We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A clean, renovated older hotel in a good location. We found a good last minute online deal for this hotel which is just a block off Market street near a lot of shopping and a moderate walk to the piers. The hotel has been renovated nicely but the sound control is not very good. With the hotel at the corner of 5th and Mission, there is a lot of traffic noise all night. Even though there are new windows, they do little to block the road noise. This is not a good choice for a light sleeper but is otherwise, a good value in an expensive city. The hotel staff were very friendly helpful. The first room we had was missing the TV and the staff quickly found us another room. The TV service does not have ESPN - beware if you are a sports fan!

Room Tip: Bring a noise generator if you are a light sleeper. TV does not have sports channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    231
    143
    67
    38
See reviews for
62
177
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Compared to other well known hotels nearby this place was very good value.

Close to Union Square with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Good entertainment and night life and a good base to hit the city from. It's just off the Tenderloin so keep your eyes open.

I thought the staff were all very good, from those at the front desk, to those in the adjoining bar/restaurant and to the unflappable man in the car park. The man who checked us in would always greet me by name during our stay and I thought that was very great.

The room was fine, but things were starting to take a bit of a turn (old wires, wallpaper worn etc) and I think a refresh is probably in order. The room was quiet, comfortable and warm.

The bathroom was a bit on the small side but was clean and fresh; the shower was brilliant, super powerful.

Free wifi and a fridge in the room.

No mini-bar or room safes, you had to go to the front desk and leave your items in a safe there which I thought was unusual these days,

I originally booked through one of the aggregate websites but then found a better deal was available if I booked though the hotel directly i.e. reduced rate and breakfast included.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One block off the Market Street shopping area. A short walk to the Moscone convention center, and WAY cheaper than the "official" hotels my meeting was offering. An older hotel, but room and bathroom was nicely refurbished. Hotel restaurant is also not bad; with good Happy Hour drink and food special daily from 3:00 - 7:00 PM.
San Fran has a tremendous homeless and panhandling problem; at least in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

stayed at the Pickwick for 10 days to attend an event at the Marriott on long block away. The price more than compensated for the short walk. The hotel rooms while a bit old fashioned are comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will be staying there again on my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is one block from Bart, 5th and Mission, which makes it so easy to get to on public transportation from the airport. You can walk anywhere downtown from the hotel. The hotel staff were very professional and friendly. The hotel has old world ambience and our room was fine. The only negative is the outside traffic noise. The windows must be close to original so they did not keep out the noise from cars, sirens and garbage trucks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome Ga
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is an upgraded older hotel that has great atmosphere. If you are looking for "slick and modern" don't go here. If you want great character and ambiance this is a wonderful hotel near Moscone West, and in Walking distance to Market Street(one block) and the street car turnaround that will take you to Fisherman's Warf. I will stay there again when I return to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The lobby of the hotel is lovely and the location is amazing, a few minutes walk from Union Square, the cable car turn around, metro etc. You're really near a Westfield shopping centre and have food places and bars just a couple of doors down from the hotel.

We knew the hotel was being refurbished but i did expect a little more from the actual room decor - the bathroom door didn't close properly and the lock didn't work due to it being forced open at some point and just not repaired. The paintwork in the room was a bit shabby and had been patched up on a number of places in the room.

There was a mirror across the whole wall behind the tv/table and for some reason a painting stuck on the mirror in the middle of it (? hiding a crack maybe?). The air con unit outside our room was a little off-putting but some ear plugs soon sorted that out.

The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful and so despite the shabby look of the room, i woul stay at this hotel again as a few bits of peeling paint here and there is not really an issue for me. The location and friendlness of the staff far ouweighed any asthetic issues.

Room Tip: See if you can get one away from the air con unit housed outside the hotel - otherwise you will need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.