We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great place to stay in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great experience - hotel has an excellent location just up from Union Square - near the cable cars and other transportation, reasonable very good restaurants close by, shopping, etc. Staff were all very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat, hotel was quiet with a calm atmosphere, very clean and comfortable. Nice touch where they turn down the bed and put out chocolate every evening. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to San Francisco.

Green Features: An extra bonus to be in a green hotel - liked how body wash, shampoo and conditioner were supplied but not in those little throw away bottles
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We couldn't agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. Aside from the location, I would say our staff is what makes the Orchard Hotel so special. They are caring, sincere and a wealth of knowledge, they know just about everything this city has to offer. We are glad you also felt the room has lived to your expectations. We appreciate very much of your high recommendation. We are so thrilled to hear that you will definitely come back to stay with us again. Safe travel and see you next time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,258
    599
    115
    27
    14
See reviews for
187
884
143
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Orchard Hotel for two nights last month. It's in a great location and the trolley line is right around the corner. The hotel staff is very nice and the rooms are a good size for a boutique hotel. If you do stay here make sure to bring your own hairdryer. The one that they offer is horrible. I had to buy my own while staying there. Also, the free happy hour apps are very good but make sure you come hungry because the drinks are VERY expensive.

Green Features: I like that they plan to plant a tree for every TripAdvisor review.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share experience. We are happy to hear that you liked the convenient location of the hotel; our staff is nice and our room is in good size. We appreciate very much your feedback about the in room hairdryer. Rest assured, we have taken your comment seriously to hear and will address to the concern department for their attentions and improvements. We are glad that you have tried and enjoyed our promotion at happy hours with complimentary appetizers. We value your patronage. We hope to see you again very soon in future so that we could plan another tree for you.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Orchard hotel is located perfectly for a San Francisco holiday. Located at the corner of Bush and Powell streets the trolley stops right at the corner. Hop on and you are at China Town, Lombard Street, and Fisherman's Warf in minutes. Head the other way and you are at Union Sq. Or you can easily walk to all the sites too, just be prepared for the hills!!! The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The king room had plenty of room, was quiet and well appointed. There looks to be a nice restaurant and lounge there but we did not go inside. I would certainly stay at the Orchard again for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks ever so much for the great review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned in your review, simply cannot be beat. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing, transportation…. Just name it. They are all within a stone’s throw from our front doors. We are so pleased to hear that you liked our well-appointed guest room and found it quiet and spacious. Appreciate your compliments about the staff, will share your feedback with the team here. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and equally excited to hear that you will come back again in future. Can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you are in this great city!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had an excellent stay in this clean, quiet and extremely comfortable hotel. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was a good size and very luxurious.
The location was so perfect, just slightly out of the thick of it but a couple of minutes walk from Union Square. We spent a long time researching the many hotels before we finally plumped for The Orchard and we are so glad we picked it.
The staff were superb, really genuinely kind and attentive. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we felt valued as guests.
We would absolutely definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property, specially our staff. I must admit, we are extremely lucky to have a team of employee that sincerely cares about our guest and their experiences. While we are also happy to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room. You certainly said it best with location… You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with easy access to most of the main attractions. We love reading review when guest ends with a promise to return. We would love for you to come back and see you again.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great find. It is very nice hotel in a convenient location. The front desk staff was very helpful, and always friendly. The things that are important to me -- comfortable bed, thick towels, and you cannot beat free WiFi. We did not dine at the restaurant, so no feedback to offer there. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We couldn’t agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have almost everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. We are glad you also felt our room and guest amenities lived up to your expectations. We are happy to hear we did not disappoint you, and equally excited to hear that you will be staying with us again. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you are looking for a comfy bed, good location, friendly staff without a high price and all the foo foo extras you see at a chain hotel, this place is perfect for you. We did a ton of research on various hotels based on location, price, and reviews and The Orchard was by far the best deal and it certainly lived up to the reviews online. I would highly recommend staying here. The only negative comments I have are unless you are very well off financially, you will not eat at the restaurant and unless you get out really early in the morning, you might have to walk to the start of the cable car line because it's full by the time it picks up at Orchard, but the walk isn't bad.

Room Tip: Stay at a higher level room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We truly agree with you of our unique character of the small boutique hotel; that we offer every guest with a consistent and exceptional services. As you mentioned, we are not one of the chain hotel with high price and all those extra amenities….We cater our guest with a simple but personal experience. We are so glad you also felt we have lived up to all those reviews online. Appreciate ever so much of the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Orchard Hotel for 5 nights in April and it was fabulous. Very spacious rooms and bathroom and extremely comfy bed. Breakfast was included which was also a plus! The staff were so helpful and it was no trouble to provide a kettle for our room. They also gave us excellent tips for restaurants and other services near by.
The hotel is in a great spot and walking distance to Union Sq, China Town and Nob Hill. The cable car also goes right by the corner street! Would definitely recommend to family and friends!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you have taken the advantage of our promotional bed and breakfast package during your 5 nights stay at our hotel. Glad to hear that your overall experiences were fabulous. You found the room extremely comfortable, our staff very helpful and the hotel location was convenient. Appreciate every so much of your high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Quiet, Classic...
Show More
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,684 reviews
Boutique, Free...
Show More
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 236 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
City Center, Bo...
Show More
North Beach
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#7 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
Downtown
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Classic, Charmi...
Show More
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#19 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.