We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is in amazingly clean, customer service is excellent and the location can't be beat. You are far enough away from Union Square that you don't get the huge crowds and all the street noise, but is only minutes to walk there. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and very quiet (could not hear anything in the hallway or from adjacent rooms and very little street noise). There is a cable car stop right by the hotel, but we never used it. There are also amazing diners and restaurants very close to the hotel (Scala's Bistro was our favorite and recommended by the hotel staff - they had the best french fries we have ever had!! And the pizza at Uncle Vito's was fantastic too!). We will definitely stay here again when we come back to SF.

Room Tip: We got a Grand Deluxe King Room which guarantees you a room on the top two floors - this would reduc...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's environmental practices were greatly appreciated.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. I completely agree with you regarding our rooms, aren't they comfortable considering they are one of the most important elements we offer our guests. As you mentioned, our location is just fantastic! You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside the hotel doors. At the Orchard Hotel, an exceptional customer service is our promise to our guests. We are delighted to hear that you will come back to stay with us. Thanks again for your time, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    672
    127
    30
    15
See reviews for
224
993
153
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is very well located, just a few blocks from Union Square. Rooms are large, very clean and beds are very comfortable. The team has been so nice with us during our 5 days stay ! A perfect "home" in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Perfection is definitely what we strive for! We are beyond pleased to hear we have met or even exceeded your expectations. We are pleased that we have made your stay an enjoyable one and you have commented on us a Perfect Home in San Francisco. We appreciate ever so much of your time in writing the review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

San Francisco was dirty then it got clean and pretty, but now it is becoming dirty pissy-smelling , bum filled and nasty again (Union Square area) that being said, this hotel was a great place as it was high on the hill far enough from the insanity but close enough to walk into it. It was like leaving the scummy Union Square bums and hawkers and entering a completely other world. A nice comfortable quiet and clean one. Awesome furniture everything is comfortable and the bathroom is huge. Views are great, road noise, which in San Fran can get upwards of obnoxious in the morning, was not bad at all. There were four of us in the room and we could have fit more comfortably. Front desk folks super helpful. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment on that. Where we did eat...Uncle Vitos! You have to eat here. If you stay at the Orchard hotel and do not eat at Uncle Vitos, you have missed out. The mushroom burger is the bomb and the pizza is awesome. It is nearly right outside the door, along with one of San Francisco's 932 Walgreens. Great place in what used to be a great city that is going the way of a weed smoke smelling, piss in every single public place and on every single public surface, super expensive marked up then marked half off stores that cater to the affluent asian tourist. I hope San Fran does not turn into New York. It seems to be going that way. This hotel will make you forget that there is even a city outside and youll want to hang out with your family and friends in the room.

Room Tip: Eat at Uncle Vitos Be prepared to feel so at home in your room you truly wouldn't mind just sta...
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't burn their trash in big rusty barrels I know that much??
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experiences of your recent trip to San Francisco and at our hotel. As lot of guest s commented, San Francisco is such an interesting and great city to visit. We are happy to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room; and find it comfortable, clean, and quiet and lived up to your expectation. We are glad that you have enjoyed the easy and fine dining options closed by the hotel. We sincerely hope that you will try and experience the food and atmosphere of our restaurant next time when you stay with us. Appreciate your compliments about our staffs, will make sure to share your kind words with them. Thanks again for your patronage and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco and the Orchard Hotel in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel location is good and well within walking distance of Union Square, Market Street and the surrounding shopping area - Fisherman's wharf is within a 30 minute walk. Chinatown is a short walk away.
There is also a Cable Car stop outside the front door.
The Hotel is, however, on a busy street so if street noise is a concern an alternative Hotel in a quieter area may be preferable.
Friendly staff are very helpful. The rooms are clean, good sized and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! You certainly said it best with location. As our guests are enjoying the benefits of the hotel’s convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing, under such circumstance, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. We do have rooms that are located in the quiet side of the building and is away from the busy traffic. Please indicate your preference of a quiet room on your next visit with us. We will do our best to accommodate your needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Orchard Hotel is a really nice boutique Hotel in the Union Square area of San Francisco. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Valet parking was a little pricey at $42, but everything in San Francisco is a little pricey. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we all know, everything in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. Our goal is to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. We are glad to know that we have met up with your expectation; and you will recommend our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to do this. We look forward to having the chance to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the doorman and reception staff through to the rooms themselves, we've nothing but praise for this hotel.

Quite apart from its excellent location, it succeeds in the rare achievement of combining grand hotel quality of rooms with friendly, small-hotel atmosphere. Sure, it's not the cheapest in SF (take the city tour if you want to see those....), but in terms of bang-for-your-buck, I can think of nowhere to match it, anywhere.

Room was well air conditioned (surprisingly uncommon in SF), and very well decorated; the spacious bathroom almost made it a pleasure to get out of bed. Beyond the room, everything was very well maintained.

Only regret was that we were on a short visit so didn't have an opportunity to try out the restaurant.

Would return to this gem in a heartbeat.

PS: Suggestion to management to make rooms even better: would be handy to have some cupboard space under the dual sinks to put stuff out of the way.

Room Tip: As the hotel is conveniently central, we were concerned about noise so asked for a quiet room, and g...
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciated these. It's all too easy for those of us coming from different countries to forget how desperate for water, power etc other places are - esp. California.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We love reading reviews when the guests end with a promise to return. It makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. Appreciate very much of your compliments about our staff. We must admit, we are lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From the Front Desk, Doorman to Housekeepers.. We all work together as a team with one goal in mind, your satisfaction! We are pleased to hear we have met, even exceeded your expectations. Come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Orchard Hotel but definitely won't be the last. We reserved a suite which was quite large, nicely decorated and very accommodating. The location is very good and within walking distance to Union Square, Market Street and surrounding shopping area. It is on a busy street so if street noise is a concern, ask for a room on the quiet side of the bldg. Although suites face the street, we really weren't bothered by noise at all... Suites are not cheap but not overpriced for what you get. Regular sleeping rooms are considerably less if you're on a budget.

We loved our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely. Although I didn't see a regular sleeping room, I was told they are nice...
See more room tips
Green Features: this is a "green" hotel and is very environmentally friendly. Read more about their practices on their website.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. As you have mentioned, our location is pretty hard to beat. You have almost everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of doors. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay; and equally excited to hear that you will return to stay with us in future. Thanks again for your patronage; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and BookIt.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.