We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good downtown stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Orchard Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good downtown stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time at the Orchard Hotel. It's in a good location that is central to the entire downtown area. As is usually the case in a well run hotel, the staff made all the difference. The front desk person was always responsive to our requests. The concierge staff was always there with helpful information about getting around the city. We had a king suite and found the living room and bedroom comfortable and relaxing. The bathroom was large and the separate tub and shower were great. The bed turn down every night was a good touch. We enjoyed breakfast and evening cocktails in Daffodil's. It was always nice and quiet so it was easy to have conversations. Well done. We'll return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are thrilled to hear that your first time experience with us was a success! Aside from the location, we would say our staff is what makes the hotel so special. Our team work very hard together with only one goal. It is your positive experience. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs. We are pleased that you have liked our well appointed room, and found if very comfortable and relaxing. We are also glad that you have tried and enjoyed the food, services and atmosphere in Daffodils. It’s always nice reading guest’s review with a promise to come back. Thanks again for patronage and comments. Hope to see again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,203
    573
    111
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
837
137
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at The Orchard, and we were very impressed. We usually stay around Union Square, and we found The Orchard to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at so far. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and the room (standard king) was spacious and the bed linens were particularly luxurious! Although it is up a steep hill on Powell at the corner of Bush and Powell, the quietness more than made up for the short, envigorating walk, plus, you could actually get on the Powell Street cable car right out your door without having to wait with the hoards of tourists at the Powell terminal. The hotel is very environmentally responsible, and overall just a real treat. We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: We faced the adjacent building (opposite the street side) and it was especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
A wonderful experience is what we are all about! We are so happy to hear your first stay at our hotel was a success. Thank you for your compliments on our staff; we will make it a point to share your feedback with the team here. As you mention, our location is pretty hard to beat. You have literally almost everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of the hotel door. We are glad you have liked our room and felt it lived up to your expectations. Appreciate so much of your recognition of our efforts in protecting our environmentally nature. We loved to hear that the experience was a real treat to you. Can’t wait to see you come back!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was located in a good part of town and was very near one of the main tram routes. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The only down side was the shower had very low pressure - this was made up for in part by the lovely toiletries (none of that mini bottle stuff). Good to have a fridge in the room too.

Green Features: Very good practice with big bottles of shampoo etc (which smelt great).
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. You certainly said it best with location! You can’t beat where we are conveniently located in the downtown of San Francisco. We are so happy to hear that you have liked our room and particularly the bed. Lot of our guest like you has commented that they are the most comfortable bed to sleep in! We apologize you felt the water pressure was inadequate. Being a Green Seal certified hotel, we use shower heads that emit 2.5 gallons per minute to comply with the standard. Plus with the drought situation presently in California this year, conserving water sounds like a good idea to us. We are pleased to know that the down side of your experiences was made up by our lovely toiletries. We want to thank you for your patronage, and look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel, clean, good location. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Air circulation was lacking, but everything else met the mark. Felt safe walking in the area. Food, shopping, coffee, and drinks were all within a short walking distance.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the great review! While we are happy to hear that you have liked the hotel location; and you found it safe and easy access to most of your sightseeing points. Appreciate very much your feedback about the in room air circulation. We assure you that your concern have been addressed to the right hand of personnel for the improvement. Thank you for the kind words about the staffs, will share your word with the team here for their great works. Thanks again for the time; we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A clean, friendly hotel with very large rooms and a comfortable bed. The hotel is located right next to the Bush and Powell cable car stop which is very convenient and a short stroll to Union Square shopping. Be warned it’s a very steep walk back from the shops but you can get the cable car quite conveniently. It was also an easy walk to China town and we were able to catch either a bus or tram to most of the places we wanted to go in San Francisco.

I’d read previous reviews and requested a higher floor / quieter room and so didn’t have any issues with noise (although there was no view … but who needs that when you’re exploring a city).

The staff were friendly and very helpful, which is always a massive bonus.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant but ate next door at Roxanne Cafe for breakfast each day and it was quite good and well priced.

Room Tip: We followed the tips as to higher floor, away from elevators and street and had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We really appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. While we are happy to hear that you liked the hotel location; and found it very convenient to most of your travel needs. We are also pleased to learn that your request for a room on the quiet side of the building was accommodated. You have had a wonderful stay with us. Thanks for the kind words about our staffs here considering they are the most important assess of the hotel. Will share your feedback with them. Thanks for the patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aside from the location, this was a let down - the restaurant is not open on Sunday or Monday; a bar that closes at 9pm; and, room service consists of just 3 items (only available when the restaurant is open)! Poor...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy that you have liked the hotel location. However, we are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies of our restaurant services and offerings. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments very seriously. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Orchard Hotel for 4 nights (April 1-5). It was fantastic. Our room on the 7th floor was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The cable car stopped on the corner of Powell and Bush so we were able to ride to several places, including our Friday night dinner at 7 hills. We recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciate the attention to environmentally friendly details.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so thrilled to hear that we have made your stay enjoyable. We must agree, our location is just super with convenient access to most of the major attractions. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs. They are indeed one of a kind. Always sincere and caring for our guests, will share your feedback with the team here. Thanks again for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchard Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.