We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in center of San Fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in center of San Fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Pickwick Hotel is a clean and elegant hotel. The rooms are a decent size and decorated very nicely. The bathrooms are good but the "very good" rating comes from the lack of water pressure. Other than offering breakfast and good water pressure for showers, this hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of San Francisco. The price is right and the location couldn't be better (unless you want to pay a lot near the water).

Room Tip: Book through an indirect travel site and you will save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    247
    161
    73
    42
See reviews for
70
205
47
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

for those who are not sure if you should book this hotel, what are you waiting for ?
BOOK IT !
i'll keep this short & to the point:
i booked thru an online travel site & got 2 midweek nights in september for a little over a $100 a night.. w/that price you expect a motel 6 right?
so upon arriving, just the outside was enough to charm us..
very old timey & quaint and big city...
the lobby is professional & not motel 6 at all. (meaning there are bellhops to help you, & the front desk is dressed in suits)
we were upgraded (complimentary) to the 2nd to last room, which was not the executive suites, but the executive rooms (& not the classic rooms, so our room had modern black nightstands, & not white wood victorian ones like you see in the hotel website)
2 elevators; both were not slow
our room #701
on the corner of the building.
hello beautiful photo ops
across from some government looking building & the san fran chronicle chronicle (from the movie "the zodiac killer" )
yes, there was an armpit smell to the room upon entering, like the previous guest did not use bathing products, & honestly, i could detect it the whole 2.5 days we were there (my boyfriend has accused me in the past of having a sensitive nose though, & he could not pick up on it)
our king bed had modern down comforters & cozy pillows (including a body pillow)
there is an iphone (not the new version one though) charging plug on the clock & electrical outlet on the lamp (which made ironing easy)
keurig coffee maker (im a purist who swears by hawaiiaan coffee & my cuisinart so this was definitely a treat) & it was quite tasty
fridge to store your walgreens bought water
& 30 or 25 inch flat screen tv (no food network channel though. but yes, E !)
writing desk in front of a window (room had 2 big wall windows, but dont worry, black out shades are there... AND the old fashioned windows open! in case you wanna commit suicide ! i know i know not funny, just illustrating a point)
closet has 10 or so wood hangers, iron & table, hairdryer, no robe though. & 1 cart for carryone luggage
but the closet door has a full length mirror !
a.c at first seemed very weak but yep, it worked! ( it got chilly in the room after a short while )
oh, the sounds of the streets that so many reviewers complained about? didn't bother me at all.....
by the way, you wanna sleep in on vacation or what?
& you should be so tired (or drunk haha) after a full days of sightseeing that shut eye will come quick regardless of street sounds.
bathroom...
*sigh
ladies:
our worst nightmare
no counter/space sink at all for our beauty products.
there is space on the wall behind the toilet for shower items but the small shelf above the sink is big enough for dental hygiene & contact lens items & my clarisonic.. but thats it !
oh, & yes , bath & body works products complimentary of the hotel.
the lighting , in the bathroom, on the other hand is quite heavenly.
natural light to the max.. my boyfriend hated it (it served as a non-forgiving wake up call it was so bright )
& the tub was very very very slippery
elderly ladies wouldhave for sure broken a hip ...
(or drunk 20 somethings)
much to my dismay, we had to throw a towel on the tub floor it was that slippery!
all in all, this hotel was perfection
1 block to the bart station TRUST ME 1 BLOCK ok, from the hotel if youre looking north, you pass probably 5 different businesses, then you cross the street, & boom, theres the stairs/ escalator to the bart
& many bus lines that took us to fishermans wharf & haight asbury & golden gate bridge, & smugglers cove (awesome tiki bar) plus the walk to chinatown was a breeze....
cafe venue good for sandwhiches/ lunch (2 businesses up from hotel)
across the street latte express for vietnamese coffee that will put any hangover to shame, & cafe moz for inexpensive breakfast.
levi's mega store also 1 block north then to your right, walgreens next to levis, & the cable car a couple of steps east of the bart stop ( & theres also a bofa right in front of the bart steps)
free business center in the hotel to print your boarding passes, & computers to use the internet,
staff is above & beyond professionalism regarding hospitality & tourism... bravo to them
in summary, this hotel was a dream, & we can not wait to stay here next frisco trip we make.
BOOK NOW!
do not listen to others' negativity !!!!!!
oh, & yes, immediately to the west, there are alot of "weird" people who may be drug addicts or homeless... it is definitely a situation where it can be alarming, but that depends on where youre from & what youve seen in your life.
i work in downtown los angeles so yes, ive seen my fair share of scary street stuff.. but i still was aware & cognizant of my surroundings here.
honestly, dont make eye contact & you'll be fine. & truthfully, the "weird" folks around here must be accustomed to the hoardes of tourists they see daily themselves.
if its any comfort, we saw many many non-"weird" people while we walked to the asian art museum (that walk from our hotel took us to that "weird " place) so this is just gentrification at its normal self: well to do mixed w/ homeless crack heads .
please book this hotel & enjoy your trip to the big city of san francisco !

Room Tip: room #701 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This no frills hotel is exactly what you would want for a short stay in San Francisco. I booked this as a Hotwire hidden deal, so got a great deal. It's an older hotel with updated rooms. The rooms are on the small side, but that's okay, because really how much time do you spend in the hotel? The room did have a bit of a musty/old smell. Kind of like it used to be a smoking room, and they didn't replace the carpet when it went non-smoking.

The location is good, as it is STEPS to the cable cars, trolley, muni, buses, mall, Walgreens, etc. I would definitely recommend it for those wishing to go to various locations around San Francisco.

However, go 2 blocks in the opposite direction of the transportation hub, and it is a pretty sketchy neighborhood that tourists may not feel comfortable in. That being said, you don't really have a reason to go over there. There are a few good restaurants nearby and a few in the same building as the hotel.

Parking is $40 a night - just FYI - with in's and out's allowed, which actually is better than many hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights , my boyfriend booked through a third party and we were still able to get early check in and a king bed( the room type was not confirmed per the reservation but the front desk agent was very helpful) we got a room on the 4th floor (407) very clean , comfortable bed. You can tell housekeeping is doing great job! The staff is so friendly!
I was very happy with that hotel! Very affordable prices and great quality! The location is amazing.. Blocks away from cable car stop, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby . I recommend it if you visit san francisco!!! Go there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cant' say enough about this hotel. If you're looking to stay at a beautiful and quaint hotel in the heart of San Francisco, then this is the place for you. My friends and I stayed there for one night and the location was perfect for all of our needs. One block from Powell St Bart station, within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, bars, clubs and public transportation. Easy to get a cab and the hotel itself is amazing. Our room was modern and clean, the amenities were just what we needed and the front desk staff was friendly and the general manager was so kind. I would recommend this hotel to tourists and any out-of-towners looking for an hotel with a good price and perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I got a good deal at the Pickwick for 2 nights on business in July. It is a great location for seeing SF and shopping. The restaurant/bar that is attached has a great happy hour with good IPA selection, if you are a beer drinker. The staff was friendly. I did like that the windows open.

It is an older hotel so it is not as nice as a fancy new hotel. You hear pretty much everything that is happening on the street (which isnt uncommon for SF). The elevators are small and slow. I found it was easier to take the stairs a lot of the time. I made myself coffee one morning and they did not refill the creamer or sugar for the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here x2 nx. Located in a great location. Walking distance to most of the shop. Walk to union square and fisherman's wharf was doable. Nice bed , Clean room. Staff very helpfull. Worth the money .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.