We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Clean safe, quite hotel with friendly helpful staff. The doorman was super! A 15 minute hill walk from Powell Street station with direct trains to the airport and a 10 minute $6 tram ride to the wharf with the tram stop being seconds from the hotel. Rooms are spacious comfortable and well appointed (room safe, complementary toiletries etc), although unusually no free bottled water. Beds were very comfortable. The hotel did everything well but nothing exceptionally.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. Our location as you mentioned in your review, simply cannot be beat. If you are taking BART to and from the SFO , it couldn't get any more convenient. We are glad to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room; and found our staff is friendly and helpful. Thanks for taking the time to do this. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    671
    127
    30
    15
See reviews for
224
993
153
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great rooms, lovely design, helpful staff. Right next door to Chinatown & easy to get everywhere from here. Clean, modern, very comfortable beds & service is everything you want. Nice boutique hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property and our staff. We are thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint you. We are beyond pleased to hear that we have met or even exceeded your expectations. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in particularly the experiences of our unique character of the Boutique Hotel. We value your patronage and comments, and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the orchard hotel over the 4th July holiday for honeymoon. Check in and check out were really easy, our room was great and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. Nothing was too much hassle for them! From the front desk to the doorman or concierge they all went out of their way to help. What the hotel might lack compared to the more pricey alternatives it makes up for in guest service! Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We are so happy we were able to make your special occasion even more memorable. Aside form the location, our staff is what makes this hotel so special. They really go above and beyond the call of duty in making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect. Our goal is to provide you with excellent value. Appreciate ever so much of the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent 3 comfortable nights in a deluxe king on the 9th floor - great bed, clean, spacious, quiet room and bathroom with lovely bathrobes. Turn down service and small chocolates every evening. Very friendly reception and doorman. Be prepared to walk up a hill to Bush Street from Union Square. The only issue was when we checked in was there a difference in the total price ($935) from our reservation made through the hotel website ($885.82). The reception person said this difference because of the all the taxes because our room rate was the same. We were not happy as the reservation confirmation listed $762 room + $123.82 taxes = $885.82. However, upon check out- the amount on our bill was $885.82 charged to the credit card- so the issue was resolved.

Green Features: Very much appreciate the hotel's green practices
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. While we are happy to hear that you have liked the hotel location, also our well-appointed guest room; and that you found the room spacious, clean and quiet. We are so sorry for the confusion about the total room price. However, we are indeed very happy to hear that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction upon your check out. Appreciate your positive feedback about the staff, will share them with the team here. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My new wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights, and the staff and location were outstanding. Everyone we spoke to was super helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, which also made public transportation very easy with our Muni pass which was recommended by the staff! Great stay in a great city. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Congratulations on your honeymoon! We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. San Francisco is such a great city. We are thrilled to hear our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We are glad that you have liked the hotel location and are pleased with our overall services. Once again, thanks for the review and for choosing us for your celebration. Hope to see you come back on your anniversaries…..
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterlig, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just spent 5 nights in this hotel and thought it was almost perfect!!! The staff is wonderful, very friendly, always smiling, always saying hi, asking to help with just about everything. We had a problem when we arrived with our room key not working, no issues at all, they promptly gave us another room, even 3 floors higher which we liked! I agree with all the comments about the excellent doormen that work here, they are quick to help with travel suggestions, walking routes, etc. I've read a few comments about there being some noise in the morning, but my wife and I commented every day about how quiet the hotel was, so we have no complaints about the noise. I can't give it 5 stars because my wife thought the carpets could be a little cleaner and we could have used a little more water pressure, but those are minor complaints. This hotel was in a fabulous location, easy to get to, cable car right outside the hotel, and it was near a couple of markets so that we could get our morning sodas, water, snacks, etc. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your gracious rating on our property and staff. At the Orchard Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and products. By reading your review, it sounds like that we have somehow achieved our goal during your stay with us. We appreciate very much your feedback on the carpet and the water pressure. Please rest assured, we will rectify all the issues with concerned department for their attentions and improvement. Thanks again for the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for a truly 5 stars stay with us.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne AL, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Upon arrival the staff immediately worked very hard to make us feel welcome and important. Because we had a car w a top carrier Carrie moved us, upon request, to the street-side so that we could monitor it from our room. Eventually we took it off and Carrie graciously helped me find a safe location in the hotel so we did not have to store it in our room. She exemplifies their service.

Another standout is Cornell, the doorman. He greeted us each time we came and recognized us every time we came back. He assisted me with directions, parking tips and a great deal of helpful info about the city and how to best work within it to maximize our enjoyment of it. Huge asset!!

Room Tip: If you get to your room and it is not what you like, just ask and this helpful staff will try to get...
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely Green. Leed certified and they are proud to promote their conviction to being green in their actions and policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property, especially our staff. We must admit, we are extremely lucky to have team of employees’ that sincerely care about our guests and their experience. They really go above and beyond the call of duty. Our focus is making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect, and it sounds like we may have hit the mark with you. On this note, we are passing on your positive feedback to the entire team here, especially to Carrie and Cornell for their excellent services. We are delighted that we not only met, but possibly exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and BookIt.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.