We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Satisfactory good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights good location for down town area and reasonably good area. 5th street. Hotel looks good foyer area, goes down quality wise, as you climb stairs and enter room. Passable though, reasonably clean. Take ear plugs due to position, which us to be expected, so slept well. Had breakfast at hotel, pleasant staff and food quality was good. Price was reasonable, not extortionate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    226
    148
    65
    40
See reviews for
66
186
46
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location near to Westfield shopping centre and a cable car stop. Room was a little smaller than most we stayed in on our road trip but clean, cosy and quiet (even on new years eve!). We made use of the small gym. Staff were friendly. Only complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Pickwick!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our budget (which was low/ average) this hotel was perfectly functional. The room we had (ordinary twin) was clean and fit for purpose. The decor is dated, and the room was a little cramped to navigate round the beds. However, we weren't on a trip where we wanted to spend time in the hotel; the location is perfect for downtown San Fran.

Just round the corner is Westfields, the bottom of the tram station and union square. For those wanting a good value hotel with a central location, it is perfect. Unless you are a keen walker around towns, most people do chose to hop on the bus or tram to get to the water front area. We had a 70 year old as part of our trip, so we did have to use transport to get to the tourist areas.

Parking was also good; directly under the hotel.

Yes, if you want a clean, safe hotel and to spend your dollars out in the city. No, if you want to spend time romancing in a modern, trendy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and the welcome we got at the front desk was definitely not what we expected when we arrived. The female staff was rude and snatched our passports when she wanted to check us in. When I asked her a question, she gave me a rude response. If i hadn't paid prior to my arrival, i would have opted for another hotel. When we reached our room, it was definitely value for money with free wifi, comfy bed and a decent bathroom. It's a great base cause its located strategically close to Union Square and just a few doors away from malls and cafes. You can also walk about 5 mins to the tram station to go to the piers. It was a good stay except for the rude staff at the hotel whom we kept seeing for 2 days straight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Assist1, Director of Sales at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about your room and our convenient location. However, we would like to apologize to you for the less-than-friendly welcome you received at check-in. Although we normally get very high marks for our great customer service, please rest assured that we have addressed this matter directly so that all our guests can expect the excellent customer service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Although it has been nestled near downtown San Francisco for decades, I just discovered the Pickwick while looking for a business stay while in the City. A classic City hotel, both exterior and interior, I enjoyed a very comfortable and restful time at the Pickwick. Located at 5th and Mission, it is just a short walk from the Powell/Market Bart station.

The staff was very courteous and professional - making sure that I was comfortable, yet they were not overly intrusive. The room was typical of older City hotels; relatively quaint and small, but with ample space for everthing that I brought. It was very clean, as was the bathroom. I always sleep with a window open and was bit concerned with potential street noise based upon previous reviews. Perhaps it was because my window faced east (not directly onto 5th or Mission), but I had a very restful night of sleep without any interruptions. Good tip for my next stay.

The on-site restaurant - Soma - was adequate. I had a simple selection of appetizers, nothing spectacular or too bad. However, do yourself a favor and sample the Speakeasy Ale. I am not necessarily a beer drinker, but this is a good local ale, with a hint of hops. Probably should have had some sourdough with it, in retrospect.

Location was great, but the best part of this stay was the economics of it all. A very good deal, considering all of the other nearby big name establishments and their big name prices. I will definitely book the Pickwick again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A clean, renovated older hotel in a good location. We found a good last minute online deal for this hotel which is just a block off Market street near a lot of shopping and a moderate walk to the piers. The hotel has been renovated nicely but the sound control is not very good. With the hotel at the corner of 5th and Mission, there is a lot of traffic noise all night. Even though there are new windows, they do little to block the road noise. This is not a good choice for a light sleeper but is otherwise, a good value in an expensive city. The hotel staff were very friendly helpful. The first room we had was missing the TV and the staff quickly found us another room. The TV service does not have ESPN - beware if you are a sports fan!

Room Tip: Bring a noise generator if you are a light sleeper. TV does not have sports channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Compared to other well known hotels nearby this place was very good value.

Close to Union Square with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Good entertainment and night life and a good base to hit the city from. It's just off the Tenderloin so keep your eyes open.

I thought the staff were all very good, from those at the front desk, to those in the adjoining bar/restaurant and to the unflappable man in the car park. The man who checked us in would always greet me by name during our stay and I thought that was very great.

The room was fine, but things were starting to take a bit of a turn (old wires, wallpaper worn etc) and I think a refresh is probably in order. The room was quiet, comfortable and warm.

The bathroom was a bit on the small side but was clean and fresh; the shower was brilliant, super powerful.

Free wifi and a fridge in the room.

No mini-bar or room safes, you had to go to the front desk and leave your items in a safe there which I thought was unusual these days,

I originally booked through one of the aggregate websites but then found a better deal was available if I booked though the hotel directly i.e. reduced rate and breakfast included.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.