We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel small hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added da Vinci Villa to your Saves list
da Vinci Villa
2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“old hotel small hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

the lobby and front desk staff were nice except one woman upon checkout who was condescending and arrogant. Breakfast was almost empty by 9am, we didn't have much to choose from. the room itself is very very small. between the nightstand and the bed you had to squeeze by carefully without hitting your knees. the bathroom shower was like a half shower very tiny. the fixtures were somewhat updated and modern. no room to place a grooming kit or makeup bag, there is no counter space in bathroom at all. it kinda reminded me of an ikea dorm room. we needed it for a quick night stay and booked it through hotels.com for 99 bucks i wouldn't pay much higher for it. the beds were decent but its nothing fancy or special. also its kinda confusing to get around from your room to parking deck. pool looked old and dated, along with the poolside furniture... on the plus side it is close to the wharf and in a decent part of town...

Room Tip: ask when booking for a room with a city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest:

Your comments regarding one of our front desk agent is very disturbing to me as they certainly do not represent our quality of service. I can assure you that we have taken immediate steps to ensure that other guests do not experience what you had experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to that matter. I also wanted to let you know that we have other room types that are much larger than the one you stayed at. Thank you for staying at the da Vinci Villa and thank you for giving us your feedback.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    178
    75
    56
    33
See reviews for
118
135
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I recently had to cancel a reservation at the da Vinci Villa. The staff, especially Damian and Christina, were very reasonable and helpful. They helped me out of a reservation jam! I look forward to my next trip to San Francisco so I can stay at the da Vinci Villa.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that your reservation concern was resolved to your satisfaction. I hope we’ll have the pleasure of servicing you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Is not so commun to find a place where you don't have to complain about it... That's the case here! If you are busy no worries the housekeeper gonna come back later without to be upset! The team is very friendly and helpful. If you have a car at any time even late there is someone who's gonna open the door. It's easy to find a taxi around and at 10mns away from Market st.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the da Vinci Villa. We are happy to hear that your stay was satisfactory. We hope to see you soon.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We enjoyed our week in a King Room on the 4th floor with a large sliding door onto a small balcony overlooking the pool area. The room was spotlessly clean with lovely bedlinen & a really comfortable bed. The wifi worked well the entire time & the large desk was really handy. We had a lovely spacious shower cubicle & the bathroom toiletries provided were very nice, the bath towels were thick & absorbent.
It was great to have tea & coffee making facilities in our room & to have access to a washing machine & drier at the end of the floor. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast, fruit, cereal, bagels, pastries & toast were all available & were varied over the week.
We found the location to be excellent, there were multiple & frequent buses into the city centre from virtually outside the front door & the walk to Fisherman's Market was not difficult.
The reception staff provided us with a city map upon our arrival which showed all the bus routes, they also provided information on places to go.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Our room, 415 had lovely afternoon sun, so being there in winter it was delightful, summer may be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear about your recent stay and hoped that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

with warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Me and my girlfriends stayed at the da Vinci Villa Hotel for a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean. The ladies at the front desk are very helpful. We checked in on Friday, our room was not ready but they stored our bags for us. Upon return, they upgraded us to a premiere room. The room was spacious. The pool was still under construction but who wants to swim with this kind of weather. Brunch at Caffe Como was delicious. Overall our stay was very good. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a comment regarding your stay at the da Vinci Villa. We are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you soon.


With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this place over the M.L. King, Jr. weekend and found it fine for the short stay. The location is good as we were able to walk up the hill to a great Thai restaurant to eat. We felt safe walking at night with my 3 year old grandson. The room had 2 very comfortable beds with very nice, good smelling comforters and crisp white sheets. The bathroom could have used a vanity to set things on and a curved shower rod so the shower would be more spacious. Also, the window needs some black out curtains as the blinds are white and a lot of light came through. We could hear a lot of noise through the walls when someone walked by. The continental breakfast was very good with lots of yummy fruit, muffins, bread, etc. I enjoyed reading the complimentary newspapers and eating the free continental breakfast. The front desk ladies were very sweet and helpful with directions. Overall, the room was fine for the time we were there.

Room Tip: Ask fir a room with a view and a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay at the da Vinci Villa. We appreciate your concern, interest and extra time to let us know what and where we can improve on our product. Your comment was already shared with the department managers so we can take immediate actions. We hope that you will stay at the da Vinci Villa again if you find your way back to San Francisco.


with warm regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Did I mention the thin walls? Not only could I hear the baby crying next door, I could hear the father murmuring and trying to soothe the infant. It was, of course, in the middle of the night. If you have young children and an amorous couple you might have some 'splaining to do. The property was clean and neatly maintained (except for one of our rooms which had a bottle of mystery medication under the desk -- for "cuerpo cortado, tos, nariz"). I would have been more concerned about this if I had younger children who might try them out rather than turning them over to us.

The continental breakfast was nice -- sparse but good quality. Parking was poor -- my husband had to park some blocks away and get back over there in the morning so we wouldn't be towed. The soaps and toiletries were very nice, tho.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced due to limited parking space at the hotel. I certainly hope that this incident will not cause you to question our willingness to serve you. We have also addressed the incident you mentioned on your review with the respective department head to make sure that this does not happen to other guests. Thank you for giving us your feedback. It is through candid comments such as yours that we are able to improve our service and operations.

With warm regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Vinci Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.