We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay with amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added da Vinci Villa to your Saves list
da Vinci Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a great stay with amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm not sure why this hotel doesn't get better reviews. My girlfriend and I stayed for two days and had a great experience. The staff was friendly, the location was great, room was clean and updated. We stayed in room 404, which I highly recommend. There was a private FULL balcony off the room that provided a complete & unobstructed view of the Golden Gate Bridge. What an amazing view it is!! I'm not sure sure why so many people complain about Da Vinci Villa on here, I would recommend it to everyone I know. As far as the room & bathroom size, a bit small...but get over it, it's San Francisco. As far as people complaining about additional daily parking expense ($25/day), it's like that at 99% of the hotels in San Francisco...get over it. Like others have stated on the reviews of hearing the neighbors in adjacent rooms, maybe we were lucky but we didn't hear anything. You won't go wrong in room 404 at Da Vinci Villa.

Room Tip: Room 404, the view from the balcony is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    207
    83
    58
    33
See reviews for
148
166
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had an unexpected night stay in SF on business because my coworker and I missed a flight. In order to save company costs, we opted to book this hotel through Priceline. I read the reviews on tripadvisor before arriving at the hotel and knew what to expect. I have to say that I wasn't as displeased as some of the others that have reviews up here. They were clean, friendly, and cheap. Certainly I would spend a lot more money if I wanted to stay somewhere nicer. The elevator was in fact the slowest elevator I've ever encountered, but the service was good. The men behind the check-in desk were nice and suggested places to eat within walking distance. They also made arrangements for us to have a cab in the AM at 4. The cab was on time.

I'd say this experience was a good one overall for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Was staying there from 14th - 16th Feb 2013 after visiting friends in Los Angeles. at check-in i was told that our room was upgrated but what a disappintment! First night was in room 425 facing the pool - was bloody noisy and the blind was just not good enough for privacy! Bathroom was ok but shower was broken. Some electric noise came out from my headboard so couldnt sleep the whole night as was so noisy. Luckily staff helped with changing room to 325 which was MUCH better!! I saw the normal rooms were actually much nicer that those so-called Suites!
Second day breakfast sort of ruined our day - they had to charge 3 dollors if you had coffee AND juice at the same time as guests could only choose ONE drink at a time and the charges werent printed on the breakfast cards. It was just mean to guests, how expensive is a cup of coffee / glass of juice?
The only things I like were the location as its walking distance to the fisherman wharf and the nice older american gentleman who was on duty at the check in counter in the evening. He was very sweet and kind to help us out with parking and suggestions on what to see.
Sorry but I will not go back there again.

Room Tip: Go for the normal room, not suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the da Vinci Hotel for a family trip. I got more than what I expected. The room was spacious, the staff were courteous-front desk, servers, housekeepers and even the day time security officer. The hotel was clean. They have a business center available for guests to use if you need to print something. They have a lounge where guests can hang out while you wait. The pool was heated. Although it looked so inviting, I did not have the courage to go swimming because it was a bit cold. Their gym is spacious. Overall, for the price we paid, we definitely got more than what we paid for. Thank you da Vinci Villa Management! You did a great job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great stopover/or weekend

About a 20 minute walk from the Alcatraz Ferry (well worth doing) and parallel to a lovely street full of great restaurants.

The staff were really pleasant and welcoming.

Room - Really good size for the price. Clean and great toiletries. Not much light (though it was December and we didn't really see the day time).

The hotel was really confusing to navigate around. Took us about 10 minutes to find reception from our room. Really slow lift and staircases out of order.

Had to pay for car parking, though you do most places.

Breakfast was fantastic. Continental/bakery style.

Wifi worked in the room.

Slightly strange mix between motel and really nice hotel.

Would definetley stay again - a really good find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at the da Vinci Hotel in January. At first we were reluctant because of the mix reviews that we read about the hotel. But when we got there, we were greeted by a pleasant gentleman at the front desk, I think his name is Luis. We were early for our check in but Luis helped us out and even gave us a nice room facing the golden gate bridge. Breakfast was ok but for something free, I have no complaints at all. The rooms were clean. All the front desk staff and restaurant we encountered were pleasant and very helpful. Will definitely recommend this place. Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the golden gate bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The da Vinci Villa is for when you need an inexpensive place to stay in San Francisco near the wharf. It is within walking distance of Fort Mason, Ghirardelli Square, and Fisherman’s Wharf. The rooms are adequate. There is a common room that is nice and the pool is clean and well kept. There is a parking garage on site for an extra fee, but a car was broken into on our first night so don’t have a false sense of security about parking off of the street. Be sure to remove everything from your car as you would otherwise in the city. The restaurant is serviceable in terms of morning coffee and pastries. Don’t expect anything above continental style and you won’t be disappointed. It is overall very good for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — da Vinci Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Vinci Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.