We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs a refurb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, needs a refurb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We arrived at the Pickwick late in the evening after a 26 hour journey from the UK. Despite booking (and paying for), a 'Classic King' double room two months previously, when we checked in we were handed the keys to what amounted to a broom cupboard with a single bed in it. It didn't matter how much we complained, it was the 'only room available'...! We were moved to a double room the next morning but without apology or refund. The hotel itself is handy for the city centre but quite noisy at night with wailing sirens of the emergency services, etc, twice I was woken after 2am by the sounds of shots being fired. Everything about the hotel just feels 'worn' and it's definitely due for a refurb. On a positive note, the guy on the Bell Desk was very pleasant and happily stored our luggage on our last day until we were ready to leave the city.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel to insulate against the noise of the street at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    288
    187
    83
    51
See reviews for
80
237
56
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville IN USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A night of moderization in a quaint lovely hotel. A block from the convention centers and most anything you can think you would need . . . that's "The Pickwick." A busy booked weekend in the city lead us to checking out "The Pickwick" and what a treat . . . online and 800 numbers told us either "no room at the inn" or only double bed accomodations . . . however, a call directly to the hotel gave us "welcome, caring and accommodating" reservations in an Executive King Room and for a price much less than expected :D This 1926 built hotel was delightful! Rooms, including the bath, were small, but extremely clean and comfy (loved the Bath and Body cleaning products!) Unlike other reviews we found the room to be quite quiet and hall carpeting appearing to be fairly new? One concern would be slow and long wait time at the elevators and quiet low shower water pressure. We feel "The Pickwick" has kept the era alive yet with obvious updates has just the right provisions for an terrific night's rest!

Room Tip: Call direct and ask for a room away from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of the City close to the underground and trams. Also located nearby is a large shopping mall with extensive food court with food to suit all tastes including a vegan restaurant .
On arrival staff were friendly and checking in was painless. The room was large and clean with large screen flat screen TV tea and coffee making equip etc
Elevators were clean and worked efficiently
The concierge was helpful, assisting us to enjoy our visit to this wonderful City
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will rebook in the future

Room Tip: Pre-book to get best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Pick this hotel only if you are getting a great price for the rooms. The rooms are not too great. They are old and noise insulation pretty much doesn't exist. I have younger kids and at night, some teenagers were making noise from around 2:30 am to 4:30 am in the night. We could hear the noise and ruined my sleep.
But otherwise the location is great. It is walking distance to most of the downtown/union Sq. attractions. It is close to BART & MUNI. No complains on the location at all. The hotel is relatively clean but again, it is so old that age shows up while walking (cracking wood sound) etc.

Room Tip: Try to pick room on higher floor. The walls in the hotel are badly insulated so one can easily hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We needed to stay close to Union Square for one night after spending 6 nights at a much more luxurious hotel a block away. The self parking garage here is a little scary down a steep driveway and still $40. Check in was efficient but our 7th floor room (apparently upgraded to a King Executive Room) was small and there is a small step up to the bathroom. The room was ridiculously noisy with loud dumpster emptying before 4am , lots of glass breaking and general street noise through thin glass (maybe the window was ajar). The bed was very firm and not what I expect at this price. The bathroom windows were cracked but at least not transparent! The shower head is over the large bathtub but at 90 degrees. The bathroom has certainly been updated as has the room but the hallways have carpet that shows its age. I am undecided about whether this hotel is old and quaint or old and need of serious renovation. The lobby is fine. If you need location and can get it at a good price, it may be ok for you. Otherwise, keep shopping around. Parking only available until 1pm so be prepared to pay extra if you are hanging around after checkout.

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

French provinical asthetic, unlike the hotels website, is not how I would describe the rooms. Other adjectives, such as, decrepit, dirty and dire are far more apt . This hotel is only worth staying in if you are getting it at a cheap rate, which I, unfortunately was not. What made matters even worse, was when trying to complain about the state of the rooms the staff present at the time (including the manager) were disinterested and impolite. So this coupled with the rooms and the unsightly view of bird faeces made my stay at the Pickwick most unenjoyable. The only redeeming quality that this hotel has is its location, perfectly central for excellent shopping and a reasonable walking distance for Peer 33/cable cars etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stood at the Pickwick for six nights in August of 2014 after finding a really good deal online for it. The location is amazing (especially for the price). It is one block from the metro and the Powell Street Cable Car station. The Convention Center is a few blocks away, there is a shopping mall right next door and it is maybe a 20 minute walk or less to the Caltrain station.

I was on the sixth floor and did not find any trouble with hot water or water pressure for my room. The noise from the street does get pretty loud but that is something that can be said for most hotels in the heart of a major city. The rooms are pretty dated and can probably use an update but they are comfortable. I found that I did not need any air conditioning or heat while I was there, which was good since the rooms do not allow for you to control the temperature. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel.

The front desk and concierge were not the greatest in the world. I wanted to find a book store before I flew back home so that I could read something on the flight. I came across a few with an online search but nothing I have ever heard of. I asked the front desk and they had no clue. One problem I did find was that the front desk was efficient in checking you in and out but really did not know much about the general area. When I booked online I also booked a special event "free breakfast" option. Unfortunately there was no record of me doing so, meaning I had to purchase breakfast every morning. Upon checkout the front desk also wanted to charge me for 3 bottles of water. I did not take any water bottles from the room and told them this. They managed to sort it out so all was well in the end.

If I had to do over again I would probably stay at the Pickwick again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#122 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#140 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#148 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#118 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#100 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.