We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“It's all about the value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. In this case you get a brilliant location at a very good price. There's a lot of good things about this hotel, the location is brilliant, there's free wifi although its far from quick and you will struggle to stream Netflix on it. There's a business centre in the mezzanine consisting of a couple of computers for you to use. I didn't use them so cannot comment further about them. The aircon was good and the coffee machine was a nice feature. The bed quality was also decent and the room was very large. All in all it made for a decent hotel however we never managed a good night sleep due to the amount of noise from the road outside. I would expect a little noise however this was excessive to say the least and was a massive shame. Other more minor bug bears consisted of the paintwork either being chipped on the corner in our room where people had obviously caught it with their bags. Beige paint on the white coving or white gloss on the beige paint, no mirror on the desk (my girlfriend did say it would have been an amazing dressing table had there been one), and the shower being fixed at a short height meaning that I had to crouch to wash my face (I'm 6ft). Like I say, you get what you pay for. Overall I would have Given the room 3*. I have added an extra * due to the fact that you can order items of the Internet to be delivered to the hotel for them to store prior to arrival. The hotel did that at no extra charge and I thought that that was a brilliant feature. Having said that, I wouldn't recommend getting much information from the concierge about getting from a to b as most of the time it was either incorrect or they tried selling the use of their van.

Room Tip: Get the BART from the airport (Oakland or SFO) to Powell and exit via the 5th street exit. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    233
    152
    68
    40
See reviews for
67
195
46
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Checked into another hotel first which was disgusting. Went here in the hope of something better and wasn't disappointed. So much better for not much more money. Clean spacious room. 2 double beds fridge tv hair dryer. Everything you need and really friendly helpful staff. Saved us from a horrible night in a grotty hostel. Great nights sleep in comfort instead!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Pickwick is south of market by about a block directly across from the old Mint (which is now a museum). It is a "classic' hotel though seems to be totally redone. The rooms are of medium size, very clean and have everything one would need. The internet is free and they have guest computers for use. The staff is very helpful. There is a small workout area with decent machines, but for those serious it is probably better to pay a guest fee at the gym nearby. The hotel is quite convenient to the Moscone convention center. While the attached restaurant is very average, there are a number of good places nearby - for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The lobby bar fits the bill - a quiet haven after a hectic day.

My one complaint is that the rooms facing 5th street can get very noisy. Choose a room away from 5th street for some quiet. Even with earplugs, it was a challenge. Surely the hotel can't do much about this but it is good to be aware. Also, thankfully, the hotel does have heat and airco in the rooms -- something that is not typical in most "classic" hotels in the city.

The bart station is quite close (Powell) making connections to the airport simple (~$9 each way per person) versus a quite expansive cab ($40-45). Bus transit in the area is excellent. You can get a day or multi-day Muni pass that covers all buses, muni trains and cable cars. Just for the cable cars this beats $6 each way.

I would definitely return. It was a good choice in a city full of hotel options.

Room Tip: Take the rooms not facing 5th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Pickwick is a charming hotel located near Moscone Center in the center of San Francisco. The room and bathroom were very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. I parked in the underground garage, which was very convenient. I will gladly return on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights good location for down town area and reasonably good area. 5th street. Hotel looks good foyer area, goes down quality wise, as you climb stairs and enter room. Passable though, reasonably clean. Take ear plugs due to position, which us to be expected, so slept well. Had breakfast at hotel, pleasant staff and food quality was good. Price was reasonable, not extortionate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location near to Westfield shopping centre and a cable car stop. Room was a little smaller than most we stayed in on our road trip but clean, cosy and quiet (even on new years eve!). We made use of the small gym. Staff were friendly. Only complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Pickwick!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our budget (which was low/ average) this hotel was perfectly functional. The room we had (ordinary twin) was clean and fit for purpose. The decor is dated, and the room was a little cramped to navigate round the beds. However, we weren't on a trip where we wanted to spend time in the hotel; the location is perfect for downtown San Fran.

Just round the corner is Westfields, the bottom of the tram station and union square. For those wanting a good value hotel with a central location, it is perfect. Unless you are a keen walker around towns, most people do chose to hop on the bus or tram to get to the water front area. We had a 70 year old as part of our trip, so we did have to use transport to get to the tourist areas.

Parking was also good; directly under the hotel.

Yes, if you want a clean, safe hotel and to spend your dollars out in the city. No, if you want to spend time romancing in a modern, trendy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.