We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden downtown destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Second Street, San Francisco, CA 94105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #79 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
durham, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden downtown destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located on second street, nearby the Moscone center and not far from union square, a quiet, not so expensive place to stay with good rooms (spacious) and decent services. Good service, nice location. I wouldn't rave about any of the above but you are near the heart of SF, at a convenient location and price. View of the bay bridge is added value.

Room Tip: High floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your recommendation of our hotel. I'm happy our convenient location worked so well for you. The views from many of our rooms are a definite value. Thanks again for taking the time to write of review. We look forward to having you as our guest again! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    336
    93
    17
    9
See reviews for
151
115
52
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having left the Fairfield Inn in Millbrae over poor service, arriving at the courtyard was a welcome experience. The location was definitely much better for my business purpose of being in the city, and the hotel and rooms were well kept and clean. Location was great too. Service at the restaurant in the lobby and staff put a smile on my face. Only three blocks from Montgomery Station if you;re taking BART to get there, so it was convenient for me to get to/from the airport.

Room Tip: High floor gets you possible view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dave thanks so much for your review. I love your comment that "service in the restaurant put a smile on your face”. I will be sure to share this with the team! Thanks again! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we stayed here on the last weekend of September 2013and although check in was in till 3 o'clock through the help of great staff we were able to check in early at 11 a.m. The hotel is an a good location lots of options for public transportation, many options for eating out within walking distance or you can head to the wharf. Room was impeccably clean. Bed was very comfortable we were able to get a great nights sleep had no issues with outside noises.
But be prepared for parking at the hotel which is very expensive if you don't have to bring a car and can stay here and visit the city using public transportation I recommend you do so.
60 US dollars to park at the hotel. We brought our car it was just for the weekend trip but staff was very helpful in pointing off sight parking options which saved us a ton of money. don't be afraid to ask them for system

Room Tip: Stayed in room 829..no outside noise issues..slept great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Sirilo, thanks so much for your review. I am happy we were able to accommodate you for an early arrival and our location worked well for your needs. Please be assured I will pass on your kind remarks regarding our service to my staff. We hope to see you again soon! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a very comfortable Marriott property located in SOMA, close to the Financial District and many tourist sites. The rooms are large and and my room on the seventh floor had a very nice view of the city. The staff are very professional and courteous. It's more expensive than Courtyard properties in many other cities, but hey, this is San Francisco!

Oh, don't eat breakfast there - it's an extra $18.95. You have a Starbucks just off the lobby as well as several restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind reveiw. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location! We have the best of both worlds...only a couple of blocks from all the great San Francisco attactions but with a neighborhood feel. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the City. Please come visit us again soon! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked a room at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown for my stay during a meeting in August of this year. It is a short two or three block walk to the Moscone South Convention Center and convenient to many South of Market (SOMA) restaurants and attractions.
The room was clean, quiet and convenient. The bed was very comfortable and I had a restful sleep for the two nights that I was there.
I made my reservation to include their valet parking.... a pretty good deal, considering the normal costs of parking in San Francisco. The valet attendants were quick.
The front desk was friendly and efficient.
There is a Starbucks in the lobby to help get your day going, if you need it....
I will seriously consider this property if I should need to stay in The City again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled our location, close to Moscone Convention Center, worked well for you! Thanks, also for your kind feedback on our hotel amenities and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is located just of Market Street which is a main shopping area with great transport links.It is just a short walk up Second St to the hotel.Lovely big reception area with comfortable seating areas,a Starbucks and a small shop for snacks and souveniers.We like to not eat breakfast in hotels and instead to eat out and explore the area,so cannot rate the hotel breakfast.The rooms are big and had two huge beds.(Also a comfy armchair and footstool.)Good shower and large bath. The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant,with free maps and comp newspapers each day.There is also a stylish bar area.We were on 18th floor which had good views.We made use of the utility room having stayed in Marriot Hotels previously.We found great places to eat nearby each evening although there is a good bus service on 2nd St to venture further afield.There is an underground stop at bottom of street also,for Bart train to Airport or just for M.U.N.I underground.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the views from the top floor (18th) and the fact the hotel is on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. I agree, we have some great dining options both in the hotel and very nearby. Good for you that you got out to enjoy our city! Please let me know if I can be of any help for future stays at our hotel. Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
772 reviews 772 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for the first time. I've stayed at nearly every Marriott property in the city and this one is just average. There is nothing wrong with it, its just not a stand out. Its your typical Courtyard. The rooms are a bit sparse and showing some age but it was clean and comfortable. Valet was quick. Breakfast was good. Rates seemed a bit high. You can stay at other full service Marriott properties for the same or a bit more.

Room Tip: 18th floor is the top. Get a city view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you found your room accommodations very comfortable and clean. I will also pass along your kind comments to our Valet staff. I know Downtown San Francisco prices can discourage travelers. Please know we are making every effort to keep our hotel up to date and competitive within this market. Again, many thanks for taking the time to send us your review! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown

Address: 299 Second Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Courtyard
San Francisco Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.