We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money. central location. clean and really helpful staff. definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money. central location. clean and really helpful staff. definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Checked into another hotel first which was disgusting. Went here in the hope of something better and wasn't disappointed. So much better for not much more money. Clean spacious room. 2 double beds fridge tv hair dryer. Everything you need and really friendly helpful staff. Saved us from a horrible night in a grotty hostel. Great nights sleep in comfort instead!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    243
    159
    73
    42
See reviews for
70
202
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Pickwick is south of market by about a block directly across from the old Mint (which is now a museum). It is a "classic' hotel though seems to be totally redone. The rooms are of medium size, very clean and have everything one would need. The internet is free and they have guest computers for use. The staff is very helpful. There is a small workout area with decent machines, but for those serious it is probably better to pay a guest fee at the gym nearby. The hotel is quite convenient to the Moscone convention center. While the attached restaurant is very average, there are a number of good places nearby - for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The lobby bar fits the bill - a quiet haven after a hectic day.

My one complaint is that the rooms facing 5th street can get very noisy. Choose a room away from 5th street for some quiet. Even with earplugs, it was a challenge. Surely the hotel can't do much about this but it is good to be aware. Also, thankfully, the hotel does have heat and airco in the rooms -- something that is not typical in most "classic" hotels in the city.

The bart station is quite close (Powell) making connections to the airport simple (~$9 each way per person) versus a quite expansive cab ($40-45). Bus transit in the area is excellent. You can get a day or multi-day Muni pass that covers all buses, muni trains and cable cars. Just for the cable cars this beats $6 each way.

I would definitely return. It was a good choice in a city full of hotel options.

Room Tip: Take the rooms not facing 5th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Pickwick is a charming hotel located near Moscone Center in the center of San Francisco. The room and bathroom were very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. I parked in the underground garage, which was very convenient. I will gladly return on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights good location for down town area and reasonably good area. 5th street. Hotel looks good foyer area, goes down quality wise, as you climb stairs and enter room. Passable though, reasonably clean. Take ear plugs due to position, which us to be expected, so slept well. Had breakfast at hotel, pleasant staff and food quality was good. Price was reasonable, not extortionate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location near to Westfield shopping centre and a cable car stop. Room was a little smaller than most we stayed in on our road trip but clean, cosy and quiet (even on new years eve!). We made use of the small gym. Staff were friendly. Only complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Pickwick!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our budget (which was low/ average) this hotel was perfectly functional. The room we had (ordinary twin) was clean and fit for purpose. The decor is dated, and the room was a little cramped to navigate round the beds. However, we weren't on a trip where we wanted to spend time in the hotel; the location is perfect for downtown San Fran.

Just round the corner is Westfields, the bottom of the tram station and union square. For those wanting a good value hotel with a central location, it is perfect. Unless you are a keen walker around towns, most people do chose to hop on the bus or tram to get to the water front area. We had a 70 year old as part of our trip, so we did have to use transport to get to the tourist areas.

Parking was also good; directly under the hotel.

Yes, if you want a clean, safe hotel and to spend your dollars out in the city. No, if you want to spend time romancing in a modern, trendy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and the welcome we got at the front desk was definitely not what we expected when we arrived. The female staff was rude and snatched our passports when she wanted to check us in. When I asked her a question, she gave me a rude response. If i hadn't paid prior to my arrival, i would have opted for another hotel. When we reached our room, it was definitely value for money with free wifi, comfy bed and a decent bathroom. It's a great base cause its located strategically close to Union Square and just a few doors away from malls and cafes. You can also walk about 5 mins to the tram station to go to the piers. It was a good stay except for the rude staff at the hotel whom we kept seeing for 2 days straight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Assist1, Director of Sales at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about your room and our convenient location. However, we would like to apologize to you for the less-than-friendly welcome you received at check-in. Although we normally get very high marks for our great customer service, please rest assured that we have addressed this matter directly so that all our guests can expect the excellent customer service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.