We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added da Vinci Villa to your Saves list
da Vinci Villa
2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Castricum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we really like it. it is located centrally and has rooms with enough space. There is a nice swimming pool with sun beds and chairs. The restaurant Dim Sum Club serves very delicious dim Sims. It is worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Esther H,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with everyone.

We truly appreciate your sharing of all the wonderful amenities the da Vinci Villa Hotel has to offer. I will definitely let Dim Sum Club team know that you love the food.

Hopefully we get to see you again, if you are out this way again we would love to assist with your stay details.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    172
    75
    56
    32
See reviews for
113
127
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

HI, we stayed here for five days this month. This is an older, what I call motel type property with an inner courtyard. The hotel personnel were very helpful and were always pulling up a map to show you where something was. The lobby had I-Pad's right there so you could look things up. There was a separate room with two televisions that would be perfect for a whole family group to get together. The breakfast every day was as advertised, ample, but a little too much bread for me. Our room had a lot of extra space along with two desks and a wardrobe. We really appreciated the in room Kuerig coffee maker and the extra shelf space in the bathroom. Instead of little bottles for shampoo, etc, there were large dispensers of items in the shower. We were approximately 5 blocks from Fishermen's Wharf and a short walk to the Union Street shopping district. This hotel was located very near the bus line and we used public transportation easily most of the time. We had not been in SF for a long time, and this hotel really met our needs.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the elevators. Seems that all rooms would have some noise as the meta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Elizabeth57Elkridge ,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so happy that you had enjoyed our customer service and additional amenities such as Kuerig coffee maker and iPads in the lobby. We do our best to ensure each guests needs are met and I appreciate the way you listed your likings, it is very helpful.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with my family - and the service was great. Angel was extremely friendly and really helped us out! He went above the norm and was professional, courteous and helpful. Check it out- and ask for Angel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear V M,

Thank you so much for your "excellent" feedback on your recent visit and recommending others to stay at the da Vinci Villa Hotel when they visit San Francisco. You have truly made Angel's day. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed there 3 nights. This is a courtyard type of hotel with all rooms overlooking the pool in the centre of the hotel.
Staff was nice, courteous and helpful when we asked about basic tourist activities.
Breakfast covered all the basics but the bagels and fruits were a bit on the cheap side. The self cook waffles were great though.
No fridge in the room.

Room Tip: 5 floor rooms have view of the Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Gregounours,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the da Vinci Villa Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff at the front desk and waffles at the restaurant however, not as much as bagels. We will definitely look into it.

Thank you again. We hope to have you soon.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was able to get a really nice price on a room at the Da Vinci Villa for a recent trip to SF with my wife. The man who checked us in recommended room 404 and we're glad he did. It (technically) had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge and great views of SF in other directions from the spacious balcony. Yes, it's an older property and no, it's not the Ritz, but it's been kept up well and at the price we paid, (well under $200), it was a great option for a summertime visit to SF. We would have stayed more nights if they would have had availability but unfortunately they were sold out.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Hencini,

Thank you for your great review and being a great advocate for our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us! It is unfortunate that we were sold out we could not have you stay with us a couple of more days.

We can't wait to welcome you back. Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here on the 4th of July as this hotel is just a brief walk down to the waterfront. The front desk staff was truly exceptional. They are friendly, professional, and very responsive. The pool was lovely and offered us a quiet place to relax with the kids during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Van Ness, very quiet on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear KPrissberg

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you thought our outdoor heated pool offered you a quiet place to relax with your kids during your stay.

We pride ourselves on delivering wonderful customer service. My staff will be thrilled to hear your comment. Thank you again and we look forward seeing you again.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

At first the hotel seemed a little rundown and it could certainly do with a lick of paint in places but actually the room was large and clean and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated perfectly for travel across the city, to Fishermans wharf, china town, AT & T park, basically everywhere. The breakfast buffet was a real bonus as well. Saved loads of time. They also had a business centre for printing tickets, boarding passes etc.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the pool or overlooking the outside of the hotel. If you have a preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Sleepingjamie,

Thank you for sharing your hotel stay with us. I am extremely happy to hear that while you found our hotel clean, you also found the amenities, location, complimentary breakfast and staff customer service to your liking. We would love to have you visit us again and if I may be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you again!
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Vinci Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.