We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added da Vinci Villa to your Saves list
da Vinci Villa
2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bad Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

All of the rooms face a courtyard with a pool. The courtyard has catwalks leading to the rooms and every noise echos. Drunken and disorderly guests would purposely scream during the night and slam their doors to wake everyone up. They also slam an iron gate and jump in the pool in the middle of the night waking you up. They have security to get them out but you still are awoken. I am a heavy sleeper and it takes a lot to awaken me but I was awoken by loud, unruly and obnoxious guests in the courtyard EVERY night. Also the rooms are hot (no a/c which i knew before booking) and the windows all face the courtyard so if you want to keep your window open all the noise in the courtyard from other guests is amplified.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco.

It is with great disappointment to learn that your accommodations were not a success and we sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced. Rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

Again, we extend our apologies and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to further discuss. It is our sincere hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    178
    75
    56
    33
See reviews for
117
135
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location. Easy to walk to Fisherman's wharf and some local restaurants (although be careful there! We did not have any luck with good food!)
The place has been remodeled and it was quite comfortable. We did not use the pool, but there were many kids and adults alike who used it.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very nice, but busy if you went after 9am.
We had a room on the outside and it was definitely noisy. The street is very well traveled and you heard horns and cars well into the night. The hallways are also noisy because it is more of an outside corridor, like a motel would be.
Overall, we liked our stay. I would book there again when heading to S.F. Just be aware it's not a super plush stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa to host your recent visit to San Francisco.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations. It will be my pleasure to share with our staff members that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to San Francisco.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was advertised by Priceline as a good hotel with a view of Golden Gate Bridge - so we booked it. The Check-In clerk was pleasant, but if I didn't mention the view contingency - she wouldn't have booked our room - which was on the lowest floor with a peek view of one column between two very run-down buildings and an abandoned lot. No A/C - so very hot, windows open to Van Ness = very noisy. Staff was pleasant and pool very nice; complimentary bread and fruit in a.m. - but I would not stay here again - would have paid $50-$75 more a night downtown in a 4 star if it wasn't already pre-paid via web. Overpriced in my opinion. Will know better next time:)

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for top floor only - 4th facing Bridge but be prepared for street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco. Although I am delighted to read that our staff was pleasant and accommodating during your visit, it is with great disappointment to learn that your visit was not a complete success. Please accept our sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced.

We invite you to contact us directly as we would like the opportunity to gather more details of your recent visit. It is with sincere hope that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit to San Francisco.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice hotel--other comments are fairly accurate. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything very functional. We would have enjoyed having AC. Rooms are noisy at night--just not much they can do about noise from room to room and within facility. Great location.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms--ours was very nice size. Mirrors in room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa as your host during your recent visit to San Francisco.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The positives - room and bathroom are large, beds are comfy and linen is really good quality, the outdoor poor is heated, location is excellent for Fisherman's wharf.

The negatives - hotel is noisy - cleaners start banging around at 7.30, fire doors bang constantly throughout the night, and people constantly walking past bedroom window. Also staff lack knowledge about things like car hire and use of the laundry facilities. The supply of toiletries is limited and never replenished and the shower is poor. But the worst is the breakfast. It is included in the price but is limited to fruit and bread products and only includes one drink. THe dining room capacity is limited and this results in a queue in the morning of sometimes half an hour. Would not stay here again.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco. It is with great disappointment to learn that your visit was not a success. Please accept our sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced while staying with us. Rest assured your comments have been addressed to the respective departments for further review.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had never stayed in a 'Boutique' type Hotel before so this was a new experience. Although somewhat small (well, Boutique should give you a clue), it was well run and the service was commendable and all the staff were eager to please at all times.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool which is quite nice. We were on the 4th floor just by a lift which coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco and taking the time to share your positive experience. Rest assured that your kind comments have been shared with our team members, as they truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guest like you.

Again, we extend our appreciation and look forward to your next visit!

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

There is no reason to stay here when there are many other hotels in SF within the same price range. I can't understand people who would say this location is great...it's not great. It's out of the way from everything other than a very long walk to fisherman's wharf.

The elevator is terrible, the rooms are bland, and traffic noise is disruptive for anyone's vacation.

Keep looking otherwise expect to get get exactly what the reviews suggest...a low-end motel off a busy street not really located near anything fun other than a day at fisherman's wharf!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Vinci Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.