pointing out sights to check out. I needed a late checkout on the last day and they easily accommodated that. Housekeeping and turn down service is great and kept everything in good order. There was a note on arrival and daily memos which was a very personal touch. Definitely sign up to be a Gold member for free on the website for free wifi, morning drink and complimentary pressing/shoe shine.

Wifi is fast and reliable. Simply connect each time loggon on, no need to refresh every few hours. There's apple cider and apples in lobby each day which was great. Bell staff courteous and helpful.

Room amenities:
I stayed in a King room facing California. View was ok, quiet. There's a mini bar but no space for keeping drinks cold (maybe I could have asked, I didn't). Turn down service brings you ice anyway in the evening, which was a great touch. My king bed was great, bed and pillows were spotless and very comfy. Bath was hot and strong, lots of space and everything in good working order. There's a safe, bath robes, lots of hangers, iron and ironing board. Big flat screen TV, writing desk, alarm clock, relaxing chair and footstool. There's a coffee maker and supplies.

Would definitely come back if I can afford it. A definite no brainer for its price category.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here a Friday and Saturday night. As a member of their Select Guest program you get a beverage delivered to your room in the morning and a paper of your choice, free wifi, and other perks that helped to make my stay very enjoyable. It was very nice to have fresh hot coffee, which was very good for hotel coffee, and the Chronicle to read Sunday morning when I awoke.The room was decent sized and clean, with robes and plenty of towels. I didn't pay for an upgraded room so the view from my room was the inside of the block, a roof below and buildings on the other three sides. Check in and check out was very quick and easy, and for that little interaction the front desk staff was very pleasant and courteous. I liked the room and would definitely stay there again and will try other Omni hotels, the wifi was ok.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor in an interior room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What an amazing hotel. The entire staff, from the reception desk to the bell men, were so polite and helpful. The rooms were beautiful. The hotel is walking distance to China Town and many other hot spots. The trolly stop is right in front of the hotel which is very convinient. I recommend joining their free loyalty club. You get the nespaper and coffee every morning and many other perks. My husband and I will be returning to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Location is great if you are planning on using the cable cars.You can Catch it right out front of the hotel. The front desk staff I'd very helpful! Nice hotel and if you travel with children they send up milk and cookies each evening of your stay! Also nice restaurant and bar on property.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.