We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #6 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet comfort in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Located perfectly at the corner of Bush and Powell, this small hotel delivered quiet elegance. We were pleasantly pleased to find that our first visual impression of the Orchard hotel matched the pics online. However the nicest part was the great welcome we received from staff. Concierge Alfonso was a great help in getting us information for tours and had great suggestion for restaurants in the area.

Our room located on the 9 TH floor was large with lovely decor, and a great seating area in the bay window. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge, and if I had to make one suggestion, it could have been improved with more storage for personal items and close
hooks.

The location is superb. Walking distance (downhill) to Union square. Bus passes are available at Walgreens, a block away. We got a three day muni pass that took us everywhere we wanted to go. Our server at breakfast (sorry can't remember her name) helpfully explained the difference between the "L" (limited) and the regular lines. There are many great restaurants in the area within a short walk. Chinatown is just two blocks away. And all the tourist spots are within easy transit. There is a cable stop right around the corner to Fishermans wharf ( if you have to go!). Or hike up to California street and ride the cable down to the Ferry Building.

Breakfast at the Orchard was wonderful. We tried most of the dishes In the four days we were there and every one was delicious - but my favorite was the breakfast burrito. Fresh fruit to start, big portions and the friendly service was a great way to start the day. We didn't need lunch!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ninth floor and although it is a busy street especially first thing in the morni...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Orchard has won award for their green policies, but you are not " hit over the head" with them. There is a great recycling container in the room. There are large soap and shampoo dispensers but they are nicely attached to the wall and they are fragrant and good quality products.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that our front staff here have made such an impression and grateful that you decided to document your experience. We will let the team know, especially to Alfonso. We have to agree, the location really doesn't get any better. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing…. are right around the corner from the hotel. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectation. Thank you for the feedback to have more storage space in room. We assure you that your comment has been addressed to the concerned department for their attentions and improvement. We are pleased to hear that you have tried and loved our services and food at the Daffodil restaurants. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    644
    121
    29
    15
See reviews for
206
962
148
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at the Orchard last week and was blown away by the service. The front desk and front door guys are literally the best I have ever encountered. Friendly. Professional. Helpful. Can't do enough for you. Tremendously positive attitude. Everything you want but usually don't get. Each person was consistently excellent.

The rooms are a very nice, roomy size and the bathroom downright huge by downtown urban standards lately. We stayed on the 8th floor and it was very quiet, very private and very cozy in an almost elegant but not overly fancy way. Really, really good place to stay.

Wifi is free and worked great.

Didn't try the room service but did get some incredibly good old school italian take out after midnight from right across the street.

The location is walkable to everything - restaurants, transit, union square is 2 blocks away. We walked down to the Ferry Building and it was marvelous to see the bay and visit the farmers market.

My only complaint is they don't have a business center. They do have a very old computer on the front desk that you can use ( or they'll do it for you) to print out your boarding passes. But a real business center and the ability to print documents is needed and they should add that.

Bottom line, though, is this hotel is wonderful and is a very good value compared to place like the Klimpton which are way more expensive and offer very tiny rooms and sometimes snarky service. Just sayin'.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place doesn't make a big deal out of it but they are quite green and I know quite a few environmentalists who stay here and often recommend it.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Your review was music to our ears, thanks for posting! Perfection is definitely what we strive to. We are beyond pleased to hear we have met or even exceeded your expectation. We have to agree with you on our location, you have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once your stop out of doors. We are glad that you have enjoyed our tastefully appointed room and found it overall above the downtown urban standard. Appreciate your gracious compliments about the staffs. We must admit. They are outstanding. Nothing is too large or small for them to handle. Not only are they great at doing the necessary daily business, but it’s the extra attention that they all seem to constantly put forth. Thanks for the great review! We will make sure to personally share your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed 5 nights, and found the accommodations comfortable and clean. The doormen (one in particular that we relied on heavily was Cornell) were exceptional in service. No real complaints against the desk staff, other than we (my wife noted this) weren't always greeted, but they certainly did their job and well. Location is right off Powell and close enough to everything, and I felt it was strategically located to many of the sights one would walk to.

Green Features: This hotel has apparently won awards for being "green." So in addition to everything else written, one could also stay there for their conscientious efforts.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have liked our well appointed guest room and found it very clean and comfortable. As you mention, our location is pretty stellar, and is ideally located to many of the sightseeing. We are thrilled that Cornell, our Doorman/Concierge, goes above and beyond his call of duty to assist you with all of your travel needs. Your feedback about the services from other areas is noted and has been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for the attentions and improvement. Once again, we value your patronage. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very helpful especially when we realized there was a booking error associated with our reservation (our fault) and they promptly helped us correct it. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Great location just a few blocks from Union Square.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are pleased to hear that our staff was able to resolve the booking error to ensure your stay was uncomplicated and pleasant. We are glad that you have liked the hotel location, and found our room quiet and comfortable. Appreciate your positive feedback about the staff, will definitely share them with the team here. Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We usually try to stay in Kimpton hotels in cities where they are located, but decided to try the Orchard Hotel on the basis of the excellent reviews. Although lacking some of the quirky charms of Kimpton, the Orchard was a very pleasant place to stay. Desk staff and parking valet staff were very friendly, but not obtrusive. Free WiFi is a welcome perk, missing in many of the large chain hotels. Elevators were quick and never crowded. Our 8th floor room was very quiet: no noise from street, hall, or elevator area, coupled with a very comfortable king bed, made for good nights' sleep. Since we needed to have a car, we appreciated the parking package option and the ease of getting our car in and out. Location is convenient: walking up and down Nob Hill is a challenge if you're not used to steep hills, however, but good exercise!

There are several good coffee shops nearby if you prefer a smaller, less expensive breakfast than those offered in city hotels: we had great coffee, excellent breakfast sandwiches and breakfast plates at a small, impeccably clean coffee shop less than two blocks walk from the hotel: food prepared and served by a very engaging young woman who remembered us and our orders on our second visit.

Room Tip: Our 8th floor room, near end of hall, was very quiet: bedroom and bath spacious, bathroom sparking c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks again to TripAdvisor! Another big thank you for choosing to give the Orchard Hotel a shot! While there are a lot of hotels to choose from in San Francisco, so that means a lot. It’s great to hear we have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. Aside from the location, our staff is what the hotel so special. They are sincere and caring and always willing to help a guest in any way that they can manage. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to having the opportunity seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Very good location near Union Square. Valet parking is possible at normal conditions in San Francisco. Very good restaurants in hotel surroundings. Also very good shopping options near the hotel available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention, our hotel is just super with convenient access to all kinds of activities. We appreciate your compliments about the staffs; will share the feedback with the team here. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stay here for 2 nights. Walkable to union square and many great restaurants nearby. Would not come back as the room fittings were rather old and it's not value for money. Paid close to usd 400 a night for a 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you have liked the hotel location. We are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to the room décor and fittings do not met with your expectation. I invite you to try our sister property, The Orchard Garden Hotel, which is few blocks away on the same street. The hotel was designed with different décor and furnishings. Please contact me directly in making the room reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.