We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's Fantasy Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Francisco Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Children's Fantasy Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved, loved, loved our stay at the Omni San Francisco from the moment we arrived. The bell hops were so friendly & welcoming. Our 2 children received back packs with toys (explorer type stuff). We had the adjoining room next to the children's fantasy suite, which was adorable and had bunk beds, child sized robes, step stool & rubber duckys in the bathroom, stuffed animals, games, books, toys, a "mini fridge" filled with milk, choc milk & yogurt. The snacks were above the fridge (just high enough to be out of sight of our little ones) and included cereal, skittles, m&ms. The drinks were 50 cents & the snacks $1.00. That was a pleasant surprise. Each afternoon, fresh cookies & milk were also delivered to our room. The kids loved the stay too & it took some coaxing to even get them to leave so we could explore the city. Fantastic stay & highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    636
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
691
1,246
130
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
emerald city
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Amazing location, just a block away from Chinatown. Our three year old was treated to milk and cookies minutes after being taken to our very cute room. Beautiful old-world elegance without the stuffiness. Smaller rooms, very nicely appointed. Marble tops in the bathroom, huge tub and nice fixtures, where's the vent though? Some construction going on next door, only in the afternoon though, and not in the morning, as I had feared. If we had stayed longer, a successful naptime might have been an issue for our toddler.

Without fail, every single person on the staff was friendly and took extra time to chat, give tips, and make us feel like our comfort was very important to them, from the front desk reception, to the bellhop, to the valet, to the manager, to the host at the restaurant as we were walking through to access the entrance from the east side!

If you're not an Omni member, join immediately, and get free internet and other perks. It's free, so why not?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Omni San Francisco was perfect for our stay from June 30 - July 4 . The rooms were quite large and very nicely appointed. The front desk staff was very helpful and welcoming. All of our needs were taken care of immediately, such as providing a crib for our baby.

The location of the hotel is not located next to any main tourist attractions in SF, however the location is very central. The California St. Cable Car line is in front of the hotel. The Ferry Building is a short 10 minute walk. Alcatraz Cruises is a 20 minute walk. Chinatown is within 5 minutes and Union Square is 10 minutes. There is also a MUNI Subway station 5 minutes away. Just keep in mind that since the hotel is located in the Financial District very little remains open on the weekends or in the evening, however this wasn't much of a problem for us.

Make sure you sign up for their frequent guest program, it entitles you to a free morning beverage and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I went here with 3 of my girlfriends and we had so much fun!
The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The concierge gave us great advice on where to eat.
One day we took a trip to Sonoma County and visited the Ferrari-Carano Winery-also fabulous and fun!
Super clean rooms, great staff, great bar for a late night drink.
Loved it and would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights. Good location for easy walking to Ferry Building, Chinatown, North Beach, Union Square. Amazingly good and friendly service. Room nice.
Minor negatives: lifts slow, wifi slow, not very good and expensive breakfast (go elsewhere).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel know how to treat their guests!

We stayed here in July of 2011 and were treated like family. The front desk is great. The concierge is excellent. If it looked like I even thought about asking a question someone was there to help. The guys at the front door were super friendly too!

We were here on a family vacation and we would stay here again. I love the location on California St. The cable cars come right by so you can hop on them and go. My kids were impressed with the hill and before stopping at the hotel we had to drive up California to the top of Nob Hill. Super steep and I was a little scared at first but after a while the streets didn't seem so bad. My husband drove them like an expert even though we are from the Dallas area and there is nothing like that here!

I really liked the area. I had been looking at hotels in the Union Square area but after we settled in at our hotel we drove by there and it was so congested I was happy to be where we were.

Stay here and you will love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I travel on business to San Francisco about twice a month. I have stayed at other hotels, but I truly prefer the Omni. The charm, the great loyalty program, and the excellent service make it the place that I prefer to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.