We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #8 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were pleased with our stay at The Orchard Hotel. It is well located in San Francisco as it is near Chinatown, Union Square, and the trolley car stops. It has clean, fair-sized rooms with double paned windows to muffle the traffic noise at night. The front desk and concierge are very friendly and professional. Bush Street is a quieter street in a neighbourhood of activity. We used Trip Advisor to find this gem of a hotel and were not the least bit disappointed.

Green Features: Very environmentally friendly hotel. They are a LEED hotel.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    623
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
199
925
145
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A great little hotel in a great location near Chinatown and not too far from Union Square. Nicely appointed room with a decent amount of space. Nice and clean too. We were on honeymoon and told them and they left us a little box of chocolates which was a great little touch.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Congratulation on your honeymoon! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel on your special occasion. We are glad to hear that we have not disappointed you and you have an enjoyable stay with us. We are also happy we were able to make your special occasion even more memorable. Once again, thank you for choosing us for your celebration. Hope to see yo come on on your anniversaries.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Orchard is in a convenient location. The Cable Car (Powell-Mason Line) to Fisherman's Wharf crosses Bush Street at the corner, and two blocks up at California Street, the California Line Cable Car, brings you across from the Ferry Building at The Embarcadero. Great restaurants are within walking distance as are Chinatown and Union Square. The Orchard's staff is very friendly and helpful. Our good sized room (Deluxe King) was immaculate, quiet and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Request a room away from ice machines and elevators. Our room faced the alley on the sixth floor. We...
See more room tips
Green Features: We welcomed the Orchard's green initiative as a LEED's certified hotel.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings from San Francisco! Your review was great, thank you ever so much for the nice feedback. We will agree, our location is just fantastic, cable car, shopping, and restaurants all within a stone’s throw from our front door. As you mentioned, our staff is one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that they could possible manage. We are glad to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchard Hotel soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week break in Nevada and California. We spent the final two days of our holiday in San Francisco, a fantastic city with a huge amount to offer. Whilst the Orchard Hotel is very well located and within a short walking distance to Chinatown and little Italy we experienced several issues which ensured that our 2 night stay was generally disappointing. Given that this is a 'boutique' hotel, the room was decidedly average with quite a damp smell. We were also given a wifi code which did not work after numerous connection attempts. On one occasion, despite having our 'do not disturb sign on the door' a cleaner walked into our room while we trying to sleep. The evening before we were due to leave for San Francisco airport the receptionist offered to book us a taxi or a town car, the latter being our choice. According to the receptionist this would be a more comfortable and luxurious mode of transport and would also incur a fixed fee unlike the variable fees charged by city taxis. The morning of our departure (5am) we were informed that our car had arrived. To our annoyance, a taxi had been ordered for us even though we clearly specified the previous day that we would like to book a town car. When we attempted to check out we were horrified when the receptionist asked us for full payment for our two night stay despite the fact that we had fully paid up several months before. Despite explaining this to the receptionist and providing our receipt of payment, he simply refused to listen and demanded that we pay. In the end due to time pressure we had to pay in order to reach the airport in time for our flight. Over one week later the hotel still hasn't refunded our money. Unfortunately our last day in the USA turned out to be extremely unpleasant mainly due to the behaviour of a staff member at the orchard hotel.
Amazing city, excellent hotel location and a very helpful concierge, however in the future I would think again before opting to stay at orchard hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We are happy to hear that you have found the hotel very well located. , your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in other areas during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences which may have caused you. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments very seriously to heart and will begin immediately in rectifying all the issues with concerned departments and personnel for the attentions and improvements. In regards to the hotel payment, please contact me directly so that we could have it resolved at the soonest possible. Feedback, positive and negative, allows us to better improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. Your details reviews have given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, centrally placed so getting around is straightforward. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, in particular Phil the doorman. Very happy to stay here again, if the opportunity arises.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you have a comfortable stay with us, and you also liked the hotel convenient location. Appreciate ever so much of the compliments to our staff will share them with the team here, especially to Phil, our Concierge/Doorman. It is always nice to read guest’s review with their promise to return at the end. If the opportunity arises, we look forward to seeing again.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just got back after two weeks on the west coast and 8 nights of it were in this great hotel. You cannot beat the superb location - close to Union Square for shopping, seconds from the Chinatown Gate and right on the Powell-Hyde cable car line. The hotel is small and quaint but clean with good sized rooms. We were very comfortable here. Our king size suite had a desk, chair, bar fridge and bar area as well as a large bathroom with a wonderful walk in shower.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
I would certainly stay here again just based on location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the south side but we could still hear the hum of the cable cars. It did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you kindly for the review! You certainly said it best with “location” You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with easy access to most of the main attractions. We are glad you also felt the room has lived up to your expectations; and you found the staffs were always friendly and helpful. We are delighted to hear that you will come back staying with us in future. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This Hotel is amazing! They are very well organized. They gave us a referral for a great restaurant as well. Quiet rooms, great location near China Town and excellent bars and eateries! Would recommend to anyone visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very quiet!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great service from a well trained staff, five stars from veteran world travelers. It's the only place to stay in down town SF! GO GREEN!
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for the gracious view! We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Glad to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room, and received great service from our well trained staff. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchard Hotel in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.